We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Thai food, excellent”
Review of Cafe Thai

Cafe Thai
Ranked #8 of 297 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A stylish bar restaurant serving authentic thai cuisine fine wines and asian beers, including the world famous singha beer on draft. Situated 50 yards down the road is our take away where we offer a take away/delivery service.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai food, excellent”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I went last Thursday. I travel past most days and it is often packed, probably due to its size which makes for a very intimate atmosphere. The food is fully authentic Thai cooking unlike many so called Thai restraunts. This is obviously due to the owners wife and staff, all thai. A warm welcome on arrival, prompt attentive service and fantastic authentic food... What more can I say!! You bring your own wine if required. There is an extremely busy take away service provided (the phone seems to ring constantly). We had the 3 course early bird (slightly smaller portions, as stated on the menu, available Mon-Thu). The homemade prawn toast is fantastic as was everything else, including warm bananas in coconut milk for dessert. The bill including 10% tip was just £27!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    62
    21
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing food, service, ambience and staff.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This place is my favourite restaurant ever. Despite its size, the atmosphere that can be created combined with the delicious, authentic Thai food is unreal.
I organised a birthday party for 16 people- we took up the whole place, sat and laughed for 3 hours and walked out with very satisfied stomachs!
The owner and staff were very patient and had a great laugh with us. Thank you again cafe Thai.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bell30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“beautiful!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I can see why all of the community rave about this restaurant it is just gorgeous. We didn't know what to eat so asked the waitress and she knew all the menu and chose perfectly for us! The staff were very friendly and the place is lovely. We will definitely be getting take away at the weekend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Cafe Thai is fantastic. Amazing Thai food at a reasonable price. Book a table if going on a weekend, it gets really busy!!! 5*!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank YorkiePudHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Small in size big in taste”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this establishment on a few occasions to eat in and take away and never been disappointed once.The staff are friendly always a smile and good conversation and great when you take children I admit it is a small restaurant but the atmosphere and food is second to none me and my partner will be returning that's for sure

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Thai also viewed

 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing