We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great setting not matched by service standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
leicester
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great setting not matched by service standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Booked for a family reunion, stayed in suite 17 which i would not describe as a suite, small mezzanine bed above a corridor with a small sofa and tv, no water in our room either. On arrival we went to the bar and found dirty glasses everywhere, took some time to get a drink and then served in a hot glass, no fresh lime for the G and T, very little ice in the drink, staff deflated and not enough of them. We went out for dinner to the Sun inn lightcliffe (very nice) as they had a wedding on . On our return assembled for drinks and charades with the family, no change behind the bar , service not brilliant. At 1 am the bar was closed so they could catch up with cleaning dirty glasses, it was a real effort to get a drink, wedding guests staying in the hotel could not get served and when we eventually got our drinks they were apalling, no ice, no fruit etc served by a member of staff who really could not be bothered, bar staff have could benefit from training. when the duty manager came after we requested him he sorted the problem well.
z bed in the kids room collapsed ! breakfast pretty poor, waited 45 minutes for 1 full English, my breakfast was not hot, tomato shriveled , poor quality bacon and black pudding, sausage ok, soggy toast ! invest in some toast racks so toast stays crisp. service not with a smile. great venue but looks like the wedding business takes priority and possibly over stretching themselves thus standards slipping, nice to see the Hotel busy though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Billy86, thank you firstly for choosing Holdsworth House for your family reunion, we were naturally disappointed to hear your stay on this occasion did not live up to your expectations or our usual high standards. We receive many compliments for the food at Holdsworth so I know the head chef will be concerned that you were disappointed with your breakfast. As an independent hotel, we really appreciate feedback from our guests and use it as the basis for ongoing staff training and to enable us to identify any areas which may need further attention. We will be investing in additional bar training, which we commenced prior to Christmas following new staff appointments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    162
    70
    28
    11
See reviews for
148
357
19
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stunning dinner and great wine list - a real treat this far from London. They can't do anything about the poor cell phone reception but it is annoying if you need it - free WiFi though which is useful. Take a few minutes to walk around the grounds (ask for a tour) - they are stunning - like the Cotswolds in Yorkshire - the owner has put a lot of work into making this a little oasis. If you stay then check the size of your room - they have large, medium and small but whichever you get the bed linen is a delight and it's nice and quiet. I am looking for an excuse to go back to Halifax just to stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bambi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you Babmi D for your wonderful, glowing account of your stay at Holdsworth House. John our gardener is priceless and puts enormous amounts of efforts into our gardens to make them looking wonderful year round. We do hope you'll return in the warmer weather and enjoy afternoon tea in the gardens, then you can really appreciate the setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I chose the **** star Holdsworth House just outside Halifax. Everthing was as I expected with a most warm welcome and tea on arrival. The Christmas decorations were beautiful and gave an
idea of things to come. My single room was well appointed with everything I needed for my short stay and the restaurant with its cosy old-world atmosphere made me feel at home and the food was excellent too. Though the weather was not too good there was plenty of information available at the reception to help find indoor activites.in and around the area. Staff were very helpful and did all to make my stay interesting. I would recommend this property highly. Vron

Room Tip: My single room was excellent as it was large and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Holdsworth House. We're so pleased you chose the best hotel in Halfiax for your stay and that everything lived up to your expectations. We do hope you'll return when next in the area. Merry Christmas from the team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at Holdsworth House for my son's wedding, and had a wonderful experience from start to finish. The organisation and service were excellent, with staff going out of their way to be helpful and pleasant. Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable, the four-poster bed was an unexpected luxury. The wedding reception food was very good, and efficiently served. Breakfast was excellent. I would certainly recommend Holdsworth House.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eclair-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Eclair-2012 thank you for your review of Holdsworth House. We are truly delighted that your son's wedding was as wonderful as you hoped. We wish you all a very merry Christmas and happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeadon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed at Holdsworth House whilst in Halifax on business. Having stayed in a lot of hotels with work I have to say this was a really refreshing change. The room was lovely and comfortable and the food was fantastic. The real bonus was the staff who couldn't do enough for me especially when I had to organise a parcel to be delivered at short notice. In a nutshell it beats most modern, generic hotels hands down.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in was great, if calling to book ask the staff for the best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you Ashley B for choosing Holdsworth House for your Halifax business trip. We really do appreciate it. We're so pleased you loved our historic hotel and that it made a welcome change to the modern day corporate hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Málaga, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at Holdsworth house for a short break, the service, food, location and hospitality were all first class.
We did the "Bronte Break", got the tickets for the Bronte Parsonage museum and it was fantastic.
We can defiantly recommend Holdsworth House and will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Robert W, thank you for visiting Holdsworth House during your Europe travels, we're so pleased you loved our historic hotel and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Beautiful hotel, my family took over most of the hotel for my daughters wedding.Staff could not have been more helpful, altering rooms and requirements at short notice to accommodate our needs. As a wedding venue perfect. Food excellent, catered for 65 and all foods delivered perfectly. Recommend to others, definitely. Thank you to all the staff for making our special day that little bit more special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolynhallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you Carolynhallam for your wedding business and for your very kind review. We love hosting weddings and always offer to help in every way we can to ensure all guests have a wonderful time. We'll pass your comments on to chef, who will of course be delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
3.3 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
10.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
17.1 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing