We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather grim”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here in Oct 2012.

It was rather grim and overpriced at £87 for one night, not including breakfast.

We have stayed before in Premier Inns which were better than this one.

There was no sound on the TV and when we reported this to reception, she requested an engineer but no one came. They provided a travel cot for my toddler but she woke up cold in the night because all that was provided was a sheet and this wasn't sufficient for the end of Oct.

The Brewer's Fayre attached though was very good value for money. The cavery was good value and tasty.

I'D LIKE TO KNOW, WHERE ARE THESE £19 ROOMS ARE, WHICH ARE ADVERTISED ON TV!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeachersPet78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with everything they need to have a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion we have failed to do this.

Once again thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 325 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have used this hotel when visiting a family member who was in hospital. This hotel is within walking distance of the hospital.. Coming from the south of England by train I found this hotel to be a short taxi ride from the station. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. Check in only took a minute. The restaurant is separate to the hotel and offers a good breakfast and a wide variety of foods for dinner.
My last stay was with family. We all agreed the hotel was excellent value for money. This time we drove up from the south which was very tiring but a good nights sleep was had by all.
I would happily stay here again as would the other members of my family.

Room Tip: We booked 3 rooms on our last visit and all were in good locations so I cannot offer any tips,all wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights on business and was pleasant enough. There was a bit of a smell in the car park the night I arrived but never inside the room; found out there is a treatment works opposite.

Room had everything you needed in it and was quiet with no noises from outside disturbing me.

The pub next door did good food at a reasonable price and most nights had some form of buffet as well as the normal menu. There is a McDonald's over the road if that's more your sort of thing.

Plenty of car parking and I'd imagine you could walk along the canal towpath if you want some exercise!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WesthamWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights for a family funeral in rooms 4 & 5. These are on the ground floor along the front. It is an unusual set-up in that your bedroom door opens directly onto the car park outside with no corridor. The rooms were very small but clean, well decorated and well-equipped with the usual black-out curtains, flat screen telly, duvets etc. The duty manager, Sebastian, was very friendly and helpful and we ate several times in the pub which serves reasonable pub food. All of that said, we would not stay again due to the inadequate sound-proofing and the smell in the bathroom of no 4. The bathroom smells of damp and, even more strongly, of old urine. It was spotlessly clean suggesting the problem is with the drains or with the pipes behind the walls. The hotel staff must be aware of this as it is immediately apparent when you enter the bathroom. As to the sound-proofing, we were treated each night to the auditory equivalent of full-technicolour peeing from the man in the room upstairs and the people in the room to the right which was not a pleasant experience! This particular hotel is simply not up to the standard of other Premier Inns such as the Southampton airport site which is truly excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid no.4 - smelly bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latecomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at Premier Inn Halifax South for two nights on 11th & 12th of October 2012. We had room 12 on the a ground floor at the front and were woken during the night and early morning by car parking and adjoining room noise above and to each side. The room though clean and competent seemed very small in dimension with ineffective sound proofing. The two single beds joined together to afford a double had a short length which guaranteed overhanging feet and poor access past the chair to the dressing television desk at the foot of the bed.
Two adults would not wish to prolong a duration in such surroundings. I would not recommend this Premier Inn for anything other than 1 night, ear buds being an essential accessory.

Room Tip: Don't have a room at the front or on the ground floor as you will be kept awake all night by ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scanway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.
We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.
Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights due to a family funeral. The staff are always very friendly and helpful and we cannot fault them.
Our only moan is the price that Premier are charging to stay at this particular hotel. No sign of the rooms from £29 here. We paid over £70 per night and we stayed 3 nights which did not include breakfast, that's extra.
So check the price before booking here. We don't understand it, as the price used to be very reasonable for a budget hotel, but not now!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at Halifax South Premier Inn as we were visiting friends nearby. We have stayed there several times before and the standard has always been good. The Inn is at the bottom of a hill almost next to the canal with a large car park. It is just off a very busy road into Halifax. Pleasant walks along the canal. A bit too far out of Halifax if you want to be central, but fine for us as friends live close by. The rooms are spacious and very clean with a lovely super king size bed which was very comfortable. The breakfast served in the pub next door was excellent and not bad value. We did have problems with the TV in our room as could only get 4 or 5 channels and a couple kept switching themselves off, but when we mentioned it to reception we moved but the next room had a similar problem - I think their TV aerial or signal was not tuned in properly.

Room Tip: All rooms look onto canal if - only 2 stories so ask for ground or first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JME138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
4 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
397 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
238 reviews
1.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel

Address: Huddersfield Road | Salterhebble Hill, Halifax HX3 0QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Price Range: $67 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within easy reach of the M62. Conveniently located for Halifax and Soweby Bridge train stations and shops and local amenities Halifax town centre is only 2 miles away. Calderdale Royal Hospital is a short 5min walk away. The picturesque canal-side location of Halifax Premier Inn has everything you'd expect; incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Brewers Fayre restaurant, The Watermill, serving great value pub favourites in a family friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing