We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveler rating
5
3
0
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
5
3
0
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 12 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2019

Pre-booked a table at the Restaurant on a Tuesday night. Arrived to an empty restaurant and a very quiet hotel.

The bar man was lovely and showed us to our table (we had the pick of the place with it being empty,) then he brought us the menu over.

We had been on the website during the day, and reviewed their amazing selection of foods, and already decided what we were eating, so imagine our disappointment when the menu we were handed had a choice of 2 starters, 3 mains and no puddings, not the original exciting menu we had viewed online.

The barman then advised that actually, one of the starters wasn't available and there was no steak, meaning we had 2 dishes to choose from for our main.

At this point, we had already ordered our drinks. No diet coke, or soda water as the machine wasnt working, so we had a choice of lemonade or coca cola. We opted for a large lemonade each.

Once we discovered the menu wasnt the same as the online version, and we were restricted for choice, we decided to go elsewhere. We drank our drinks and went to pay. Having watched the barman pour our drinks from a bottle of lemonade, I was a little miffed in the knowledge I would have to pay £1.50 or so, but never mind.
Went to pay, and was charged £3 per drink! Nearly fell on the floor!!!

All in all, a very disappointing trip. Not to mention expensive!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 402winifreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alistair2906, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit to The Rock we are undergoing a kitchen refurbishment and changing the products on the bar. We are not currently taking midweek bookings off non hotel guests as we are offering a smaller version of our menu to this work is completed. It was an error on our online system that allowed you to book and we have explained this all direct to you.
The sugar tax imposed by the UK government is the reason full fat soft drinks are now more expensive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2019

Today my husband and myself went for afternoon tea and the food was beautifully presented with lots of choice and very tasty the young staff that served were delightful and really made us feel special we highly recommend and will visit again and tell all our friends about the wonderful experience

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019 via mobile

I have been visiting this hotel for four years now.i love this hotel.
Rooms are always spotless
Lovely bedding,towels,always plenty of hot water.An amazing location.
Lovely grounds with a Babbling Brook.The staff are outstanding and nothing is ever too much trouble.
Great Gins in the bar and tasty food served in the restaurant. I have stayed at the Rock Hotel at least 10 times.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019 via mobile

We ordered prawn cocktail for starter and beef roast dinner for the main course. There is a choice of 1, 2 or 3 meats. We selected a choice of 1 and you got 3 decent thick slices; there was definitely enough along with 5 different vegetables including the fluffy roast potatoes not forgetting a large Yorkshire to top it off.

Lovely lunch, excellent customer service and pleasant eating area. Definitely recommended and we will return again.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Nichola335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019

Had a beautiful lunch today with the family. Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff. The restaurant was busy when we arrived and we were pleasantly surprised with the new décor and menu. We were shown to our table and within no time at all drinks arrived and or order was taken. When our food arrived it was delicious and plentiful. The roast potatoes were quite honestly the best I have ever eaten. The beef was so tender I could of cut it with a spoon. A great afternoon for all ! The bill came and I was pleasantly surprised how reasonable it was. We would like to thank all the staff who made our day that extra special with it being a family members special birthday. We will be back for sure.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lord-brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews