We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely clean, excellent hostess and food but...”
Review of Waratah Lodge

Waratah Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waratah Lodge
Ranked #5 of 15 Hayling Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Made very welcome; food and rooms excellent although would have liked to known that wearing shoes indoors is not permitted due to white carpets in bedroom! No tea or coffee making facilites in room was a downside although we learned to late they were available all day/evening in the kitchen but had to be drunk there. Overall extremely comfortable although decor not to our liking and slightly over powering but hosts warmth was very genuine

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junket_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Waratah Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 63 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2009

I would like to start this off by saying this is my first time at Hayling Island Id had a pretty hard the week before hand falling out with family so I was so looking forward to a night away from everything and everyone. The breakfast was great the host was abit put out because id made an appearance before my slotted time. A cup of coffee was all id origanally gone in there for had there of been a front room for me to of sat in with my cup of coffee id have gone there till my slotted breakfast time. I enjoyed my time there but the host needs to chill out more like breakfast times should be between 7.30-9.00 not like your going to miss someone being in the kitchen and work with the time they appear.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PUSSPUSS_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Set in wonderfull surounds along with first class rooms and service

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldtops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

To stay at the Waratah is like staying with your family. We arrived after a long journey and were greeted with a friendly smile and a hot cup of tea. Both Clive and Linda were both genuinely concerned that we got settled in and felt comfortable.
I cant believe how much both went out of there way to make our stay a special one even giving friends of ours a lift around the island to make sure we were at our function on time. Words dont do this B&B justice you will have to stay there to get the full experience.

Thank you just does not cover it. Clive and Linda, we are in your debt.

The Duckworth Family xx

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Duckworth_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Excellent quality B&B. Extremely clean!! Hosts friendly and helpful. We had a smallish double room but it was very nice and it had a great power shower in the ensuite. Good location for Portsmouth and local area. Breakfast very good. Only negative would be that it would be nice to have your own tea/coffee/kettle in room. Remember to take your shoes off before going upstairs!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthKNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2006

Spacious rooms which are immaculate and very comfortable. The owners are very friendly and the breakfast is great.

The only thing I didn't like was that - despite 'no smoking' signs upstairs - they allow smoking in the kitchen/dining room. Drinks aren't allowed in the bedrooms, so if you want one you might have to put up with the owners' or the other guests' cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ALISON W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2006

Have been a long term resident and spent the weekend at the Waratah with my wife recently. Always a warm welcome and nothing is too much trouble. I am a well travelled person who rates this B&B as equal to or better than home - this is not the average B&B..I don't stay in anything less. Very clean, internet equipped quiet rooms and excellent food. Clive and Linda are lovely hosts. Easy access to all the local tourist areas and off road safe parking. Can't recommend it enough.

Stayed: July 2006
Thank kielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
1.1 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,720 reviews
1.7 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
281 reviews
2.5 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
623 reviews
2.9 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#33 of 39 in Portsmouth
423 reviews
7.8 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waratah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waratah Lodge

Address: 116 Havant Road, PO11 0LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hayling Island
Price Range: $102 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waratah Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waratah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waratah Lodge Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing