We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

my wife and i stayed a sat/sun nights,we enjoyed every min of our stay.from the moment we entered the hotel the reception we got from all the staff was 100%,they made you feel as though you was part of their family. it was a hot day and we had a drink in the lounge watching the cricket,where the drink was quiet cheap.the breakfast,well what can i say,it was a breakfast to set you up for the day,we had the full english and cooked perfect.when we come back to halifax again would we stop here,,you bet we would.o by the way the beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsetters50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing your thoughts about The White Swan Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your kind comments regarding the staff. Thank you for your lovely comments about our breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
There are newer reviews for The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 414 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed for two nights. First night was before my wedding day. My room had been renovated so it was modern and fresh however the rest of the place is a little tired and shabby looking. Lift is not too good either. Breakfast was quite good actually which did surprise a little. The main gripe I had was that the room was not serviced when my bridal party left so myself and my husband had an unmade bed and wet towels and no toilet roll to return to..staff were courteous parking could present an issue to some people also.

Room Tip: Room 100 the suite is modern and is comfortable
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm glad to hear you like room 100, one of our executive rooms. May I take this opportunity to congratulate you on your marriage. I'm sorry to hear your room was not serviced, Please accept my sincere apologies for this. I will speak to the housekeeping manager to ensure this will not happen again to future guests. With regards to parking if our garage is full there is a multi story car park two streets from the Hotel which offers a discounted rate of £5 for Hotel guests for 24 hours. Hopefully we will see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had never been in this area before. Nice hotel, nice rooms and fantastic service. Breakfast was excellent and great sausages. Bed was a bit soft. Overall was very good value, good location and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OEAber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It's always lovely to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay with us. The staff will be very pleased with your kind comments. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lots of reviews compliment the staff - and rightly so! They are really nice and very genuine, right from those on the check-in to those in the dining room. The hotel is right in the centre of town and not far from overnight parking in a nearby multi-story car park at five pounds per night. Our room was probably the smallest in the hotel and faced the main street which is surprisingly noisy due to a bar being located down an ally directly opposite - its OK if its cool enough to keep the roof-window closed, but on the (unlikely to happen) hot evening, it would be pretty noisy in there, so take ear plugs if you need them. Breakfast was fine.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LancasterHermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's always nice to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay with us. I will pass on you kind comments to the staff. We hope to see you in the future when you next visit Halifax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights as she was having surgery in nearby Elland. We were made very welcome by all the reception staff and we have to say a big thank you to Colin, the proprietor who was always very accommodating and always had a smile for us. It makes such a difference to be met with this sort of warmth, especially when the nature of the trip is not fun and leisure. Our gratitude must also be extended to the young lady at reception, the friendly chambermaids and the very nice gent who worked nights.

Finally, the Hotel has a nice, cosy, old world feel with a spacious foyer, a huge staircase and plenty of room to breathe. Well done all!

Room Tip: Choose a room that is double glazed and away from the kids party groups that go on from 10:00 - 18:0...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovelylittleowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff. It's always nice to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay with us here at the White Swan Hotel. Hopefully we will see you again in the future some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

stayed fri 21st june 2013 very handy for town center clean hotel the bed in room 106 is to die for soft and cocoons you didnt want to get out breakfast nice staff very welcoming would stay again great value for money

Room Tip: 106 lovely and quite bed to die for
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keekeeowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in room 106, one of our executive rooms. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast and found us good value for money. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose an executive room on a Saturday night. It was situated on the top floor at the front of the hotel. There was no noise at all from the street as the double glazing worked really well - even kept out the chimes of the Town Hall clock.

Excellent location if you want to be right in the centre of Halifax. Free street parking on a Sunday, so able to park outside front door of hotel after 6pm on the Saturday.

Room was very good. No complaints whatsoever. Staff very friendly. Excellent cooked breakfast. Good coffee too!

We shall probably return for another visit soon as often travel up to Yorkshire to see family. This was the best value of all hotels on offer this particular week-end. Even beat Premier Inn prices.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pldmmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing your review of The White Swan Hotel. I am delighted to hear you choose one of our executive rooms, and our new double glazing has paid off! Thank you for your compliments with regards to the breakfast and staff. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you once again for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
381 reviews
2.7 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Address: Princess Street, Halifax HX1 1TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#5 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $57 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality is situated in the heart of Halifax. We offer free Wi-Fi, limited parking, a fitness suite and we are 5 minutes walk from the Lloyds office, and less than a 10 minute walk from the railway station. All bedrooms are bright and airy. They are individually decorated, and each has ensuite facilities, tea/coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and flat screen televisions with satellite channels and Freeview. The Superior and Executive rooms also have modern bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a traditional Full English breakfast each morning, with lighter options also available. We also serve a small lunch menu and Afternoon Tea is pre-bookable. There is an authentic Italian restaurant. It offers fresh pastas, pizzas and steaks, and there is also a cosy lounge bar. The White Swan is within a 20 minute drive of the Calderdale Pennines and Bradford is just 10 miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing