We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun not education. ”

Eureka! The National Children's Museum
Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We're an award-winning children's museum in Halifax, West Yorkshire, with more than 400 interactive exhibits which inspire children aged 0-11 to learn about themselves and the world around them through imagination, discovery and, most importantly, play!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities
2 reviews
“Fun not education. ”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

My seven year old was first introduced to this place when he was at nursery,at that time I personally thought this place was a bit advance for a four year old boy.Since then we have visited Eureka three times and on all occasions my son has returned home fully inspired.All about me exhibition is one of it's kind in UK,I only wish there was more science musem designed just for children in UK.

Helpful?
Thank Mohammed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    406
    167
    81
    48
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
morecambe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

What a fantastic experience for our two year old so much to see and do for kids right up to about 10 year old. Will be making good use of our annual pass. Fantastic value for money. The biggest surprise of all was the food. Was warned to take a picnic but seeing as we left it in the car we chanced it in the cafe. Not dissapointed at all. Average price for top notch homecooked food with generous portions defo worth the money. Would recommend to all. Well done Eureka and all its super friendly staff xxx

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dajayster910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great for young kids”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Surprisingly good museum, situated in a small town. Impressed with the level of detail and the number of places for kids to roam around. Only place where kids can touch, feel, climb and run riot. The place offers annual pass so for about £11 each you can go all year. That is fantastic, as already thinking of going in during Easter as kids just lived the place.

Also highly educational as well as having fun. Staff were friendly and the place was clean. But please be careful of thieves... We left a baby changing bag with the buggy at a designated buggy park and found that someone (most likely a mother) stole a changing mat from the bag. It was of a good quality and hence the theft. We thought there were plenty of other buggies with bags etc, so had left it. Thankfully, I reminded the wife to remove her purse from the bag before we left it parked there.

Apart from that there is a car park which you gave yo pay £3 for hours which should be enough time. Cafe has limited seating inside, but there is plenty of seating outside and you can even sit in a train carriage with your packed lunch or picnic. The carriage is heated.

So in summary a top place at a reasonable price for young kids, but just be aware of thieving mothers.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank legalabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Avoid with children over 5 (and take a bucket of handwash)”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We visited the museum with our 8 year old son on a Friday during the half term holidays and with regret, have to say it was a wasted day out. Having read about Eureka and how it was aimed at an age group up to 11 years old, we were looking forward to seeing what was inside. Unfortunately with the 20 minute wait to get in queueing against the large window, all we could see was bedlam with the floor space literally covered in families eating packed lunches. We thought maybe it was just a busy picnic area and eventually duly paid quite a high entrance fee in the hope that we would see the exhibits while everyone was having lunch. Boy we were wrong!! The entire museum was scarily full...and every available free space appeared to be full of someone eating. When we managed to shuffle (and shuffling is the only way you can navigate the overcrowded walkways) into the various zones only to be presented with dirty, broken displays that were over run with screaming toddlers. Nothing seemed to work properly sadly, and the whole "interactive" experience was completely lost. The staff seemed stressed, tired and overwhelmed...and i cant really blame them. There was an enormous queue for the ladies toilet and trying to get into the little M&S would, quute frankly, have been dangerous. It was a mad house. We ploughed on for another 20 minutes and after being shoved out the way one time too many by rude parents and children decided to escape and cut our loses (where we anti-bacced our hands liberally!) Its really for younger children and toddlers ( key stage 1 age at the most) and no, we wont be using our annual pass to return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank LDLC220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieatEureka, Web & Media Manager at Eureka! The National Children's Museum, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi LDLC220 and thanks for visiting us recently with your family though, of course, I wish that your visit had been more enjoyable. We can get incredibly busy during February half-term and we therefore try to ensure that visitors are forewarned of the numbers and that they are aware of advice such as; arriving at opening time(10am) or after 2pm; visiting on sunny days as we are generally busier if the weather is bad; booking online to avoid the queue and bringing a packed lunch. That said, we really aren’t trying to make excuses and are going to be undertaking a review shortly to look at how we deal with the crowds during these busy periods, and how we can better ensure that everyone’s time at Eureka! is enjoyable, educational and FUN.
You say that you won’t be using your pass to return, but we’d really love the opportunity to change your mind about us. Hopefully then you’ll be able to understand why so many of our other reviews rate us as “Very Good” or “Excellent”. It won’t cost you a penny with your annual pass and we’d love another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Went there with our two children (2.5y and 3w old!). Our daughtet loved it. Loads to do and interact with. We were there for 3 hours - enough to keep her amused.

Admission for the 4 of us was about £25 and gives admission for a whole year.

Food is pricey. Next time we would take food with us as there is loads of indoor pinic space.

Definitely worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank YouKnowItLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eureka! The National Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Eureka! The National Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing