We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and service”

Restaurant at Shibden Mill Inn
Ranked #26 of 297 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lappeenranta, Finland
2 reviews
“Wonderful food and service”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We ate dinner here with friends and our three children. Food was excellent and waitresses were friendly and patient with our kids. Lovely place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaiviLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    96
    45
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing day in the sun”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Well I have been a few times and love it especially when it is sunny.
so I went there today and had the scallops to start and then the mixed grill pig dish my partner had langastine and then venison.
Omg all were lovely and great sunning outside.
I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firetrap_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Barnsley chop was delicious. Service and ambience really good. I would recommend this restaurant. There is a nice beer garden and lots of nooks and crannies in this typically english pub.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“value for money not”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Being back in the uk for a few weeks I enjoy the good food we have to offer so when a friend said this place was really good I was looking forward to the food

When I order scallops for a starter at something like £9 50 I expect to have scallops I got 2 the size of a 5p piece and a bit of chorizo around the same size it tasted of nothing I give my dog chorizo that tastes better I didn't fancy paying £22 to £26 for a main course in what is after all just a nice pub so I went for another starter at £10 a steak sandwich this was two large thick pieces of crust filled with a A4 piece of paper painted brown and fried or this is what it looked and tasted like with this came two onion rings and half a tomato Where's the chips I ask £3 extra with a little bowl of mayo again tasteless. Wine was good service ok the usual nice 6th former. To round it up I wouldn't go back if they paid me let the people who think its really nice keep going while the rest of us find some good food

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Delicious food in beautiful setting!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Sat nestled in a valley next to a river this pub is set in a lovely scenic area. Loads of outdoor seating. Seems popular with walkers. Fish and chips delicious with mini jars of vibegar and tartar sauce on the place. Roasts looked very generous too. No room for pub but they looked amazing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HC1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Shibden Mill Inn also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Restaurant at Shibden Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing