We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The New Hobbit(Sowerby Bridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveler rating
151
172
67
34
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
172
67
34
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno lifttrain stationlocation is excellentprawn cocktailbit datedpiece hallcar parktown centreflights of stairssunday lunchbar and restaurantfree parkingbreakfast was excellentan upgradean updatebiscuitslovely hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
422 - 427 of 445 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2010

The reception is a wood panelled room with a warm welcome from the receptionist. It sets a good first impression. Free hotel parking is a 1 minute walk away (which you will need to revisit to put the note in your car window to keep the clampers away), and was never full whilst I stayed. The strength of this hotel lies in the staff who were consistently attentive and very pleasant throughout my stay. The rooms and venue, without doubt, are in need of some serious modernisation with the carpet throughout reminincent of that which was in your grandparents house. The mahogany-veneer chipboard furniture in the room is from a slightly more recent era, as is the grey bathroom suite with mixer bath/shower tap - which thankfully does provide plenty of hot water to the shower head. The bed was comfortable. If you need to iron any creased clothing, be entertained with the 'there is an ironing board somewhere on every floor' game or cheat and collect the first one you see on any floor, as I guess everyone else does. When you need it, it seems a board is as rare as chickens teeth. Why oh why we are supplied a trouser press instead of an iron and board escapes me. The breakfast is hearty. The 3 course fixed-price dinner menu was no frills and I'd recommend you go for the bar menu instead. That way you can also watch the tv in the bar instead of sitting in the restaurant listening to the very loud music everytime the kitchen door opens. So, the hotel needs to spend some serious funds but in the meantime the staff should make your stay more than bearable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wessex_Moonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

Having read previous reviews, I'm having difficulty comparing them to the hotel I've just spent two nights at. Yes, the inside is surprisingly winding along the corridors, but you just follow the signs. The carpets are fine throughout and not threadbare, and my twin room was a decent size and the bathroom was clean. I'd happily return. The car park is across the road about 100m away, but theres no shortage of space there. For the price and the location, it's very good value.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank wisebede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We have stayed at the Imperial Crown many times over the past 7 years. It is convenient for the town centre and public transport. The en-suite rooms are comfortable although some are smallish and some do need redecoration. There is a pleasant bar area. The hotel has good catering, especially for breakfast, and friendly, helpful staff on the whole .
Its failings are a lack of organisation. On our last visit we were charged at the wrong rate because no one had looked at our central booking in detail. As a result, our room was about the farthest away from reception despite requesting a room as close as possible because of my wife’s disability. There is no lift and that is not a declared limitation of the hotel – again a reflection of the poor management. On the last trip, a serious problem was the preferential treatment given to a coach trip staying at the hotel and we were expected to dine communally with the trip and suffer the chaos. If a wedding is due then beware because organisation just falls apart.
We will continue to stay here since overall its benefits far outweigh its problems.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BensonDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

The Imperial Crown is well located opposite the train station and close to the high street. Plus, the price is decent and the breakfast not bad. Those are the only redeeming factors.

The rooms are a nightmare - take ages to find, down winding corridors and multiple flights of stairs (we were on the "first" floor) and are claustrophobically small, with creaking floor boards and windows that are not double glazed. Plus, they look like they have not been done up since WW1 or something!! Spent 2 sleepless nights listening to the traffic outside (even though there is almost no traffic in Halifax at night) and other guests walking up and down the corridors. The creaking and noise from outside the rooms seems to get amplified by the time it reaches inside - at one point, I could hear the person in the next room go to the toilet at 1am!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
44  Thank SidMehlwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Was told food not defrosted yet. Food was eventually unedible.
Room was smaller than a 4 man tent.
Room was dirty like one would expect a prison.
Shower was around 6.2ft Im 6.3ft (an issue)
Staff not overally helpful,
Dont stay here under under circs.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cubafan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews