We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”

Pride and Provenance
Ranked #2 of 371 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: $8 - $38
Description: Opened July 2018, Pride & Provenance is a independent family owned cafe wine bar. Situated within period surroundings just outside the South Gate of The Piece Hall in Halifax. Why Pride & Provenance? Simple, we take the upmost pride in everything we do whether that be sourcing the very best producers and suppliers to delivering great service in beautiful surroundings. As for provenance, we are passionate about where our produce comes from and we ensure that there is clear trace-ability from farm to fork. We believe that our trust in these values ensures a great experience for our guests.
Restaurant details
Description: Opened July 2018, Pride & Provenance is a independent family owned cafe wine bar. Situated within period surroundings just outside the South Gate of The Piece Hall in Halifax. Why Pride & Provenance? Simple, we take the upmost pride in everything we do whether that be sourcing the very best producers and suppliers to delivering great service in beautiful surroundings. As for provenance, we are passionate about where our produce comes from and we ensure that there is clear trace-ability from farm to fork. We believe that our trust in these values ensures a great experience for our guests.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in as it looked very good and was close to where we were staying.

Great selection on the menu and chose the "House Selection" of charcuterie to share along with a glass of Pinot Grigio Rose an IPA and coffee and Rocky Road cake to finish.

Really good food and loved the way they explained the "provenance" of the cuts. Last place that did that for us was in Primosten, Croatia. All the staff were great.

This was as good as any similar place we've been to in Italy and Croatia and better than any other in the UK we've been to. What a pity we live over 260 miles from this place as otherwise it would be a regular place to visit.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GosportTeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
390melaniet, Owner at Pride and Provenance, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review.

We have shared your comments with the team. It’s an honour to be compared to other places with such good feedback.

Thanks for visiting and sorry we aren’t nearer. Hope that you’ll be in Halifax again soon and can join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great choice of meats and cheeses. Good selection of wines very reasonably priced. Our host was very attentive and very knowledgeable about his products. My only regret is that this place is a 2 hour drive from where I live.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Slartyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
390melaniet, Owner at Pride and Provenance, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your brilliant review. It’s such a shame you live so far away but are delighted you enjoyed it so much. Really hope you get the chance to come back to Halifax soon and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only called in for a coffee and a cake, so cant really comment on the food, but surprisingly for an independent you get a good size cappuccino, and its Darkwoods coffee from Huddersfield which we love, the service was friendly and efficient, so we will probably go back and have Lunch there too soon, watch this space

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spandy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
390melaniet, Owner at Pride and Provenance, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We are so glad you enjoyed our Darkwoods coffee and the service.
Hope to see you back here soon for lunch.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really enjoyed our Sunday Brunch today. Food and service excellent and the jazz trio were an added bonus.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ceejayteeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
390melaniet, Owner at Pride and Provenance, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for giving us a fantastic review. We are delighted you enjoyed our Sunday Bottomless Brunch and also that you enjoyed the jazz trio. We’ve shared your comments with the team. Looking forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely place, lovely drinks and lovely service! Would definitely recommend if anyone is looking for good wines and cheeses

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
390melaniet, Owner at Pride and Provenance, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jacob,

Thank you so much for writing us a 5 star review. So pleased you enjoy coming to Pride and Provenance and thanks for recommending us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pride and Provenance also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Luddenden Foot, Halifax
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Pride and Provenance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing