We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never lets us down”
Review of Cafe Passion

Cafe Passion
Ranked #12 of 298 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never lets us down”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have eaten here two or three times and the service and food is always excellent, very attentive friendly staff. It's great seeing the food being cooked too. We also regularly get a take away from here too. The mese starter and kebabs are out of this world. Always recommend this place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngieBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    67
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Followed the reviews and glad I did”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

So, read the reviews and thought we would give it a go. Picked up a bottle of wine and arrived, did try to book a table earlier and told (without having to give a name!) there would be a table available.

It is very much a combined takeaway/cafe/diner with about 5 tables in the back behind the grill. The service was very good and staff friendly and welcoming. The quality of the food was great and the 'Passion Special' gave a sample of everything.

This isn't going to a place to make a night of it, we stopped to eat en-route to somewhere else, where there for about an hour and half and looking forward to the time we go!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden little gem”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

When I'm working in Halifax I now invariable go to this excellent Turkish restaurant to get a hot takeaway sandwich - fresh, delicious, filling and great value for money. Others I work with keep telling me how much they enjoy it too. I'm looking forward to the day I have time for a sit down lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Hidden away but well worth finding.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We'd never heard of Cafe Passion but we're booked in by sister in law and I will be forever grateful.

It is quite a small place so booking is a must. The service was excellent with good advice from the owner on not ordering too much. We were going to order some side dishes but he said he thought we'd have enough. It's very nice when this happens as they could have made more money but the food would have been wasted.

The food was absolutely excellent from start to finish. We ordered the starter meze for two to share between four of us and it was more than enough. If we'd ordered the one for four we wouldn't have touched our mains. The portion sizes are very generous to say the least. The home made pitta/flat bread is gorgeous and every thing we ate was very tasty and fresh. My wife had a Turkish pizza which was lovely.

The restraunt sells alcohol but they also opperate a bring your own wine policy with a small corkage charge. This is good for keeping the costs down but the Turkish beer us worth a try.

It is a cafe during the day with a slightly different menu so that is good to know. It is a real little gem in halifax, especially when a large number of large neon chain eateries have recently opened up. No horse on the menu here unlike some of the chains that have been mentioned!

I will definately be going back and soon I hope.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gengis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just lovely.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great food
good prices
Lovely venue
polite and helpful staff
take your own wine
easy access
great atmosphere

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Passion also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Passion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing