We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was good once”
Review of Big Blue Frog

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Big Blue Frog
Ranked #4 of 14 Fun & Games in Halifax
Attraction details
yorkshire
Level Contributor
180 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“It was good once”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was great when it first opened but it does now smell of dirty fat. It's staffed by teenagers with little or no idea about food or kids. The coffee is vile and the food is awful. The large play area is great for aged 4 to 8 but doesn't seem well supervised.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cns259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    18
    8
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great for 3-7”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Not too good for small toddlers as there is no monitoring of the toddler areas. Bigger children run riot in toddler areas with no control. My little one got knocked over a few times

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A bit grim. Serves food unfit for children”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

There are quite a few soft play areas around Halifax, this is the worst one. It smells of deep fat frying, the place is chaotic. We recently had something to eat there and it was shocking. You'd think if you run a venue for children you wouldn't serve the cheapest of the cheapest junk food, but they do. And to make it worse they overcharge for it: £5.45 for a hamburger and chips that must have cost about a £1 to put together. I felt like a bad parent giving this to my daughter. Never again. They should take some responsbility and serve something more nutritious and less crap to their customers.
Go somewhere else.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bashi_Mwepu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great venue for kids”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Large indoor playarea, with a nice cafe, lots of tables for adults to sit around, and an area for older kids. My partner has spent many many saturdays sat in here with a paper and coffee whilst trying to tire out 2 boisterous boys.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Blue Frog today with our 4 year old and baby after it was recommended to us by relatives. All I can say is never again. As soon as we walked in the door I wanted to leave, but we stayed anyway because we'd driven there and the kids needed to stretch their legs.

First impressions - depressing, chaotic, far too loud (random bits of music playing very loudly and suddenly, related to a party, accompanied by screaming children) but at other times music too quiet to hear, small "recommended under fives" area packed with unsupervised big children throwing soft play shapes all over the place. There was nowhere safe for us to put baby down. Lots of parents apparently oblivious to their own children, others walking round inside the soft play without children but with their shoes on (??).

We were quickly surrounded by children wanting us to entertain them, trying to grab the baby etc. Another boy kicked our 4 year old. No responsible parents in sight. Five of the eleven printed rules we were given state that Blue Frog does not accept responsibility for supervision of children and I wouldn't have been brave enough to challenge the parents myself so wouldn't ask them to... so we weren't able to solve this problem.

After half an hour we left to get a drink and snack in town. The food menu here seemed pretty standard but we didn't try. Toilets average. There was free wifi.

We've been to lots of play gyms... maybe today was just a bad day, but this was one of the worst we've visited. It's a shame because it's not a bad size and has potential.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mummy040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Blue Frog also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Big Blue Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing