We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Fantastic guides, very knowledgeable. Interesting house

The guides were very friendly and informative, which made the visit absolutely fantastic and well... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
jean b
Fascinating country house

I visited mainly due to the positive reviews on here and I'm glad I did, what a fantastic and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
896jemj
,
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 610 reviews
  
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveler rating
411
158
31
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
411
158
31
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anne lister boating lake the barn gentleman jack historic house well worth a visit miniature railway duck pond folk museum dry stone lovely parkland fascinating history car park land train beautiful park children's play area helpful staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 610 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2019

Shibden Hall is well worth a visit if you are in the area. It was built in 1420 and you learn about the various families that owned it over the years, including Anne Lister, the diarist. I found it very interesting seeing how they lived in those days. There is also a park and lake and a cafeteria. We spent an enjoyable few hours there, and I would recommend a visit.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank ReenaR186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

What a beautiful house and gardens , really interesting afternoon there is also a big park and swings etc Firth’s children , tea shop and lots f parking . Tee s also a boating lake and a little ride on ran

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank irenepollyfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Lovely old house surrounded by beautiful gardens, very interesting place to visit if your into history.
Anne Lister once owned and lived here too.
Below Shibden Hall, there is Shibden park which is a great park with a lake where swans and ducks reside, a small train, and also a little train with wheels that travels around the park, the usual swings etc, large grass areas, cafe and carpark.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank gillmarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

We nt to Shibden Hall with a coach party of mainly elderly people.Unfortunately found it to be very unfriendly for people with mobility issues.Long walk from where we were dropped off to the hall and another long walk down to the café.Also inside the hall there were few things to help less able bodied people.On the plus side the afternoon tea we had in the café was very good with boxes being provided to carry away left overs.Also I must mention the two young people who served the tea and coffee.They were a delight.Smiling,patient and cheerful.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 1944traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

This is a wonderful Elizabethan house. Everything is authentic and the house is classed as a museum. The intricate carvings and wood panelings are beautiful. There are easy read information boards in each room telling the history of it. We had a lovely lady join us who gave us even more history and showed us some secret places which was wonderful. There are outbuildings also which show the various crafts of the time and also carriages and carts. Interestingly Antiques Roadtrip made a visit here and Gentleman Jack was also filmed here. Very much deserving of a visit and the entrance fee is only £5 or £4 concessionary.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank LadySurfinRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews