We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous at the Maypole”
Review of The Maypole Inn

The Maypole Inn
Ranked #16 of 370 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very popular, and we had to book, very busy, but organised, table ready, good choice on the menu, early bird available, food freshly cooked and piping hot, excellent value, well worth a visit

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank dianebranford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The restaurant was busy and gently humming with conversations when we got there but our table was ready.
We both ordered Onion Bhaji’s to start.
They were great, crisp on the outside, soft and tender on the inside. Full of great flavours.
I had scampi for main, companion had mixed kebab.
Both great dishes, well cooked and well presented.
We had desert and coffee.
I had home made apple and blueberry crumble with custard, It was lovely.
Companion had sticky toffee pudding.
The staff were great, knowledgeable, attentive and helpful.
All in all a great evening out.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank AndrewHowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great service wonderful food what a fantastic place to enjoy a family lunch or other occasion eat here wonderful

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank declank2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

We haven't been here for a few years, but we went as a family , for a Tuesday night the place was well attended with a good vibe. Staff friendly and polite. We were seated quickly in the upstairs restaurant . Service was good. Tues is Pie + a drink night, the food was awesome. I had the chicken and mushroom pie with a puff pastry top, the filling was fresh rich and creamy, served with chunky chips. We also sampled the Beef roast dinner, the vegetarian pie and burger, all good but my son would have preferred the burger in a traditional bun , not Ciabatta.

All in all a good night and prices are reasonable. Compliments to the chef and staff.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hutchy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019 via mobile

Had a delicious birthday meal here with my family. We had the fresh fish Friday which I would highly recommend. The house Merlot is delicious too!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maypole Inn also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Maypole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing