We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous alternative to soul-less chains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

When working in Halifax I always stay at Holdsworth House and encourage my colleagues to do likewise. Wonderful food and an extensive wine list complement the cosy, character filled surroundings. Each room is slightly different so you never quite know what you will get - but all are of a high standard. A culture of friendliness and warm efficiency is demonstrated by every member of staff, regardless of thie role. Always a pleasure.....

Room Tip: The little suites are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Gill W, thank you for your wonderful review of Holdsworth House and for always choosing us and recommdending the hotel - we really do appreciate it. As 2013 is our 50th anniversary as a leading, independent hotel, please look out for our Golden Label special offers and packages throughout the year as we'd love to see you agian soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 923 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

On the 5th of January I attended my brother's wedding and stayed overnight. Throughout the stay the staff could not have been more helpful. The room for the reception was beautifully prepared and looked a picture. Bar staff were very good and there were no dramas other than the absence of the local brew on draft!
The room was well furnished and comfortable with the breakfast tasty and served in timely fashion.

The only suggestion I could make for improvement is that access to the quiet bar for older guests could be improved. I appreciate the need to segregate diners from wedding guests but by allowing guests to access the bar via the door at the top right of the bar area leading onto the courtyard this could be resolved. I appreciate that this could ncessitate the attendance of a staff member in the bar throughout but perhaps this should be the case anyway particularly for those not attending wediing or other functions. I can see why some people could become frustrated at the lack of barstaff in the main bar area.
That said, an all round enjoyable time and thanks again to the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear DGSW1 thank you for your Tripadvisor review, we certainly appreciate your feedback and we will discuss access to the quiet bar for wedding guests at our next team meeting. We appreciate you choosing us for accommodation whilst attending the wedding and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Holdsworth House for one night to attend a wedding. Our room was a “snug double”, and snug describes it well ! Twin Rooms were more spacious. The hotel is a Jacobean Manor and has quite a lot of character and is decorated and furnished in a more traditional style. The room was quite small, bearable for one night but I wouldn’t want to stay in it for much longer than that. Mattress on the bed wasn’t comfortable and needed replacing, but plenty of pillows. Tea & coffee making facility was useful. The bathroom was the best part of the room, a good size and nicely fitted out with plenty of shelf space for toiletries.

Given that our room was at a discounted wedding rate of £85 I got the impression that it would not be good value at the full rate. Saying that, overall the hotel was nice, and service and food pretty good. We wouldn’t stay at this hotel again though, and preferred the Tower House a few miles away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beanerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Beanerd, thank you for your review of Holdsworth House in Halifax and for choosing to stay here to attend a wedding. As an historic, listed building the bedrooms do vary in size and, as you note, we do try to describe rooms accurately and honestly so guests can be assured of choosing the room type they desire. Of course guests can take the opportunity to upgrade - we have lots of House Doubles and Suites which offer more space should you want it. Our room rates are always competitively priced for Halifax; we monitor prices hourly, and so provide especially good value since Holdsworth House is officially rated four stars with two AA dining Rosettes - the top hotel in the area. We will of course review the mattress in your room straight away as usually we have such positive comments regarding the comfort of our beds. Once again we do appreciate your custom and your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Booked for a family reunion, stayed in suite 17 which i would not describe as a suite, small mezzanine bed above a corridor with a small sofa and tv, no water in our room either. On arrival we went to the bar and found dirty glasses everywhere, took some time to get a drink and then served in a hot glass, no fresh lime for the G and T, very little ice in the drink, staff deflated and not enough of them. We went out for dinner to the Sun inn lightcliffe (very nice) as they had a wedding on . On our return assembled for drinks and charades with the family, no change behind the bar , service not brilliant. At 1 am the bar was closed so they could catch up with cleaning dirty glasses, it was a real effort to get a drink, wedding guests staying in the hotel could not get served and when we eventually got our drinks they were apalling, no ice, no fruit etc served by a member of staff who really could not be bothered, bar staff have could benefit from training. when the duty manager came after we requested him he sorted the problem well.
z bed in the kids room collapsed ! breakfast pretty poor, waited 45 minutes for 1 full English, my breakfast was not hot, tomato shriveled , poor quality bacon and black pudding, sausage ok, soggy toast ! invest in some toast racks so toast stays crisp. service not with a smile. great venue but looks like the wedding business takes priority and possibly over stretching themselves thus standards slipping, nice to see the Hotel busy though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Billy86, thank you firstly for choosing Holdsworth House for your family reunion, we were naturally disappointed to hear your stay on this occasion did not live up to your expectations or our usual high standards. We receive many compliments for the food at Holdsworth so I know the head chef will be concerned that you were disappointed with your breakfast. As an independent hotel, we really appreciate feedback from our guests and use it as the basis for ongoing staff training and to enable us to identify any areas which may need further attention. We will be investing in additional bar training, which we commenced prior to Christmas following new staff appointments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stunning dinner and great wine list - a real treat this far from London. They can't do anything about the poor cell phone reception but it is annoying if you need it - free WiFi though which is useful. Take a few minutes to walk around the grounds (ask for a tour) - they are stunning - like the Cotswolds in Yorkshire - the owner has put a lot of work into making this a little oasis. If you stay then check the size of your room - they have large, medium and small but whichever you get the bed linen is a delight and it's nice and quiet. I am looking for an excuse to go back to Halifax just to stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bambi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you Babmi D for your wonderful, glowing account of your stay at Holdsworth House. John our gardener is priceless and puts enormous amounts of efforts into our gardens to make them looking wonderful year round. We do hope you'll return in the warmer weather and enjoy afternoon tea in the gardens, then you can really appreciate the setting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I chose the **** star Holdsworth House just outside Halifax. Everthing was as I expected with a most warm welcome and tea on arrival. The Christmas decorations were beautiful and gave an
idea of things to come. My single room was well appointed with everything I needed for my short stay and the restaurant with its cosy old-world atmosphere made me feel at home and the food was excellent too. Though the weather was not too good there was plenty of information available at the reception to help find indoor activites.in and around the area. Staff were very helpful and did all to make my stay interesting. I would recommend this property highly. Vron

Room Tip: My single room was excellent as it was large and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Holdsworth House. We're so pleased you chose the best hotel in Halfiax for your stay and that everything lived up to your expectations. We do hope you'll return when next in the area. Merry Christmas from the team here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at Holdsworth House for my son's wedding, and had a wonderful experience from start to finish. The organisation and service were excellent, with staff going out of their way to be helpful and pleasant. Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable, the four-poster bed was an unexpected luxury. The wedding reception food was very good, and efficiently served. Breakfast was excellent. I would certainly recommend Holdsworth House.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eclair-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Eclair-2012 thank you for your review of Holdsworth House. We are truly delighted that your son's wedding was as wonderful as you hoped. We wish you all a very merry Christmas and happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
3.3 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
397 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
407 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
2.5 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $115 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing