We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing architecture”
Review of The Piece Hall

The Piece Hall
Tokyo
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing architecture”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a real gem in Halifax; the architecture is really impressive and is testament to the importance of the wool trade in the past. Well worth a visit; the staff in the visitor centre were really helpful and knew so much.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Harriet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    44
    86
    19
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely cafe within, great space and fantastic building”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

i really enjoyed the ground level cafe and the friendly staff. the building its self is a fantastic structure and should be made better use of. most shops are empty and there is no longer a market. i understand some major refurbishment is under way so hopeful new life will be driving into the place for a more positive future.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PennineBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Waste of Space”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This used to be a great place to chill out and shop. Now, there is hardly anything there and nothing much happens. When i was younger it was full of quirky and interesting shops but now there's hardly anything open.
It is so tragic as it is such an historic beauty. I think the council are to blame for destroying it.
Worst thing about it, is you have to pay to use the dirty toilets!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank luke g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place for a quiet lunch”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Whilst working in Halifax, I really enjoyed nipping down to the Piece Hall for lunch. It's a nice spot to sit in the sun and read the paper. Could be improved by removing all the other people, but then again, what couldn't?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank P-God G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Boycott peace hall!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Whilst it is true that the peace hall in halifax is a very good place to relax on a hot summers day, it is far from great!!!!
For too many year's the shop spaces have been shabby and the rent has been immensely over priced by the local council, (nothing more than greed!!!!) As a result the shop's that are set up, or rather were before the building works began) are over priced and can not offer value for money. During the summer months special events are held such as a motorbike show whereby people turn up with all sorts of different motorbikes. I myself am not interested in these event's and am offended that I was expected to pay a £5 to enter the peace hall with my girlfriend in order to have breakfast at our usual cafe, that at any other time we could walk straight too with no charge.
If the local council had spent the time and money years ago with the upkeep of the building, bringing the shops up to spec and charging affordable rates for the shop spaces, this new overhaul would not be necessary now! Hell if the place was expensive before any renovation works god only knows how extortionate it will be when it's finally completed!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank dexta35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Piece Hall also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Piece Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing