We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Copsewood House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayling Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copsewood House
Ranked #3 of 16 Hayling Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bovey Tracey, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing break this is the ideal place to stay. The house is beautiful and feels very homely and is situated in a lovely rural area. The rooms are well equipt and very comfortable. The breakfast will set you up for the day, make sure you try the black pudding yum yum. We have stayed at several places on the island but non as good as this one. And the free round of golf was a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maccadax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    15
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
69
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you're looking for a place to breathe and watch the tensions fade away, it would be hard to beat this little gem of a B&B tucked away amidst the fields and trees of Hayling Island. Very much a home-from-home, Copsewood House encourages you to belong - to be part of the family and to feel very far away indeed from the hustle and bustle of the 'real world'. Jill is a marvelous and welcoming hostess; the sort of person you feel you already know: and relaxing in the beautiful , quiet garden, is a rest-cure in itself. This B&B has 'welcome' written all over it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belfastian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlowerHayling, Owner at Copsewood House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Indeed you were both very WELCOME guests and good company. We look forward to you visiting us again soon and thank you for the very good review, it means a lot to us to hear good comments about Copsewood House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I have just booked another return trip to Copsewood House in the Summer and are very much looking forward to staying in this beautiful house again! We have stayed at Copsewood House on three occasions, and it has never fallen short of being an excellent experience - the rooms are very comfortable, breakfast delicious and the hosts Jill & Ray are extremely welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

After another delightful overnight stay, I am moved to again say to Jill a veritable "pocket rocket" of energy and hospitality, her husband Ray both ably assisted by Jan, a very big thank you for another delightful nights sleep and most comfortable stay at your lovely home.
When my business takes me anywhere near the Hampshire, West Sussex border, Copsewood becomes my default booking.
Thank you very much, much enjoyed.

Room Tip: Be guided by Jill and the availability she has, the rooms are all good and they only form a part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyGoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlowerHayling, Owner at Copsewood House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your kindly review, it is always a delight to have your company. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to your next visit. To be a default booking is indeed very pleasing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sittingbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We booked on the day we wished to stay and got a room. Jill greeted us on arrival and made us very welcome. The bronze room was just right for us very clean and tiidy. Complimentary wine and bottled water were in the room with a couple of kit kat bars. Tea and coffee milk in plenty. We will certainly be going back but we will be staying longer. We awoke to snow but Jill phone our next destination to see if we could arrive early we we could this was more than we have ever experienced before many thanks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlowerHayling, Owner at Copsewood House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Peter, I am glad you had a pleasant stay with us and that your onward journey in the snow went well. It would be a pleasure to have you visit us again. Thank you also for taking the time to write a review, it is always pleasing to see good feeback especially complimentary reviews. Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Recently stayed at the Copsewood House. Jill And Ray were totally Amazing. Beautiful Character house, with an open fire. Breakfast was second to none. Rooms Were spacious and comfortable. Complimentry wine in the room with tea and coffee facilities. We had a great time there and have already booked again for this year. Thank you again

Room Tip: Balcony room was amazing with views to match
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 887Tickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlowerHayling, Owner at Copsewood House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We very much appreciate your review and for you taking the time to write one for Copsewood House. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope next time you will be able to join us for a BBQ with plenty of sunshine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Copsewood House over the New Year and it was fantastic. We were made so welcome by Jill and Ray and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the Blue Room which was so comfortable, made all the nicer by complimentary wine, water and mince pies - little touches that made our stay even more special. The breakfasts were amazing and I just wish we could have stayed even longer than the 4 days we had booked. We will certainly be back!.....hopefully in the summer when we can experience Hayling Island in the sun! Thank you Jill and Ray for a truly wonderful stay and a lovely start to 2013. Happy New Year to you both! :) Carolyn and Phil

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlowerHayling, Owner at Copsewood House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to right your review on Copsewood House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to Welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
1.6 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copsewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copsewood House

Property: Copsewood House
Address: Copsewood House Copse Lane, PO11 0QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copsewood House provides quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation in the quiet rural setting of North Hayling. We are happy to welcome children and pets and we have a very comfortable all-weather Smoking Area. We are rated 4* by the tourist board and are proud to have achieved Visit England's Silver accreditation standard. We are delighted to have achieved an award of "Excellence" by TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Copsewood House Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing