We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok and in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ok and in good location”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business a couple of times recently, tbh when I can't get in the premier inn.

Old school hotel with a certain charm, friendly staff and restaurant ok, particularly the italian downstairs.

Does the job pretty well.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Slater956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent 4* rating of The White Swan Hotel. I'm glad you chose us for your recent visits to Halifax. I will pass on your comments to the staff. We hope to see you again, if you are in Halifax on business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    165
    30
    14
    1
See reviews for
46
188
24
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

On arrival staff , were so welcoming they really could not have done more to help with our first visit to halifax and parked our car in garage which was a massive bonus thanks guys !
Reception staff booked us reservation at the Italian restaurant and we were not disappointed !
Central location for shops and bars clubs etc rally enjoyed our stay

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The White Swan Hotel for your recent visit to Halifax. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and the restaurant. I'm glad you found our garage to be beneficial and the location of the hotel. We hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to seeing you or your family if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, Northants
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is an old building and it did show inside. Because it is right in the City centre there was very limited parking and the on site restaurant is Italian food, so if you don't like that, it's hard luck on you. he rooms were basic and a bit mismatched, but the bathroom was a let down. - cold and uninviting. I was there for business and wouldn't want to stay there again.

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The White Swan Hotel. We take all feedback into account and we are sorry that on this occasion there were certain aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed for one night on a recent trip to visit family in the area. The hotel itself is a little outdated, but the room we stayed in was quite pleasant, and had recently been refurbished. There is only room for parking 9 cars at the hotel, and so we had to use a multi-story nearby as the hotel carpark was full. Whilst it isn't too far it is a pain having to carry bags to access it and is £7 for 24 hours, which considering the room price was £49 does seem disproportionate.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel to avoid any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janiejujuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for choosing The White Swan for you recent stay in Halifax. I'm glad you found the room to be pleasant. I'm sorry you found the parking a negative aspect, there is a loading bay outside the hotel, if you had wanted to drop your bags off before moving the car to the multi storey. Also the street parking is £1 per hour between 8am and 8pm if this had worked out any cheaper for you. We hope to see you again, if you are in Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on a Saturday whilst we were at Le Tour
Beautiful old building...
Staff were very helpful and had a map to where we could park due to their car park being full - £7 for 24 hours.
Big double room on the front with separate bathroom oposite MacDonalds but not noisy from the street as rooms have double glazing however we could hear noise from the ajoining rooms.
Bed was quite soft, we do like a harder mattress. Plenty of tea/coffee/ sugar and milk available.
Very clean.

Not the cheapest but at this time no accomodation was.

Central location but it seems all the shops are shut by 5pm even on a Saturday.
Close to bus station and a short 10 min walk to the station.

Room Tip: We had a Double with a bathroom and it was quite roomy, no noise from the road but noise from ajoini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the Tour De France weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Over There
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I'd like to give this hotel a higher rating as the staff are very nice and the rooms are 'ok'. They are as you'd expect for a 3 star hotel.

But the major down side is the noise. I am currently writing this review from the hotel room at 1am in the morning as I cannot sleep due to the pub / nightclub across the road.

I booked into the hotel the night before the TDF as I am volunteering close by. I was hoping for a good nights sleep but this obviously isn't going to happen.

If you are not coming to Halifax to enjoy the nightlife then I would not recommend this hotel just because of the noise.
It's a shame really as the hotel itself isn't that bad

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LeGranFromage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest, Many thanks for your review. I am glad you found the room to be of standard and the staff to be friendly. With regards to the noise I am deeply sorry to hear you had your sleep disturbed. If you were to stay again please feel free to ask for a room at the rear of the Hotel to prevent street noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I were accompanied by our Westie dog for our three night stay at the White Swan. Overall we think that the Hotel deserves a “Very good” rating and this is largely due to the excellence of the staff. We were met by Stacy on our arrival and during our stay she seemed to play a central role in the running of the Hotel. She and other members of staff were helpful, friendly and willing to go that extra mile to ensure ones comfort and satisfaction.

Our room, 101 was extremely large and well furnished. The only slight reservation we had was the standard double bed and for a room described as a “Superior Double” we would have hoped for a slightly bigger bed. Everything was clean and tidy in both the room and bathroom. The settee and quality flat screen TV were very much appreciated.

Situated as it is in the centre of Halifax parking can be a bit of a problem. If there is space, the staff park ones car in a covered and locked parking bay at the side of the Hotel. For us this worked fine thanks to the helpful staff.

The bar facilities are poor. Drinks can be obtained from the reception staff from a small room adjacent to the reception. The only drink on draft was an export larger and all other beers were in cans or bottles. I was told that this was because they do not sell enough draught beer to make it viable but I personally do not think this is good enough for a three star hotel. The seating area in which one can have a drink is pleasant enough and the staff kindly dispense drinks to the table.

Breakfast was of a good standard and pleasantly served.

Room Tip: Room 101 is large and situated at the front of the hotel. Light sleepers may prefer a room at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petermet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest, It was lovely to meet both of you and Mac. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay and reviewed this on Tripadvisor. I am pleased you found all the staff to be friendly and helpful and found everything you needed to be in the room. We hope to see all three of you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
211 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
367 reviews
2.7 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Property: The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Address: Princess Street, Halifax HX1 1TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#5 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality is situated in the heart of Halifax. We offer free Wi-Fi, limited parking, a fitness suite and we are 5 minutes walk from the Lloyds office, and less than a 10 minute walk from the railway station. All bedrooms are bright and airy. They are individually decorated, and each has ensuite facilities, tea/coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and flat screen televisions with satellite channels and Freeview. The Superior and Executive rooms also have modern bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a traditional Full English breakfast each morning, with lighter options also available. There is an authentic Italian restaurant. It offers fresh pastas, pizzas and steaks, and there is also a cosy lounge bar. The White Swan is within a 20 minute drive of the Calderdale Pennines and Bradford is just 10 miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing