We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Worth a visit. Near the Piece Hall and Calderdale industrial museum

It was an interesting place to visit. It has a cafe and a gift shop. The volunteer are all very... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
colwynbay2017
,
London, United Kingdom
Historically worth a visit

Wonderful place to venture into, just a short walking distance from the historical Piece Hall. An... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Andrew H
via mobile
Read all 187 reviews
  
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
127
51
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
127
51
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parish church steeped in history the stained glass windows well worth a visit friendly volunteers lovely church light a candle informed guide christmas eve quick look lots of history interesting building points of interest great architecture information boards gift shop piece hall
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 187 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2019

During our weekend visit to Halifax we parked the car very close to the minster and had a quick walk around the outside unfortunately we did not venture inside due to timing issues, we clashed with a service. However the building shows the ravages of time and grime and would benefit from a clean up and by all accounts the inside is very impressive, maybe next time.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank mrmudd_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

Halifax as a town is perplexing. In some ways it reminds me of Glasgow (where I grew up) where somewhere in the 1970's and 1980's the traffic engineerings took over. Also, it has to be said that some of the modern building developments are pretty awful, though there are recent bright spots in the new library and addition to Piece Hall.

Again, like Glasgow, Halifax has lost its industry - in this case wool and weaving - but, as Glasgow still has its cathedral, darkened with the soot and grime of age, Halifax has its Minster.

It's a gritty building on the outside, but with the most wonderful gargoyles. As we arrived and parked near Piece Hall on a Sunday morning, it was a delight to hear the Minster bells ringing across the town. As we approached after spending a little time in Piece Hall, the Minster was silent, but then the organ burst into the introduction to 'All Things Bright and Beautiful', followed by on congregation. On a sunny spring day, it was really uplifting.

Obviously, we could not visit the Minster until the service ended, and there is much to see inside but, for me, the real joy was the Minster today still a centre of the community, the inspiration of the music, and the warmth and northern friendliness of the people we spoke to.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

I'm not religious, but I love religious architecture, this is an absolute must and a pleasure to see, highly recommended and the guides are well worth waiting for.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 896jemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

Halifax has so many great attractions and this is one of them. This used to be a parish church, but is very worthy of it's minster status. You can do the Minster and the Industrial Museum in one visit to the area, as they are a stone's throw from each other. Very close to the station too.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank TheSpeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2019

I went to the Monster to remember a colleague who had died,she was taken back to her home town for her funeral but the Monster very kindly opened one of their chapels as a place to go and remember her and light a candle,a very nice gesture

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank _jkmitchellsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews