We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cracking local eatery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa margherita

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Villa margherita
Ranked #39 of 291 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cracking local eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have been returning to the Villa Margherita regularly over the last 20 years (since it opened) and never had a bad meal. The food is not fancy or pretencious, just good local cooking by the team.
However what makes the experience are the friendly and courteous staff.
A young lady called Julie has been there since day one, and doesn't look a day older, and is the most pleasant people I have met. The restaurant attracts locals who come back time after time, but also first timers who get the same, excellant service. Well done to everyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuperDave3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    9
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
303 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have been visiting the Villa Margherita twice a year for the past 20 years. I don't think that the interior has ever changed during that time, the owners seem to have found a winning formula that works without any need for alterations/modernisation. The owners and staff are always very friendly and do seem to know most of the customers on a personal basis, which indicates that people just keep coming back.
The menu offers a good choice, with the addition of a specials board. On this visit as previous visits the food was very well cooked, the portion size for the starter (Squid) was huge, it would have easily passed off as a main course. I normally have a pizza but decided on this occasion to opt for the sirloin steak, it was cooked to perfection and I would say above average size for the price.
On the whole very good value for money for 3 courses each and a carafe of the house red wine. Staff are always very attentive and the service prompt.
Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank milligan1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Level Contributor
151 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Our regular treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Been loads of time we know the owners well but my review will be unbiased. If you want a good choice made in front of you you can,t beat here the fish (sea bass especially is really delicious) as is the steaks good portions and well presented it isn't,t fancy food just good .Barbara, makes the bread every day and her pitta,s beat anyone's really!, there is always a specials board one of my son in law,s favourite is grilled squid it,s mine also .Margaret makes the pasta and they are as good as any in uk some people complain that the menu doesn't change that,s untrue especially with the specials board the prices don't change for ages so I think it's good value .the sweets are great if you can find space they don,t open Mondays and during the week you can usually get a place the people have been since the beginning( they developed the restaurant from an old shop they have been here more than 25 years so thet speaks for its self?) try it you will not be disappointed ps. They also do proper coffee fron an espresso machine if you speak Spanish that's good one of the owners is from la Palma canarie Dariell the final partner is the main chef Bob he,s half Greek . A truly Mediterranean restaurant do try it.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank franny59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“distinctly average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have eaten here three times in total and find it just very average. The last time we ate there we were a party of 7 and felt very crammed in, it was uncomfortable with little leg room and table legs etc making sitting comfortably very difficult.

Helpful?
Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripponden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Like being on holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went here with my family in September after seeing it full every weekend. We had 4 mains, side, 4 desserts, soft drinks/wine and 1 after dinner liquor. Came to around £60.

Location: Excellent location in the heart of Ripponden with on street parking.

Venue/Atmosphere: Lovely 'taverna' style restaurant which had the elements of dining abroad. Decor is understated but welcoming. They had lovely Greek music playing in keeping with the Mediterranean theme. Atmosphere is friendly and sociable. Lots of room but not over packed.

Food: Nice choice of Mediterranean food, but not too much to make you think that it's not freshly prepared. Between us we had a pizza, Greek lamb kebab, Haddock and pasta. All were very tasty and good proportioned. Desserts were also delicious.

Service: Very friendly service; not too over bearing but welcoming and interested. One could tell that the staff were genuinely happy, which shows through the food, the service and the atmosphere. It had the air of a 'family run' business, not this corporate, rigid hospitality one can find in other venues. The staff were keen to upsell, but like I said, not overbearing. The helped to sing 'Happy Birthday' for a family member and really got involved in helping us to celebrate. The service really made the evening.

Cleanliness: Front of house was very clean, and from what I could see of the open plan kitchen, that was clean and tidy too. Didn't use the toilets so cannot really comment on them, although going off the rest of the venue, I'm sure they're immaculate too.

Value: Excellent value for money for what we had. Going off some of the prices of other local venues, they could charge a lot more but thankfully they don't!

Overall: I will definitely be frequenting Villa Margherita; mainly for food quality, service and value. I 100% recommend this venue for all sorts of dining (intimate dinner/parties/etc.) I genuinely cannot think of any fault; it's no wonder this place always seems so full!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa margherita also viewed

Ripponden, Sowerby Bridge
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Rishworth, West Yorkshire
Ripponden, Sowerby Bridge
 
Rishworth, West Yorkshire
Ripponden, Sowerby Bridge
 

Been to Villa margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing