We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tower House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We recently had our wedding at the tower house hotel. This was an amazing day made so by the staff and management of the hotel. With the snow piling up outside the night before our big day the management sent regular texts to let me know they had gritted the road and car park outside the hotel. They were fabulous on the day and we didn't have to think of a thing they just took care of everything.
The food was amazing and the guests all made comments about how much they got and what a lovely meal it was! The rooms are immaculate with all having a lovely nights sleep followed by a full English put on especially for us. All you can eat, just what was needed after a few tipples the night before. I really can't fault a thing this is a wonderful hotel with friendly staff and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 398 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just had a great saturday night at the comedy night. Firstly we saw a magician called Robert Ellams - he was absolutley magic, no seriously, you can watch his tricks close up, they are mind boggling. Then the top of the bill was Lee Roberts, great personality, great with the crowd, hilarious, cheeky but not crude and can handle the hecklers. We had a great pie & peas supper supplied the the wonderful welcoming hosts Rob & Nicola. Thanks for a great night we will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWynne_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

went to the tower house for an 80th birthday party last Sunday all the staff were excellent could not do enough for us the service was excellent and the food was superb,all our needs were attended to can not thank them enough

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Having stayed here twice in one month with work you'd think I might want a change of scenery?! No thanks very much. This hotel, it's staff and it's in-house restaurant are exceptional.
I'd choose to stay here over any other hotel in the area because its intimate and you just don't get that intimate feeling (or friendly but professional banter) with larger chains. I can't recommend it highly enough, particulary Danielle and Stacey at the reception who would go out of there way to accommodate your needs. Thanks for a pleasant stay every time and see you again soon!

Room Tip: Room 8 is lovely and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swalsh240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Having stayed here on a couple of previous occasions, i suggested to my collegue that we should hold our next meeting here, and we did just that, from start to finish service was excellent. It was held in the Clarence room which is really spacious, clean and bright and also has a break out area which is great. Robert and Nicola are so passionate about their job and this truly shows as nothing is too much trouble, when we arrived the room was set just as we had asked, the communication we had in the run up to our meeting was brilliant, very professional on all accounts.

We were here all day, any questions or help we needed and Stacey and Joanne on Reception was very attentive and so helpful.

The food at lunchtime was devine, try the Strawberry Cheesecake, it is too die for !! The Chef's and the Waitresses are all so lovely and go out of their way to make your stay even better.

We will definitely be holding our next meeting here, as we feel that out of all the establishments we have held them at this stands out the most for us, for us it's the high level of customer service that we received.

This hotel definitely derserves a visit no matter what the occasion !!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUSAN H, Owner at The Tower House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased that everything went well for you at your all day conference. We hold lots of conferences at The Tower House Hotel and as you say Rob and Nicola are so passionate about their jobs and they strive to make every occassion special no matter what it is.We have a great group of staff working for us, from the management to the receptionists, the Chefs, the waitress's and housekeeping, we are proud of them all.Some establishments have a set criteria that they stick to but we will strive to do anything asked of us, no matter what it may be, if we can do it then we will.Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Tower House Hotel was a little hard to find because it’s tucked away in a nice spot with a view of a tall folly. We stayed for one night before going on to another hotel in Halifax for a wedding. Our room had a super king size bed with a comfortable mattress. The room, if not pokey, wasn’t spacious, and both the room and bathroom were decorated and equipped in a contemporary in style, but in the bathroom a shelf on which to put toiletries was needed.

Probably the best thing about this hotel is the excellent and friendly service from all the staff. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. They dealt promptly with an issue of my parents who’d asked for a twin room but were given one with a bed and a sofa bed. In the evening we ate in the conservatory restaurant which has an extensive menu (including about 10 veggie options!) of good food. Breakfast was continental with cooked breakfast being charged extra.

The only niggles were that the bathroom fan was noisy and so a bit of a nuisance at night, and, like in many hotels, the walls weren't insulated enough against noise from adjoining rooms.

If we’re ever in Halifax again then we’d definitely be happy to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a super king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beanerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUSAN H, Owner at The Tower House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about The Tower House Hotel,and for the lovely things you said about our staff. I will look at the bathroom in question and see if there is room for a shelf for toiletries. Because some of the bathrooms are compact we chose contemporary sinks with large vanity tops hoping toiletries could be placed there.We do have an extensive range for vegetarians as both our managers are vegeterians and both had a say in our menu.We have a room with a super king size bed and four rooms with king size beds.We have now been in business for three years and we welcome constructive advice as it helps us improve so once again thank you and we hope if you are ever in Hallifax again that The Tower House Hotel will be your choice of Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We got married at Tower House a year ago and returned yesterday for their NYE party. From the moment you arrive you are treated like family. ALL the staff are really friendly. Nic & Rob are the best hosts

There is nothing to be faulted here, the rooms are great, the food is great and lady gaga tribute was brilliant.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachBhudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
1.4 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
335 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
3.3 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
1.5 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower House Hotel

Address: Tower House Hotel Master Lane | Pye Nest,Sowerby Bridge, Halifax HX2 7EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Price Range: $75 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tower House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Tower House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing