We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Beautiful building very central extremely comfy bed room all warm on entry after jounerny which was good. Arrived a little early but wasn't a problem they parked the car and our room was already ready. Friendly staff breakfast was very nice will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write your thoughts on tripadvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be friendly and enjoyed our breakfast. I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back with us here at The White Swan Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 423 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

Average can sound a bit negative but its not meant like that. The hotel has the usual good and not so good points and it depends to some extent on your own personal preferences. It is a large Victorian hotel in the town centre. Once no doubt the haunt of local wool merchants and commercial travellers, when Halifax was in its prime.
It has a traditional large Reception area with a high roof and a large staircase, all in quite good decorative order. This contrasts with the narrow corridors to the rooms ( with steps) which are a touch claustrophobic. The ( Superior) room was quite large with some contemporary touches but the main impression was that half the room was just carpeted open space and a large expanse of plain wall space. The windows were not large and were frosted. On investigation this was to hide the 'view' of the dingy alleyway outside. The bathroom was very modern and large with a wet room style shower. Very nice but completely at odds with the style of the room and hotel.
Very unusually for a hotel of this size there was no public bar area or hotel restaurant ( there is an Italian place in the basement) The receptionist had access to a small bar with limited drinks choice and you could sit with a drink in the main reception but you would probably be the only one there.
Breakfast was good and served without delays and as everyone says all the staff seem very friendly.

Room Tip: Some rooms at the back/side, get little natural daylight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albermarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us, I am glad you found the Hotel to be in good decorative order and the superior rooms to be large with modern bathrooms. It's lovely to hear you thought the staff were lovely and you enjoyed your breakfast. I will pass your kind comments on to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you want a hotel with character, that is warm, spotless, with staff to match, this grand old town centre hotel is for you. We timed our arrival to make sure our car was put away for the duration Friday afternoon till Monday. Our room 303 was more of an apartment (mind your head if you are tall) with a lovely wet room which suited us very well. The breakfasts are excellent, no cheap bacon and sausages here, with lovely cheerful service. Requests to extended breakfast to my son and family on Sunday were no problem and very reasonably priced. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the rear if you stay on a Friday or Saturday night. It was a great alternative to imposing on the family and we will look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Room at the rear at weekends if you are a light sleeper or take soft earplugs. Try arrive early if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guests. Thank you for your recent stay and the following review. I am pleased to hear we met your expectations and achieved our goal in terms of customer service. Its lovely to hear you enjoyed the breakfast, and found the staff to be helpful and friendly. It's lovely to hear you liked 303, one of our executive rooms, in particular the wet room, and found it to be clean. I'll pass your fantastic feedback to all departments. We look forward to seeing you again when you are next visiting family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

managed to get last parking spot in hotel garage. Got my car parked for me, then I collected next day from town hall car park. We had been allocated room at front but asked for room at back, managed to get last one. Staff helpful and friendly, no noise. Very clean. Breakfast great. Bed very comfy. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123debbbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest, I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay. Its nice to know you found the staff to be friendly, and the room to be clean and quiet and the bed to be comfortable. I'll pass on your comments about breakfast to the chef and restaurant team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed one night to attend a concert at the Victoria Theatre. Our welcome was very warm and we were advised that the hotel's garage was full and we would need to find alternative parking. The receptionist gave us directions to a couple of car parks but we managed to find a free spot a few hundred yards away.
We had room 100 which was an executive room with a sitting area as you entered then a separate, large bedroom with two single beds acting as a king size. The bathroom was clean and modern and the shower was suitably powerful.
Breakfast the next day was excellent. There was the usual selection of cereals and fruit and yoghurts etc. and the full English was cooked to order and to perfection. The service was very attentive with endless toast and coffee.
My only gripe is the price of drinks at the small bar. We had a bottle of Magners cider and an appletiser and the bill was over £8. I noticed that a bottle of Black Sheep bitter was £5! You are kidding surely? I've stayed in other more classy hotels where the prices were higher than your average pub but not extortionate, which this was. Given its central location in Halifax it hardly has a captive audience for its bar and I would advise having a nightcap elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wardsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing The White Swan for your recent stay in Halifax. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast which we pride ourselves on and found the staff to be friendly and attentive. With regards to bar prices we keep them competitively priced with other Hotel's and restaurants in the area. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just stayed the one night but this is a hotel we would come back to again. Lovely building, tastefully renovated,we had a good room, spacious with a good bed and very good soundproofing on the windows ( we were at the front, Saturday night with a restaurant and two clubs opposite) and we never heard a thing. Breakfast was very good - a real Yorkshire affair with fried bread and crispy fried black pudding. But the thing that underpinned our stay was the service from the staff - nothing short of excellent. From the moment we booked in to the valet car parking to breakfast and checking out. Every member of staff we encountered were warm, friendly, efficient and could not do enough to make your stay enjoyable. And because of that alone we would go back.

Room Tip: Superior rooms, for just a few pounds extra, was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely thoughts about the Hotel, I am delighted to hear you would return to the Hotel. I am pleased to hear you found the secondary glazing beneficial and will passed your kind comments on about the staff and breakfast. It is also nice to hear you appreciated our refurbishment programme.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

As I sit here having my breakfast at The White Swan with the other travellers I thought to myself this is what Fawlty Towers would be like if everything went Basil's way. The staff are friendly and very helpful, with easy, chatty charm. The hotel is equally charming, with it's warren of corridors and levels (not great if you have limited mobility). The central staircase is the embodiment of faded grandeur.

The rooms are modern and clean, it has a small fitness room with a running machine etc.

All in all this is a great hotel for a stop over.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_T_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased to hear you noticed the charm of the building with the modern twist. This is exactly what we are aiming for. I am glad to hear you found the gym of use. We hope to see you again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.3 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#7 of 10 in Halifax
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#8 of 10 in Halifax
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
387 reviews
2.7 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Address: Princess Street, Halifax HX1 1TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#5 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $56 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality is situated in the heart of Halifax. We offer free Wi-Fi, limited parking, a fitness suite and we are 5 minutes walk from the Lloyds office, and less than a 10 minute walk from the railway station. All bedrooms are bright and airy. They are individually decorated, and each has ensuite facilities, tea/coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and flat screen televisions with satellite channels and Freeview. The Superior and Executive rooms also have modern bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a traditional Full English breakfast each morning, with lighter options also available. We also serve a small lunch menu and Afternoon Tea is pre-bookable. There is an authentic Italian restaurant. It offers fresh pastas, pizzas and steaks, and there is also a cosy lounge bar. The White Swan is within a 20 minute drive of the Calderdale Pennines and Bradford is just 10 miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing