We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TOP CLASS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayling Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White House
Ranked #2 of 16 Hayling Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TOP CLASS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We checked into The White House after being extremely let down at another b&b in the area which was filthy.
Tony & Edra were amazing, lovely couple and could not do enough for us, the rooms were well presented and the standard's were very high. There was 7 of us which included my 92 year old Gran who absolutely loved it.
Thank you for your kind hospitality we will certainly see you again.

Best breakfast we have ever had too :)
Steve & Family

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Treatwithrespect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Thank you to Tony and Edra for a very warm welcome. We stayed in the very pretty teal room. Lots of personal touches make this very clean, warm and tastefully decorated house a real gem . A make up towel in the room! How clever is that? Soft flannels, good towels. Really comfy beds. Breakfast..fresh fruit salad followed by .....smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, tomatoes, toast and warm croissant and pastry ! Jams, honeys, cereals, grapefruit, they have it all. Beautifully presented. Hubby had the full English, I had a bit of his sausage....quality all the way. Nice cosy snug area off the breakfast room with TV . Really nice touch. Also from 4pm, homemade cakes, tea or coffee a lovely treat!.... Excellent location too....for coastal walks, on the bus route into Hayling, Havant and Portsmouth. Will not hesitate to stay here, excellent value for excellent service.

Room Tip: We stayed in the teal twin room. Ground floor easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeniseASurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selly35
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

With a warm welcome and a beautiful room, we couldn't have asked for anything more. We were also blown away by the breakfast. There was cereal and fruit with fresh juice and then your choice of freshly cooked breakfast and then we were offered croissants. The owners had so much time for my daughter who is 6, and didnt mind when she took a toy cat from the door to bed (which I had no idea she had done)
Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room for three it was perfect as my daughter had her own room divided from ours by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank selly35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were two couples attending a wedding locally and could not have wished for a better place to stay. The owners were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and more than adequate for our stay. The breakfast was very good and a varied choice was on offer also cakes and teas in the afternoon was a bonus. Thank you Tony and Edra

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Travelled along the South East stopping at Hayling Island just for a day and 1 night but this was a very well presented, comfortable and very friendly stop over.
Overall this place was excellent although if you wanted to be close to the beach probably not the best location. 10min drive down to front where the beach, park, shops and amusements are. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very well decorated with colour themes.
Breakfast was very good with more on offer than just Full English.
Toys and games for children in lounge.
Looked just decorated very clean.
Bonus was coffee and cake for guests in the dining room in the afternoon very welcome and tasty.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked very well presented we stayed in 'Teal'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brittsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My extended family & I (6 adults & 4 children) have just spent a long weekend at the White House. Tony & Edra couldn't have done anymore to make our stay any better, looking after us from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Our rooms were great, the annex was perfect for my husband & I & our 2 children, as the kitchen & utility facilities gave us perfect convenience & flexibility when it came to feeding & watering the children! All 10 of us were able to sit down to have breakfast together (hats off to Edra cooking for England at top speed), which was all freshly prepared using local produce from a breakfast menu that put many 5* hotels to shame. Hot refreshments were also put on all day long. To top it off, we had some great weather and were able to enjoy the lovely garden, lounging on the comfy garden furniture. All in all, a really great stay, for which we are all grateful - thanks Tony & Edra from the Pierce/Grange family.

Room Tip: For a family with children, the annex was great as you have the added flexibility/convenience of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh-AnnWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Tony and Edra couldn't have been more helpful or friendly from the moment we booked our stay until we checked out. The house is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, and our rooms were full of those little extras that really make a difference to the quality of the stay. First rate breakfast in a lovely setting rounded off what was a very happy experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LVB440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
0.7 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
4.8 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House

Property: White House
Address: 250 Havant Road | Corner of New Cut, Hayling Island, Portsmouth, PO11 0LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year round we offer you comfortable ground floor single, double, twin rooms and family suite, equipped with en suite shower/baths, colour TV/DVD, Hospitality tray, hair dryer, ironing facilities, off road parking and a wireless hotspot to keep you connected. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White House Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing