We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house and friendly hostess”
Review of The White Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Lodge
Ranked #2 of 98 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house and friendly hostess”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The White Lodge is a beautifully maintained bed and breakfast. We stayed in the "small" double room, but it was a lovely room with a generous sized shower in the ensuite and even had fresh flowers on the bedroom table. Jean and George were very friendly and welcoming. The cooked breakfast was huge and very tasty, even for my very picky other half. Can't fault anything and hope to be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FolkSinger1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
119
555
49
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Would definitely recommend this lovely little B&B to anyone of all ages. We were greeted by Jean, the fantastic Hostess and George the Dog and took a shining to them both instantly! The rooms and halls were beautifully maintained. Breakfast was very filling and loved the self service style of toast and juice. Jean took it to addressing us by name which made you more secure in the knowledge that she'd been a friend for a long time! All of the facilities were amazing and at such an awesome price! Because it is a little further away from the piers meant it was a lot quieter and allowed for a more peaceful night and day.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a lovely set of French doors onto the seaside with a Juliet balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bostonuk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Booked this last minute,Jean managed to shuffle bookings and fit my wife and I in.Spotless room, good facilities,breakfast excellent,cannot understand comments about making your own toast and coffee this is the norm in many 5* establishments! All the quests present during our stay seemed ok with this arrangement also nice to have hot toast when you require it.
I was concerned that the booking we made turned out to be during the Local race meeting and would be noisy we were amazed how quite and peaceful White Lodge was! A first rate stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWSKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was our third stay at The White Lodge B&B, and as usual Jean and Eddie were exceptional hosts. We had room number 7 this time which had a lovely sea view and French doors, and as expected the room was immaculate.
Cooked breakfast was huge, with a good choice of Tea's and Coffee's, and as much toast as you could eat.
Jean even gave us some of her home made Banana and Date loaf to bring home with us this time it was yummy.
We look forward to our fourth visit next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarvos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was my husband Steve and my 3rd visit (we have already booked for next year), what can I say about White Lodge and the amazing Jean and Eddie, of course I am not going to miss out Gorgeous George.
From the beginning on our very first visit Jean made us very welcome, Nothing was too much trouble, she gave us tips on the best places to eat. Eddie was friendly and put us at ease straight away and George well he was truly wonderful.
This year everything was lovely and if possible more welcoming. Jean's attention to detail is wonderful she is not only an extremely graceful host but a dab hand at bandages as well,. I could wax lyrical about this fantastic establishment and hosts but I think the best thing you can do on reading this review is to visit them for yourself. However, just a few more points to mention I have never come across anyone who is as hard working. friendly and accommodating as Jean, Eddie and of course George, It is really a home from home and it speaks volumes that people like ourselves return year after year. (before we stayed here we had never stayed more than once in any establishment), each year we come back Jean has done more this year it was her tasty banana bread. We cannot recommend this establishment highly enough and are so looking forward to next year,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the White Lodge for a couple of nights and found it to be a friendly, relaxed and well situated B&B. Nothing was too much trouble for Jean the host who was only too happy to offer information and advice about the area, provide for our special dietary requirements and ensure we had everything we needed. She provided an excellent and personal service despite a full house and Eddie being away that weekend. The room was nicely furnished and decorated, very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts offered lots of choice and were delicious!
We particularly appreciated the warm welcome from George the dog who made us feel even more at home during our stay. We felt it was very good value for money for the service provided and would recommend the White Lodge to anyone

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived and were greeted by George the dog as well as Jean who showed us round and made sure we knew where everything was and how to access the free wifi etc. We stayed for one night, room 4 is small but best use had been made of the space available and it had everything you could need for a short stay with plenty of tea and coffee, a cute little jar of biscuits and even fresh flowers. The room was nicely decorated with a seaside theme spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast is plentyful with as much toast, cereal, yoghurt, fruit juice, tea and coffee as you want as well as good range of cooked options, there was even home made banana and date loaf for guests to take for later - which we did and it was really nice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistyelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
515 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
438 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Courtyard Guest House
The Courtyard Guest House
#1 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
297 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilbrannan Guest House
Kilbrannan Guest House
#3 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lodge

Property: The White Lodge
Address: 19 Marine Crescent, Great Yarmouth NR30 4ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge accommodation and food is of a standard expected in a high-class hotel but with the addition of a more relaxed, personal service. All our 10 rooms have en suite showers, televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have sea views whilst others have French doors overlooking the gardens. The guest house has a lovely double room with a balcony where you can sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The White Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lodge Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing