We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night of pure hell”
Review of Halifax Hotel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halifax Hotel Inn
Ranked #12 of 15 Halifax B&B and Inns
Scarriff, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A night of pure hell”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

From the moment I entered the front door I realised this place did not resemble the on-line hotel I had booked. If there was an award for clever photography this place won hands down. The best part was leaving. You enter 3doors before you get to a stairwell. at the top of the stairs is the reception or for want of a better description an office through a serving hatch. OK the receptionist was present but you wouldn't know he was a worker, cleaner or just a passer-by. No uniform and well the ensemble of all the staff throughout our stay was deplorable. Given the keys to our first room we opened the door to what can only be called a walk in fridge. Cold more like sub zero. trying to close the door and you realised it was hanging off its hinges.
Cleanliness carpets you wiped your feet on leaving the room rather than on entering.
Windows that had more draft than a weatherspoons pub. Looking out of the window through the grime you spied an old milk carton with its contents half gone amonst the cigarette ends of previous occupants who have obviously flouted the no smoking rules or failing that the were left over from an era before the ban.
We complained about the cold and were assured the system was on a timer and was due on in minutes. So we waited coats on in hope. Eventually an hour later we requested a room change.
Change of room to room 2 oh the heat was heaven but the room was in a worse mess than the first room. But the heat we accepted the change just for the heat.
We started to unpack but when we saw the condition of the cupboards and draws we lived out of our bag.
We then went out for a meal and there are a lot of places near by to eat and drink a plus point. Fed and watered we returned to find the heating not working. So again we complained only to find the reception smelt like a take away and the staff eating an evening meal. Don't they have staff facilities? Heating restored (they turn it off as you leave knowing you will be back, can you believe that? )
In short the room had a window with no handle. UPVC double glazed half open at one end totally ineffective against the drafts and during the night boy did you feel it? oh yes ! they turned the heating off and the bed is right next to the window.....
The carpets had more stains than the previous room. The walls were holed and partially filled with polyfilla. the bedside cabinet was so marked and stained with draws that matched. The wardrobe had holes, screws and nails poking through so mind your fingers and a back that was hanging off. The DVD player mentioned in the description was non existent. Radiators had boggies on it a wet-wipe cleaned them off. A lovely looking bathroom was spoiled by the fact the toilet had excrement on the seat and bowl. Mind you the loo roll

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dunc995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    4
    8
    9
See reviews for
6
4
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had to find somewhere cheap to stay as we were attending a friend's house party and needed a bed. This was the nearest hotel; ten minutes walk from our friend's house. The hotel was a good price, but it became obvious why once we crossed the threshold. The place was clearly lacking in love, in thought, in attention, in cleanliness. Our next clue came when we paid in advance at reception and we were handed the precious remote control for the tv. I was bewildered by this. The corridors were straight out of the 1970s. The room was foisty and it was very obvious that human waste had been passed there. The headboard of the bed was broken, the walls were tatty, the wallpaper was ripped, the curtains were ridiculous, unlined and the huge window looked straight into a neon lit street with three Indian restaurants. There was only one very meagre pillow each, it was winter and there was only a thin quilt on the bed. We were freezing in the night and didn't dare have a shower. Still frozen in the morning, we handed the remote in and left as quickly as we could. Next time, we'll pay a few pounds more and stay somewhere that is at least clean and warm...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dancred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Myself and partner who lives in Lincolnshire stayed at the hotel Saturday 30th November 2013, and i wished I'd taken the time to read the reviews before i booked.
Boy everything the reviews say is soooooo correct.. Terrible place......smells, cheap beds, nothing matches, plain and above all not welcoming.
It used to be Milans Wine Bar & Hotel years ago and it was class. These present owners haven't got a clue how to run and maintain a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brenda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Its a long one, sorry, but worth a read!!

Where do I start?. Well as soon as we arrived in this so called hotel the first thing we noticed was the smell, hard to explain but not very nice, The manager booked us in and handed us 2 keys and the accompanying remotes for the tv's. The first room was terrible, the decor was horrendous, paint scraped off the walls, curtains were filthy and ill-fitting, the room hadn't been hoovered, no soap etc etc, at this point we decided we better check the other room, only to find it was far far worse. The curtains (which were still drawn, and splattered with god knows what) were ripped. There was also what looked like dried saliva running down the walls. The only picture on the wall looked like someone had punched clean through it. The carpet was in 2 separate sections and covered in about 2 weeks worth of detritus, light switches were cracked, the polystyrene ceiling was stained and broken so at this point we decided to leave, this is when the real problems started.
We approached the manager at reception again and explained politely the issues, and that we would not be staying, he did offer us alternative rooms but politely refused. He offered us a refund but explained the owner would have to authorise it. We had a three year old with us who was getting restless as we had traveled all the way from Scotland overnight, but we waited all the same.
Eventually the owner showed up and rather than addressing us, rudely began to exchange blows with the manager, when she did finally talk to us she was rude and unsympathetic, demanding to know what was wrong with the room. As I had taken pictures of one of the rooms i showed her exactly what was wrong. This seemed to ruffle her feathers, at this point the little fella had an accident. We explained that all we wanted was a refund and we would be on her way, This is when the Card machine allegedly broke and we were told to come back later for a refund, she showed us a bit of paper on which she had written down our credit card details and security code and said she would put it through later!! I demanded that she destroyed the details and we would wait.
We went and sat in the dining room and about 20 mins later the Manager came through to say that we would need to come back in an hour, i explained that we werent too happy about all the messing about to his reply "for gods sake man, its only £71 quid"..
Exhausted we decided to leave and come back as requested in an hour. My partner left me and the 3 year old in the local wetherspoons to go confirm the refund, only to be greeted by the owners husband this time, We believe that the delay was so the husband could take over. He proceeded to try and belittle and blackmail my partner! Telling her she would only get a refund if she deleted the pictures! eventually the refund was given and my partner returned somewhat upset.
We complained to bookings.com who advised us that the hotel had emailed them saying we had not shown up! (obviously trying to get paid for the 2 rooms and avoid the commission)

My advice stay well clear of this establishment. The online pictures are not the standard of the rooms,and the staff are absolutely digraceful, be warned!

Room Tip: go to the travellodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K1wiscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was a cheap hotel booked for a working weekend. It was very cheap £25 night for room only so some would say I shouldn't moan.
The entrance warned me that this was going to be a serious budget hotel it was not exactly inviting or very clean. Receptionist was lovely and I explained that I was working night shift and would appreciate a quiet room !
Room 105 1st floor, no lift, right above the Indian Restaurant and Bar. The carpet had some white stains on it - I hate to think !!, the walls and ceiling were marked. The curtains were hanging off and didn't fit the window so when you pulled them there was a gap and they were so thin they were a waste of time. The largest window had a fab view of Witherspoons (undress in the bathroom). By this time I'm freaking out as I dare not pull the bedding back but that's when the suprise came. The white linen was expensive and spotless, the towels were thick and fluffy so I realised I could actually sleep without worrying that I'd have 'itchy' bits.
There was a flat screen TV which actually worked.
There was free tea and coffee which was a bonus as I paid next to nothing for the room.
It was a little unsettling as I was there on my own but I shouldn't have worried as everyone was very nice, helpful and supportive.
2 minutes walk from Witherspoons, shops and several fab Indian Resturants.
The water was hot in the bathroom.
Shame really that they can't get their act together this could have been a decent hotel.
But as the saying goes you only get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Don't bother unless you are really short of money there are much better hotels and accommodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polly54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

After what seemed like hundreds of stairs and no lifts, we arrived to find there was no power, trying to get the key into the lock took 15 minutes. Limited towels, no bath mat, shower head holder was broke so my partner had to hold onto it whilst she washed her hair and shaved her legs. You can see damp in the wallpaper and hear when people come out of their rooms as the doors slam. Walls are paper thin and you can hear people showering in the next room

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_dutchman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel could not be faulted.There has been a lot of mixed reviews but we totally enjoyed our stay'From manager to the staff everybody was friendly and welcoming.The room was clean and tidy.Breakfast was good and service was excellent.The hotel is close to town Center and close to train station.We will recommend this hotel to our friends and family and we will be back. ;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lumaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.5 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
213 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Hotel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Hotel Inn

Property: Halifax Hotel Inn
Address: 6-8 Carlton Place, Halifax HX1 2SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Hotel Class:2 star — Halifax Hotel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Halifax Hotel Inn is located in the heart of Halifax's town centre. We offer comfortable, individually styled en-suite rooms with LCD TV, free internet access (Wi-Fi) and simple continental breakfast for additional £5 (kids eat free). All rooms are en-suite with either a bath or shower. Halifax Hotel Inn is family friendly hotel, provides 4 large family rooms for 2 adults and 1-2 children. Also as a only hotel in Halifax area we offer TRIPLE room with 3 single beds for min 3 adults. Halifax Hotel Inn has a great location, in the centre of Halifax, within easy reach of the main roads and just 500 hundred meters from the railway station and 400 meters from bus station. In our premises our guests can enjoy Indian cuisine in Syhiba restaurant which offers over 50 meals in buffet menu and soft, hot and alcohol drinks in the opening soon own bar in Breakfast room area.The hotel is an ideal base for business & worker travelers for Halifax and surrounding areas, ideal location for a weekend visit for the theatres & nightlife of Halifax centre, or a family shopping or sightseeing trip to the Yorkshire Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Halifax Hotel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing