We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kirk Lea Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Crown Hotel(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$51
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$48
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
$48
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
    $75
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (46)
    Filter reviews
    46 results
    Traveler rating
    25
    11
    4
    3
    3
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    25
    11
    4
    3
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsb bpearlhuddersfieldbreakfastmicrowavesleep
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    26 - 31 of 46 reviews
    Reviewed June 30, 2012

    Kirk lea is an exceptional b and b. A warm and friendly welcome, helped instilled a home from home atmosphere. Location provided a perfect base for business as well as facilitating leisure activities. Overall i would recommend Kirk Lea, as breakfast was perfectly cooked and plentiful.

    • Stayed: June 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Thetravndnf
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

    Thank you for your pleasant comments. It was good to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 24, 2012

    Rooms are quite pricey for what you get. Bathroom in serious need of professional maintenance as its grubby and falling to bits.
    Indian owner not investing money in making a quality B&B experience!

    • Stayed: May 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank marineboy66
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

    Hi, thank you for your comments. We hope you enjoyed your stay otherwise and sorry if the bathroom was found not to be up to your standard. We’ve recently restarted the redecoration. Have a look at our recent photo’s on our website.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 3, 2012

    I made my reservation several months ago when invited to a Wedding nearby.
    Before reserving, I read the web site thoroughly and was pleased with what I read hence my booking.
    On arrival the alarm bells rang and that was just looking at this place from the outside. I was greeted by the very pleasant John and shown to my room. Although clean enough, the room was in a really bad state of repair and the decor was extremely tired to say the least.
    When I go away, I expect a decent standard of accomodation and this fell way short. I was really annoyed as I had travelled a long way to get here. The Kirk Lea Guest House website is extremely misleading and there are lots of issues within the room I was due to stay in. The window would not close, there was a burn on the polystyrene light fitting and the floor was very uneven. The furniture was very worn and damaged and nothing matched at all, not an attempt to look "shabby chic" I can promise.
    There have been some attempts to decorate by the current staff who are well aware of the appearance of the place and were very apologetic when I approached them with my impression of the place. They were helpful and could not have done more to assist me in finding a suitable alternative.
    This review in no way reflects on John and Val who are lovely people and I wish them well for the future!.

    Room Tip: Simply book somewhere else!
    • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank Crikeytrev
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

    Hi, Thank you for your comments. Agreed the staff at Kirk Lea Guest House are very helpful and always try to help. Sorry we were not up to your expectations. With regards to the furnishing, window closer and floor board that needs screwing down will be looked into this weekend, if the room is free. Thanks you.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 24, 2012

    My wife and I stayed her in early December 2011, we can not match the place we stayed with the reviews we read. The whole place is tired and worn out, the curtains were thin and let in the light from the street lamp outside. It is opposite the hospital and the ambulance sirens kept us awake. There is a kettle in the room but it is hard to fill in the tiny sink and the lead was not long enough to allow you to boil it on the table, my wife had to crawl under what passed as a dressing table to plug it in and allow it to boil on the floor. The bathroom had no heating and the sink was tiny and did not match the WC which had a cracked lid that had been repaired with mastic that had gone brown. It advertises free parking, that is true but not quite what I had in mind you are given a parking permit that allows you to park in the street. Everything was worn out, the bedding the curtains and most of the fixtures and fittings. we booked for 2 nights but made our excuses and left after the first. The breakfast was good but I will never be tempted to stay there again.

    Room Tip: Go to the Premier Inn
    • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    6  Thank Chaz007
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 22, 2011

    Very nice B&B, rooms clean and cosy. Good rates, including a fantastic full breakfast, freshly prepared even at 6am in the morning. Will very happily stay again.

    • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Clauds02
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews