We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Gate Bar & Restaurant
Open today: 10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Review Highlights
Friendly Staff

Spent a weekday evening here and the staff were lovely and helpful when I arrived with a flat... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
saraw858
,
Ruskington, United Kingdom
via mobile
Birthday lunch

Hubby and sister in law booked this for a special birthday for me. The upstairs dining area is... read more

Reviewed September 7, 2019
HelenD1218
,
Keighley, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 31 reviews
  
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
21
8
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
21
8
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hebden bridge chicken supreme lovely pub mains yorkshire manchester dog pint
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 31 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

Hubby and sister in law booked this for a special birthday for me. The upstairs dining area is colourful and the staff couldn’t have been more helpful and friendly.
The food was fresh, tasty and there was a good choice- something for everybody. There’s a set menu, specials or a la Carte.
Definitely recommend it.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank HelenD1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

Flew in overnight from Toronto to Manchester, then took the train to Hebden Bridge as the first destination on our family holiday to England. We hadn't slept, were pretty jet lagged, and were quite hungry. The outside of the Old Gate Bar and Restaurant looked quite inviting at 12:30 pm on a weekday, so we thought we'd give it a go.

What a great decision that turned out to be!

Walking in it felt quite comfortable and welcoming, and it had a few people there but wasn't crowded or busy. We were given our choice of seats and opted for the upper restaurant room, by an open window on a sunny day. The decor there suggested this was an upscale place to have a meal, but the staff there were down-to-earth, friendly, and extremely helpful.

Everyone in our party of four (two adults, a 16-year-old, and a 12-year-old) chose something different from the 2-course or 3-course menu, and no-one was disappointed. We were able to sit, converse, and eat at a leisurely pace, with each course coming at just the right time. The food itself was excellent, and portions were just the right size. Service was prompt and efficient, but not hurried in any way.

What made it even better was how they went above and beyond, answering questions, giving outstanding tourist advice on things to see and do in Hebden Bridge, Yorkshire, and even neighbouring counties. It was wonderful to be able to just chat about a variety of topics like we had known them for years.

For the rest of our time in Hebden Bridge we noticed that there were always a good number of people at the Old Gate, breakfast, lunch, dinner, and into the evening, so clearly we're not the only ones to realize what a fantastic place it is.

I highly recommend stopping in for a drink, a meal, and a chat if you've got the opportunity.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank nmew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2019

Visited on a Friday evening without a booking. Downstairs was busy without being overly so with an excellent choice of 8or9 cask ales and a mango and lime draught cider. Beers were circa £3.80 a pint so OK. The one downside (to be fair most venues seem to take advantage of wine drinkers) was a (small) medium wine for £5.80.

Food wasn’t cheap, but of very good quality. We had a French onion soup (no cheese on the croutons) and a duck liver parfait with gooseberry and Prosecco chutney (starters circa £6 a time). These were followed by a decent fillet of sea bass with pesto, samphire and sautéed potatoes plus a chicken supreme (not with a creamy sauce as expected) but shallots and a tasty jus with kale and dauphinois potatoes (most mains other than steaks cost £12-16).
The staff were efficient and friendly and the decor tastefully bright and breezy.
Not a particularly cheap night out but of good quality food and beer in a pleasant environment. Worth a visit!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Bryan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2018

A warm inviting space with open fires and a tantalising scent of incense. As a vegan, I always go into these places filled with trepidation, but was delighted to see several vegan options of starters, mains and even desserts. I was with two friends and we had a sharing platter for starters, which we all enjoyed, then I had an enchilada for mains. It was delicious, and, if I'd known the size of it I wouldn't have scoffed so much of the starter! My two non-vegan friends said their mains was excellent too.
A bit pricey for an ad hoc lunch, but this was a festive meal so it was well worth it. We'll definitely go again.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank DeeWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2018

Came here for a pre gig meal at the trades and was not disappointed at all. Had a really nice monk fish scampi and it was lovely and light. A little expensive for a pub meal but hebden seems to be that way so its no more expensive that its competition in the village. Very dog friendly also

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Z5269AMjoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews