We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Halifax B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a great guest house and I would thouroughly recommend the single ensuite. Great quiet location if you want peace and quiet, firstclass breakfast. Nothing is too much trouble for Barry and Susan. Great eating place Bottomly Arms in walking distance or great Italian "22" a little further on. Hope to stay again. Trouble is all these good revies will probaly mean that it's full, never mind they deserve it.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 44 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wishing to visit family in Bradford was pleasantly surprised to find such a peaceful location so nearby. Friendly welcome from Sue and Barry who helped you feel part of the family and their home. Comfortable room with tea and coffee facilities (with fresh milk), tv and free wifi. Rooms were being redecorated/repainted as I left. Beautiful gardens out the back with plenty of places to sit and relax, never felt rushed at all. Barry served a lovely breakfast, all local produce. Would be happy to go back but would advise booking a room upstairs rather than on ground floor as on second night could hear the guests moving around their room in early hours of the morning. Good place from which to visit the Salt Mills in Saltaire which I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 126Happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't find fault with anything. The room was just what I wanted after a long day in work. Sue and Barry went out of their way to provide whatever I wanted for breakfast, nothing is too much trouble for them. I will certainly stay again whenever I am in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

14th to 16th July 2013 stayed for 2 nights.
Extremely peaceful location, Attentive and friendly Hosts Barry and Sue made me feel most welcome after a long journey.
Plenty of Pubs and Takeaways nearby, Recommend Shelf takeaway about 1000m up the Halifax Road - Half the price of Southern Takeaways. Exit right.
Local Produce.
For Bus and Public Transport - Stops are located on either side of road about 40m from Exit Lane.
2 Parking spaces on hardstanding area.
Highly recommended from a very wide travelled gentleman.
A very useful location for visiting local family.
Exceptionally nice garden areas.
Free Wifi. Tea and Coffee in room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellersFare2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Recently we booked a room and planned our week around it . We were told without any consultation apart from a letter that they had a better offer for a longer booking so that our booking was not going to be honored 2 days before we were booked in. .We tired to contact them to speak about it but they were only interested in the business it would bring in for them and seemed unconcerned about the booking made with us.They told us to find somewhere else to stay .Very disappointing and very bad business/customer practice.We were thinking of recommending this place to our friends who are arriving from Japan for a fortnight with family as its not far from our residences but after this regretful experience we would not recommend the place. Customer service needs a lot of work.The joys of supporting local business! ummmm :(

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Mistry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennyplain, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

I am very sorry that this potential customer ended up with such a terrible opinion of our guesthouse. There was confusion over bookings and we ended up being double-booked. The reviewer was treated as courteously as possible. We personally drove over to her house address with a letter explaining the circumstances we were in and offering to honour the booking of one night some other time as she lives locally. The other booking was for two persons for 4 nights and we simply had no other room to offer her with the space and ensuite bathroom that she required. She was very angry as her rating reflects. I hope the outstanding balance of consistent five-star ratings and positive guest remarks across the years counter-balances this one negative review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This b&b feels like an old cottage in the countryside yet is not far from the M606 between Halifax and Bradford.It is down a narrow lane and all you can hear is the cherping birds.Within walking distance are several pubs and takeaways.The hosts are very hospitable,nice rooms and a hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Quiet location and welcoming house with such delightful hosts. They couldn't be more helpful if they tried and guided us perfectly on our short visit to Halifax and the local dales.

Breakfast was great with fresh eggs from the neighbouring farm and the house was great and a private bathroom was very nice.

This was a lovely place to stay and relax and from which to explore parts of west Yorkshire, and I would highly recommend it to all

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brixtonpavilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
2.5 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Crossroads Inn
Crossroads Inn
#1 of 15 in Halifax
187 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
2.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
5.9 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#9 of 10 in Halifax
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Address: 2 The Grove | Shelf, Halifax HX3 7PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range: $46 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands Guest House is a charming period property set in an extensive one acre woodland garden. It is the family home of the owners and has been lovingly renovated, furnished with care and fully modernised so central heating, good hot showers, Freeview and Wi-Fi make your stay comfortable. Situated half-way between Bradford and Halifax, close to the M62, yet tucked away up a private drive, it is a quiet retreat for business travellers and a good base for exploring Pennine scenery and walks. We offer full English breakfasts using local farm eggs and other produce, or a simpler fruit and cereal based breakfast, even porridge if you ask us! There are good pubs serving evening meals just minutes away, or all the wonderful curry houses of Bradford a few miles up the road. If you stay with us, you stay as a guest in our home. Our service is friendly and we try to meet your personal needs if you let us know in advance. We are unable to accommodate pets or small children. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing