We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Probably like others we decided to try this hotel having seen it featured in a TV drama. The location was slightly disappointing in a nondescript suburb of Halifax but the hotel itself and front garden are very impressive (there is also a pleasant inner courtyard which proved a nice sun trap to have a pre-dinner drink). Comfortably furnished common areas with more than adequate bedrooms (although hanging space in the minuscule depth wardrobes was very limited). Probably the outstanding feature is the welcoming and attentive staff. Without exception all we met were friendly and professional. Breakfast selection was comprehensive and we found the 3 evening meals we enjoyed were good quality and well presented (although I personally felt had we stayed longer than 3 nights, the menu might have proved a bit limited).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-Wendy-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear John-Wendy-B thank you for staying at Holdsworth House recently. We are glad that the BBC's Last Tango in Halifax has helped put our historic hotel on the map and that your time spent here was thoroughly enjoyed. We hope that you'll return again soon as there are many wonderful places to visit and easily accessible nearby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
There are newer reviews for Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 879 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

I have just returned from a night away at this completely stunning Hotel, what an amazing experience. The actual building, which is truly magical, is one thing.... the food very impressive, the suite we stayed in fabulous, relaxed and homely ambiance but the way guests are greeted and treated by the staff was very much the highlight. What a fabulous collection of staff you have.
Having watched Last Tango In Halifax, I needed to know where that beautiful hotel was, I'm so glad I found it. Thank you all so much for a very memorable stay.

Room Tip: The only thing that could've been better was that the Cocktails pictured on the website should...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiem8y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you Katiem8ty for your review. (Thanks also go to Red Production Company and writer Sally Wainwright for writing Holdsworth House into the Last Tango in Halifax show). We are pleased you found the hotel and it lived up to your expectations, we hope you'll return soon Perhaps to visit Happy Valley aka Hebden Bridge and the setting for Sally Wainwright's TV new show - the actors stayed here during filming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The building and grounds are beautiful but while eating the wedding meal one of the head staff were clearly overheard commenting ;this is a four star hotel not a McDonalds.. Guests had arrived from U.S.A and Germany to attend and did not need to hear that. Many of the guests had to leave the lamb on their plates as it was uneatable being tough and uncooked.. This place would like to choose its guests..dissapointing

Room Tip: Find somewhere else
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Drake D, thank you for your review of your wedding meal. We are pleased that you loved our historic setting but disappointed that you did not feel you could award us five stars on this occasion. We take all feedback seriously and are investigating your complaint re the locally-sourced lamb, which we usually serve slightly pink and is one of our most requested wedding dishes. We would be very grateful if you could send us your details and further information on the matter so that we can ensure every guest leaves 100% satisfied in future and with a view to returning. Please send your details to info@holdsworthhouse.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I've never written a review on trip advisor but after one of my best friends lovely wedding we went to at Holdsworth House, I thought i'd have a go! Just really want to say how great all the staff were and it was such a special day. This is a really beautiful place to stay, I wish we'd had longer than just one night! The bed was so comfortable I never wanted to leave! Our room was small but really pretty. I specially loved the gardens too. So pretty and it all looked amazing in the sunshine. It was a really magic time and I hope I get a chance to go back! Thanks. Stacey.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, General Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Stacey B,

WOW! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about the wedding you attended. It means so much to the team and we are happy that you enjoyed the beautiful house.

We hope very much that we can welcome you back in the future for another magical experience.

Remember the best way to book is direct, all our offers are on our website and our team can be contacted directly on 01422 240024.

Warm regards

Richard Christie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The public rooms are charming with a number of different seating areas. There is an air of faded glory in terms of the furniture. The room I was allocated did not look anything special but on closer inspection there were a number of thoughtful additions such as an ironing board and iron (useful for those attending a wedding), good quality biscuits, and a face cloth as well as the usual toiletries. The wedding breakfast I had was excellent. Despite there being 70 guests, the food was served piping hot and the vegetables with the main course were al dente. The sticky toffee pudding was one of the best I had tasted. The wine service was good. Later on in the evening after the disco there were bacon and sausage sandwiches served. A disappointment considering how good lunch had been as the bread rolls were poor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, General Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Lynne B,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us, we are glad you found the house and grounds to be beautiful. Your feedback about your room is appreciated and overall I am glad you had such an enjoyable stay. We will certainly look in to the quality of the rolls we serve on our wedding buffets, hopefully on your next visit with us you could sample our Restaurant as I'm sure you will be suitably impressed.

Kind Regards

Richard Christie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our recent stay at Holdsworth house was as always a pleasure. The staff were all charming and extremely pleasant and couldn't be more helpful or well trained. The food was wonderful - of the highest standard. The main house areas and garden were lovely - well kept and with plenty of space to find a corner to quiet corner to relax in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliroberts2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, General Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Aliroberts2014,

Thank you so very much for your kind comments about the hotel and the team here at Holdsworth House, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Remember the best way to book is direct, all our offers are on our website and our team can be contacted directly on 01422 240024.

Warm regards

Richard Christie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed on a Last Tango in Halifax package, upon arrival the room we were allocated smelt of smoke so we were moved to a pretty designed room at the end of the corridor upstairs, tiny but everything we needed was there. The room was very clean and the housekeeper very professional in moving us. We had included in the package a small afternoon tea but was asked when we checked in if we wanted to upgrade to a full afternoon tea for extra cost, we agreed but when we sat down we were told we couldn't have the full afternoon tea as chef couldn't cope with this and a wedding. We insisted and they agreed to do this, although we would have at least a half an hour wait. The afternoon tea when it arrived was lovely but other people in the room weren't served theirs and walked out after an hour. We upgraded dinner also to a tasting menu, this was really excellent and the amount was perfect. The only downside to dinner was the 30th birthday party in a private room. They walked through the dining room to get to the bar, which didn't make for a relaxing atmosphere. Our bedroom was directly above the private party also and as the room didn't have a bar people were going out every few minutes and the banging of the door meant i got practically no sleep. Once the party had finished at 1am the night porter started to clean the room until 4am. I did complain and received £50 off the bill but having hardly any sleep wasn't much fun. Breakfast was good but overall I think mid week breaks would be better as the staff seem to struggle with having a wedding, a private party and hotel guests at the same time. The old part of the hotel and the grounds are beautiful and it has lots of history.and if you are a Beatles fan then it is worth staying to experience where they stayed.

Room Tip: Avoid the room at the end of the corridor upstairs if there is a private party, if you want atwin ro...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, General Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Clairee21,

We appreciate you taking your time to comment on your stay at Holdsworth House Hotel and are extremely sorry about the less than peaceful night sleep you experienced during your visit in March. Whilst it is difficult to pre-empt the actions of other guests visiting the hotel, we do fully understand your complaint and have since made changes to the bookings we accept in order to minimize any noise issues.

From previous correspondence I understand that you found the food for the afternoon tea and dinner to be of a high quality and enjoyable which I was glad to hear, however in terms of the issues you had with afternoon tea delivery may I also take this opportunity to apologise for the confusion caused; there are no excuses as we should have handled this situation better.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to Holdsworth House for a more peaceful stay in the future.

Kind regards

Richard Christie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
3.3 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
381 reviews
4.3 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
218 reviews
19.1 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $119 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing