We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tower House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed for one night on business, the hotel was not busy, and i was allocated a small room, which i had reserved, but hoped for an upgrade! to no avail....... There was only two diners in the restaurant and the food was quite good, but took an age to prepare....... I was a little dis-appointed that breakfast was only continental (with an option for cooked at an extra cost) must have missed this fact when I reserved the hotel, since it is very rare to encounter this on my extensive travelling. However the room was spotless, and everyone was extremely friendly throughout my stay, and it would not take very much more to make this Hotel perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUSAN H, Owner at The Tower House Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your food, the Chef couldn't remember slow service on the night in question, this is a first for us but ido apologise if this is what you felt.Our extensive menu is under review with some very exciting dishes being added.Our manager assures me you booked for a single room with single bed and he upgraded you to a double room with double bed as you were a valued new customer.I'm sorry you missed the part about our continental breakfast, it is clearly advertised as so, helping us to keep our bedroom cost at a very competitive rate. We have lots of business people staying with us that do not want a cooked breakfast and do not want to pay for one in their room rate, so this works better for them, and at a nominal price you can upgrade to a full English breakfast.Thank you for joining us at The Tower House Hotel and we hope you visit us again.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    47
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
123
89
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had my birthday party here last Saturday and had a fantastic time. Every one of the staff went out of their way to make the night a special one and were friendly and professional ensuring everything went smoothly. Carl the DJ was superb and the music was great with everyone up on the dance floor, i danced all night and my feet were killing me the next day! We took all the rooms in the hotel and everyone said how much they'd enjoyed their stay and enjoyed the food. Many people have said its one of the best parties they've been to and it's a night I'll treasure forever. So thank you Robert, Nicola and everyone at the Tower House for a fabulous night.

Room Tip: The bridal suite room is fabulous. There is no swimming pool or fitness centre but can't remove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUSAN H, Owner at The Tower House Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review.Nicola and Rob are so pleased you had such a good time at your party. Our D.J Carl is often praised ,we are so lucky to have him.Our Honeymoon suite is one of the finest in Calderdale and is always a talking point the first time anyone see's it. It is a perfect room for your Wedding night or for any special occasion. I hope your dancing feet have recovered and once again thank you for choosing The Tower House hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic weekend of family events and stayed at this lovely hotel. We ate in several times, lunches and a buffet for a party - the food was very good quality, delicious and reasonably priced. If you want a smart hotel with all the mod cons and friendly attentive staff then stay here. A party we were at went on into the wee hours and the sound proofing must be very good because we couldn't hear a thing when we finally went to bed. Thanks to Rob, Danielle and all the team, you made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We shall certainly stay with you again and recommend the hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: The rooms were very comfortable, spotlessly clean and nicely decorated and furnished. Ensuites have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan196504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Luckily we had the chance to stay at this wonderful hotel again, friendly atmosphere from arriving to departing the following day. Same smiling and welcoming faces from the reception through bar staff, chef Andy, kitchen staff and management.
Robert is the most laid back of managers and seems fazed by nothing, always available to help with the finer details aswell as the larger ones. Our room was spotless with crisp, clean white linen and soft fluffy towels! Breakfast the following morning was plentiful and cooked fresh to order, a huge selection of cereal, breads, croissants, fruit, yoghurt etc......along with the smell of fresh coffee what else could a hotel offer.
Bravo......another perfect score for a surprise stay at the Tower House.
Very happy lady from Leeds x

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbiecarl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a wonderful night last Saturday - with the great magician, Robert Ellams, the absolutely, superbly funny "cheeky but not not crude" comedian Lee Roberts and also, great food!
All in all, a night and a venue to be recommended!
Louise and Damian

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We recently had our wedding at the tower house hotel. This was an amazing day made so by the staff and management of the hotel. With the snow piling up outside the night before our big day the management sent regular texts to let me know they had gritted the road and car park outside the hotel. They were fabulous on the day and we didn't have to think of a thing they just took care of everything.
The food was amazing and the guests all made comments about how much they got and what a lovely meal it was! The rooms are immaculate with all having a lovely nights sleep followed by a full English put on especially for us. All you can eat, just what was needed after a few tipples the night before. I really can't fault a thing this is a wonderful hotel with friendly staff and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just had a great saturday night at the comedy night. Firstly we saw a magician called Robert Ellams - he was absolutley magic, no seriously, you can watch his tricks close up, they are mind boggling. Then the top of the bill was Lee Roberts, great personality, great with the crowd, hilarious, cheeky but not crude and can handle the hecklers. We had a great pie & peas supper supplied the the wonderful welcoming hosts Rob & Nicola. Thanks for a great night we will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWynne_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
3.3 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
1.4 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
1.5 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower House Hotel

Property: The Tower House Hotel
Address: Tower House Hotel Master Lane | Pye Nest,Sowerby Bridge, Halifax HX2 7EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tower House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tower House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing