We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of home”
Review of The White Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Lodge
Ranked #2 of 98 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coal Aston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit of home”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Fed up of boring hotels and want a taste of home? Look no further than the White Lodge - slightly out of town but only a hort taxi ride or walk into the town centre. You will enjoy! George is the best welcome ever.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
119
545
47
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have just returned from our fourth visit to The White Lodge and am as impressed as I was the first time we visited. The owners, Jean and Eddie along with George the dog are so friendly and welcoming it is like visiting old friends now. We stayed in the sea view super king room and there is nothing bad at all that I can say about the room. (Have stayed in other rooms and these have also been of the highest standard). The bed is lovely and comfortable, the towels are soft and fluffy, the toiletries are a really nice extra special touch along with the biscuits and bunch of flowers that were in the room to greet us. The bathroom was spotless, it's a clean as it can get! As the weather has been cold these last few days Jean even gave us a extra heater alongside the radiator in case we needed a extra boost of heat when returning from a trip out. All these extra little touches makes it feel like your visiting friends in their home. As for the breakfasts, what more could you want! Jean gives you a choice of what is available in regards to a cooked breakfast and you can choose as little or as much as you like and this is without the cereal, fruit, yoghurt and the unlimited bread that you can toast if you wish. I must say I had Jean cooked me porridge this morning and it was the best porridge I have ever tasted, really lovely and creamy! If your a porridge fan this is a must. Jean provides a toaster and urn of hot water for the tea and coffee so you can help yourself as much as you require whilst she prepares your cooked breakfast. However if you are unable to help yourself for whatever reason Jean will assist in way she could to ensure you left her dining room full and set up for the day. I would recommend anyone to stay here, great people, great room, great food, what more to you need? We will back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allylou76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was the third Christmas we spent at the White Lodge and the standards were just as high. The company was great and our host Jean arranged a trip to the Circus at the Hippodrome on Boxing Day evening.

As usual there was far too much food and now we have had to go on a diet to lose weight. It was a pity Eddie, Jean's husband, was ill and couldn't join us but her mum and dad pitched in to make it another great stay.

The facilities, food and accommodation were top class. It remains the top establishment in Great Yarmouth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novestonback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We arrived, with friends at the end of a frantic period for Jean as she coped with the Xmas rush with her partner too ill to be able to help her.

You wouldn't have known it from how clean and calm the place was!!

We have stayed at many places over the years - so many in fact that I always take a business card with me when I leave if the place is any good. In this case I took several to hand out to friends. I cannot recommend The White Lodge enough!

I've never stayed anywhere that actually allows you to choose the type of breakfast you have but encourages you to have extra portions without adding it to your bill! And what a breakfast!!
Mary C below is right - the sausages and bacon were amazing! I need to find that butcher! LOL!

As to the rooms - Jean pulled out the stops to give us the best rooms she could. And I also need to find out where she bought the beds from as we had a fantastic nights sleep due to their quality.

All-in-all a great place to stay. We will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Three of us spent Christmas with other guests at The White Lodge. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Jean and immediately made welcome; followed by a quick tour of the facilities, breakfast room, lounge and our accommodation. Rooms have a lovely homely feel with tea and coffee facilities, TV and a guide for local facilities in Great Yarmouth. We were also informed that if we required anything, to ask, we didn’t forget our toothbrushes had we, Jean would have no doubt obliged!

At breakfast there is a good selection of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, juice, selection of teas, coffee etc. and everyone gets a cooked breakfast made to order as you choose your selections the night before; even porridge!

As we were staying over the Christmas season we had the benefit of evening meals and luncheon, again Jean excelled with a gorgeous selection of home cooked seasonal fayre, with choice for those who did not feel attracted to the traditional offerings – non of which you could fault and would put many hotel catering departments to shame. Well-done Jean.

The White Lodge is well located with ample on-street parking and within a 10-15 minute walk from the town centre so you are not disturbed by town noise. There is attractive park opposite the lodge where you can enjoy a commodious walk off-road into town.

If you are visiting Norfolk then White Lodge will make an excellent base for a stay in Great Yarmouth or if touring, the Broads or Norwich per se.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Jean and George are very welcoming and make you feel at home from the second you walk in the door, a beautiful house in a lovely quiet area.
The room we had was very tastefully decorated with fantastic sea views from the dual aspect windows and a luxuriously comfortable bed made for a restful nights sleep. A good supply of Tea, coffee, water and biscuits in the room was greatly appreciated.
Breakfast was very tasty with something to suit every taste, I only wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Room 1 was beautiful but I'm sure they all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We arrived the weekend after Christmas and could not have received a warmer welcome. the room was large, the sea view was panoramic, the bed was comfortable and despite all our efforts we could not use all the hot water. And there were two comfortable chairs. Breakfast delicious - need to find out where Jean sources her bacon and black pudding. would we stay again - most definitely.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are more expensive but are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lodge

Property: The White Lodge
Address: 19 Marine Crescent, Great Yarmouth NR30 4ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge accommodation and food is of a standard expected in a high-class hotel but with the addition of a more relaxed, personal service. All our 10 rooms have en suite showers, televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have sea views whilst others have French doors overlooking the gardens. The guest house has a lovely double room with a balcony where you can sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lodge Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing