We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a weekend exploring Yorkshire - Halifax is great too!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Needed a place to lay the head for a weekend away for Mother's Day, with my mother. Plan was to hire a car and spend the day exploring the Dales. We chose Imperial Crown because we'd stayed at Corus Hotels before and our stays have always been no fuss, comfortable and the food great in the restaurants. Full English Breakfast thrown in doesn't hurt either!

Loved the fact that we were staying in an historic old Coach House! The place really has a lot of character and the interior is charming. The beds were super comfy, the staff lovely. Couldn't really ask for more.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aurora l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 434 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

we stayed here as we got a good deal on net didn't look much from outside but is a listed building bar and dining room worth a look the room was clean and nice biggest bath i have ever seen you could swim in it no complaints at all staff were so nice my new husband wasn't too well and missed breakfast which was lovely they made him a very light lunch so kind wasn't too impressed with halifax but hotel good value if you need to go very handy for the train station and dinner was nice not great choice but we enjoyed the food we had no lift

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the imperial crown for 5 nights for work.

The location is excellent - you can walk everywhere from here. Boots, WH Smiths and Tesco just around the corner too.
I was lucky as I was in a large room - however it did look onto a busy road and building so when I was in the room I generally had to keep my curtains closed.
The room was clean and ok.

Bathroom was hideous - Gray bathroom suite with a noisy fan and I didn't have a shower screen - it was a make shift curtain on the wire you use for hanging wet stuff on. It was too long and blocked the plug and was a real accident waiting to happen. Management need to get this fixed as it is a health and safety issue.

Restaurant was nice - good was lovely and the staff really personable and lovely too.
Breakfast was good - good selection and hotel breakfast could be ordered.

Staff were really nice in the hotel and really went out the way to help you - particularly matt in the restaurant.

The hotel has so much potential but def needs a refurb.
After 3 nights I had had enough and couldn't wait to get home. I would def choose this hotel again - for a night or 2 but longer than that I would need more facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarahjane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here st patricks weekend and found the hotel very nice. we never ate in the hotel as the prices around the town are a lot cheaper, the rooms were small but clean the staff were nice too.The hotel is old but everything you need for short stay, also there is no lift, If your staying in Halifax then this hotel is near everything the station is directly across from the hotel. If we had known it was so near then we might have booked the train, we got a taxi from manchester airport however i would look up ziggys taxis before you arrive and book them as they are half the price of the airport taxis. We didnt do any sight seeing while we were there but if i was going back again, i would look up some attractions.

Room Tip: Look for a room away from the TAXI rank outside as they are a bit loud at night, our room was facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bren085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Visited here in march 2012 just for one night. It is directly across the road from Halifax train station so you cant get lost or wont need to pay for a cab to get you there. As for the hotel the room i.e a standard double was large and had modern decor. Flat screen tv with free view. Tea and coffee with choc chip cookies were complimentary in the room. The bed was lovely to sleep in....very comfortable......Downstairs there is a bar/restaurant which is very quirky. I really liked it. It has grand radiators decorated how you would expect in a palace ie, gold patterns painted on them........just small things that make it feel quite posh.........the staff were very friendly throughout.......I didn't eat there only because I wanted to explore the area, but when I came back there was a man who I overheard had eaten there for a few nights and you therefore assume the food was very nice......he was scoffing it down anyway...........For a measly £55 I would definitely stay here again......

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westernexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The Imperial was our base for touring the Dales and York etc. The hotel was pretty old,but really charming.The room was comfortable and warm,and the food was excellent.The staff were friendly and helpful. What more can I say?

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be of the same standard. Mealtime discussions with other guests would bear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashleyrobjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Right by the railway station and Eureka the location makes the Imperial a good choice if you're on holiday in the Halifax area. The hotel is traditional and a little dark with all the wood and dark paint schemes giving it a slightly austere feel. My room was way to hot and took an age to cool down. The shower room was disappointing with a rickety square standalone cubicle. I get frustrated in many independent hotels as they insist on providing you with postage stamp sized towels which is frustrating if your over six foot and enjoy the good life a little too much! The bed was comforatble but pillows terribly thin. The breakfast was above average. Overall, for a budget price the hotel was ok - I've paid more and got the same. Don't expect to much and it'll be fine for you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trowster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnMasonHalifax, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Thank you for your helpful input. As always, all comments are much appreciated as they assist management to maintain and, of course, improve standards,
Best regards,
John Mason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
398 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Crown Hotel

Address: The Imperial Crown Hotel 42-46 Horton Street, Halifax HX1 1QE, England (Formerly Imperial Crown Corus Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $47 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Crown Hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Halifax. Situated opposite Halifax Railway Station and The Eureka Children's Museum. The Victoria Theatre, Square Chapel, Piece Hall; plus other local attractions are all in close proximity. Making us a great choice for both Business and Leisure stays. The hotel offers a range of 41 bedrooms spread over 5 floors. All rooms are en suite with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, television with free view channels, direct dial telephone, FREE Wi-Fi, FREE parking and a 24-hour reception and bar service. The Imperial Crown Bar & Restaurant offers Breakfast plus a wide range of meals, snacks and refreshments all available throughout the day, to both residents and non-residents. Our menu incorporates some truly mouth-watering British classics, all fresh and cooked to order. The iconic Archives Suite provides an excellent choice for Weddings, Private Functions and Conferences. Directions: Join the M62, and exit at J24. Take the A629 to Halifax, and follow the signs for Eureka Children's Museum and the railway station. The hotel is opposite the railway station. Our car park is located on the opposite side of the road, a permit will need to be displayed in your vehicle; which can be collected from our reception. Leeds Bradford International Airport is about 38 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Crown Corus Halifax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing