We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, fantastic staff, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tower House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, fantastic staff, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

I’ve been working in Halifax for quite a while now. Usually when working away, I tend to try various hotels. I was at another hotel for my first 2 weeks, and then I thought I’d try the Tower House......5 months later I’m still here, Monday to Friday every week.

Every aspect about this hotel is top notch. The room I usually stay in, is always extremely clean, has a very large bathroom (which has a bath tub and separate power shower), flat screen TV and a comfy bed.

I’m always staying in hotels across the country and the staff (from reception to chefs) at the Tower House are one of the best and friendliest I’ve have seen. They are always willing to go the extra mile to make their guests welcome, which I have experienced on numerous occasions. To top it off the food at the hotel is very good (try the lamb pie if it’s on the specials).

I'd like to say thank you to all the staff at the Tower House for making me feel very welcome and always helping out with the little things when required.

One of the best things i've found about staying in a smaller hotel (rather than a large chain) is the personal touch offered. If I’m ever around Halifax again for business or pleasure, I would defiantly stay at the Tower House – highly recommended.

Room Tip: I always stayed in room 8 - large comfy bed and a huge bathroom
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Randeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    47
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
123
89
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

What can I say! My husband and I went to the Norman Hunter night on 2nd March and it was absolutely fantastic! We got a fabulous suite with a huge king size bed and a luxurious bathroom with bubbly brought to our room courtesy of Rob. We had a gorgeous meal, nothing could be faulted, "Leeds and Potato Soup", Roast Beef and Cheescake, (coloured in blue, yellow and white)! The comedian was hilarious and the whole night was a complete and utter success. After a lovely night's sleep, we had a delicious full english before making our way back home.
I would like to say a personal thank you to Rob and Nicola who make every event at The House a great success, nothing is too much trouble and everything is always perfect! I wish you all the look in the world, you have a fabulous hotel with great staff and great surroundings. We WILL be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwood85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We won a competition with the local radio station Phoenix FM to have a meal for 2 and an evening with Norman Hunter and Comedian Mark Rough - I would just to say a huge thank you to The Tower House Hotel, the evening was simply fantastic, from the welcome to leaving at the end of the night, the staff were all excellent, the 3 course meal was absolutely gorgeous - the biggest Yorkshire Pudding I have ever seen! A huge thank you to the manager who looked after us extremely well and an even bigger thank you for putting us at the top table with Mr Hunter!! Overall a most enjoyable night with the added bonus of fantastic food, drink and most of all friendly staff. We will be back in the near future for Sunday Lunch!!! xx

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night due to business. I phoned ahead of my arrival to ask what time the resturant closed. I was advised that last orders were at 9pm, however the chef would stay later if required. The lady on the phone has an excellent telephone manner and was extremely helpful.

I arrived around 8pm but had advised in advance that I would not be eating (I didn't want the chef to wait if i was going to be late). I arrived in the bar area and was welcomed by a member of staff who was extremely friendly. she checked me into my room and then walked me to the door of the room to ensure that I found it.

I went down to the bar and the same member of staff was showing someone else to their room. She then followed me down the stairs to start serving in the resturant and bar. She did an excellent job of serving everyone and ensuring everyone was happy.

The room was a decent size with a good size bed and very clean. I had requested a king size bed which I got (2 singles pushed together), although the left hand side was very squeeky so I could actually only sleep on the right hand side.

The shower room was also a decent size and the shower was very powerful.

Overall a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is the second time i have now visited this lovely gem of a hotel....i treated my partner for his birthday to stay over in the Bridal suite & WOW!!!...Ive never seen a bath as big and luxurious!!!!
We arrived early so thought we would try out the Carvery...we went for 2 courses & it was delicious......the Cheesecake is to die for!!!!!!
We got to meet Andy the chef, who was very polite as well as the waiting staff , they could not do enough for us.....Nicola & Robert who even gave us a Complimentary bottle of Bucks Fizz...nothing is too much trouble at all for these guys.......
The Bridal suite is just stunning...lovely big comfy bed...huge tv on the wall.....the bathroom...well let's just say i need not want to leave!!!!
I will most definitely be returning here again...if you want a great homely stay then The Tower House is the place.......you will not be disappointed!!!!Thanks again guys for a lovely birthday evening!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerHouse, Owner at The Tower House Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Thank you for all the lovely things you have said. We are so glad you had a good stay and that you enjoyed our beautiful bridal suite.It is always nice when guests mention our Chefs and staff by name it means they have enjoyed themselves so much that they have taken time to remember their names.We hadn't had anything posted since the 6th of January and were getting worried, although guests sent us messages to complain that their reports hadn't been posted, we still don't know why, lets hope everything is working again.Once again thank you for taking the time to write, and we hope to see you again ..soon. Susan Holt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

New Years Eve wedding - we chose THH due to the friendliness of ALL the staff their from the management team to the housekeepers they are all extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for any of them. The venue is great, the rooms are modern and spacious, bridal suite is one of the nicest rooms we've ever stayed in.

The food is out of this world (andy - chef, friendliest guy ever) and the overall cost is more than reasonable.

I would highly recommend THH for anyone wanting a great all round service.

Our wedding party booked all the rooms and all of our guests were more than impressed.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBhudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerHouse, Owner at The Tower House Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Everyone at the Tower House Hotel would like to wish you all the best in your future life together as husband and wife.Thank you for your kind remarks about staff, we are like a big family and all work towards one goal and that is to make your Wedding day extra special. We would like to thank all our dedicated customers and new customers for their great feedback throughout 2011. To those who have written to Trip advisor in 2012 but have not been published we would like to apologise and have no idea why we have had nothing since January 6th and assure you it isn't anything to do with us.Happy 2012 to everyone from Rob, Nic, Stacey, Andy and all staff, we hope you all have a good year.From Susan and Andrew Holt, owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Just to say a massive THANKYOU for making my recent 60th birthday party at The Tower House Hotel such a spectacular and resounding success!

With the expert help and guidance from Robert, the manager, everything went absolutely perfectly. His attention to detail, his background information, his enthusiasm and willingness to help and advise, made the whole experience a pleasure, from the conception of the idea at the outset, right through to the actual event on the night.

The hospitality of the staff, the quality of the food, the layout of the function room, the fabulous setting for the venue, everything was superb.!

In short, Robert and the rest of the Tower House team gave me a 60th birthday party celebration which I will never forget.I shall have no hesitation in recommending the Tower House Hotel to anyone I meet in the future, who is planning to hold a similar celebration or function.

Special occasion's need special venue's. The Tower House Hotel, Halifax, is a VERY special venue.

Thank's again to Robert and his team. M. Wood. Bradford.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melvynwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
3.3 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
1.4 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
1.5 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower House Hotel

Property: The Tower House Hotel
Address: Tower House Hotel Master Lane | Pye Nest,Sowerby Bridge, Halifax HX2 7EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tower House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tower House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing