We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stuff, bit busy....”

Eureka! The National Children's Museum
Ranked #3 of 35 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We're an award-winning children's museum in Halifax, West Yorkshire, with more than 400 interactive exhibits which inspire children aged 0-11 to learn about themselves and the world around them through imagination, discovery and, most importantly, play!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good stuff, bit busy....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time, taking a baby and 2 young children. They found loads to do and our eldest son is a bit of a science geek, so he loved it. The baby found it exciting as well, it was busy, but he did go during the summer holidays do it's to be expected. All in all we had a fun
and it was well priced, wouldn't go every year though.

Helpful?
Thank MancDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    395
    164
    82
    47
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fab family day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Fab! Lots of stuff for little kids to do and see. There are books everywhere so if you have a little one who likes to read its even better!! Cafe was a bit chaotic but portions were generous and online booking is probably a good idea during hols and at weekends. Our daughter loved the lorry!! We've got our year pass so we'll be going back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank gingerpickle26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Fun not education. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

My seven year old was first introduced to this place when he was at nursery,at that time I personally thought this place was a bit advance for a four year old boy.Since then we have visited Eureka three times and on all occasions my son has returned home fully inspired.All about me exhibition is one of it's kind in UK,I only wish there was more science musem designed just for children in UK.

Helpful?
Thank Mohammed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morecambe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

What a fantastic experience for our two year old so much to see and do for kids right up to about 10 year old. Will be making good use of our annual pass. Fantastic value for money. The biggest surprise of all was the food. Was warned to take a picnic but seeing as we left it in the car we chanced it in the cafe. Not dissapointed at all. Average price for top notch homecooked food with generous portions defo worth the money. Would recommend to all. Well done Eureka and all its super friendly staff xxx

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dajayster910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great for young kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Surprisingly good museum, situated in a small town. Impressed with the level of detail and the number of places for kids to roam around. Only place where kids can touch, feel, climb and run riot. The place offers annual pass so for about £11 each you can go all year. That is fantastic, as already thinking of going in during Easter as kids just lived the place.

Also highly educational as well as having fun. Staff were friendly and the place was clean. But please be careful of thieves... We left a baby changing bag with the buggy at a designated buggy park and found that someone (most likely a mother) stole a changing mat from the bag. It was of a good quality and hence the theft. We thought there were plenty of other buggies with bags etc, so had left it. Thankfully, I reminded the wife to remove her purse from the bag before we left it parked there.

Apart from that there is a car park which you gave yo pay £3 for hours which should be enough time. Cafe has limited seating inside, but there is plenty of seating outside and you can even sit in a train carriage with your packed lunch or picnic. The carriage is heated.

So in summary a top place at a reasonable price for young kids, but just be aware of thieving mothers.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank legalabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eureka! The National Children's Museum also viewed

 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Eureka! The National Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing