We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff Work Hard But Chalets Tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warner Lakeside Coastal Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Lakeside Coastal Village
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Birmingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Staff Work Hard But Chalets Tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have recently spent 3 nights at Lakeside. The chalet, a standard plus, was in need of some tlc especially the bathroom. We could not upgrade as all the other accommodation was booked.
They operate a system there where the table where you eat your meal is yours for the night to watch the evening's entertainment. We were allocated a table which had a column obscuring the view of the stage area. We asked about this but were assured that at 9 p.m. we would be able to move to a better table vacated by other diners who were not staying for the evening's entertainment. This did not happen on any of the 3 nights as the people in the good seats stayed in the good seats. One lady I spoke to said she had been told that she had been lucky to get a seat at all as they were so busy and that guests get there as early as 10 a.m. to check in the book the best tables.
On the first night my husband went up to the carvery but the chicken, carrots, and mashed potatoes had run out and there was only one sausage in the dish. He was told there would be a 10 minute wait for the chicken. He found the catering staff to have a lax attitude.
I personally had the a la carte which was reasonable but not very warm.
The swimming pool is very small and you have to swim anti clockwise. If, like me, you are quite a strong swimmer you either tread water constantly or have to try and pass someone.
The staff on the whole work very hard and luckily we had dry, but cold, weather. Our chalet was at the very edge of the complex so we would have been soaked by the time we got to the entertainment building if it had been raining.
The free dance lesson was excellent.
We have now been on 5 Warners holidays and this, from the point of view of accommodation, was the worst. We will go to Warners again but not Lakeside.

Room Tip: Get there early to check in and reserve your table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlainTalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle H, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Lakeside Coastal Village, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your break with us here at Lakeside. There are some tables within our Chichester Cabaret Diner where the view is slightly obstructed by integral support pillars. However, we do have many large TV screens that show all the entertainment fully so, if you are unable to move tables after 9pm, you do not miss the show.

I will be passing your comments about the food and staff attitudes to the Restaurant Manager who will deal with this accordingly.

As we are a Warner Coastal Village, our accommodation is Chalet based. Therefore, all the walkways to the main buildings are outside. I’m glad to hear you had dry weather during your stay so you could enjoy our lovely grounds.

I am sorry that you feel that Lakeside is not for you but hope you enjoy any future breaks with Warner.

Michelle Holdsworth, Guest Relations Manager on behalf of Simon Haslam, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    321
    153
    71
    48
See reviews for
115
509
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Everyhing at Warners was very good, the food, you had lots of choices from waiter service to help yourself at the carvert, the entertainmnt abd performers, the lodge we stayed in, daytime activiies, the only fault we found was that the WiFi was slow..

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvansMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestLiaisonLakeside, Guest Liaison at Warner Lakeside Coastal Village, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I am so glad to hear of how much you enjoyed your recent break with us. Comments like this really put a smile on my face as it shows all the hard work we put in throughout the year is really noticed.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked a few days here as we have been on a Warner holiday before. We found the room to be comfortable, although the bed was hard as a brick. The food was tasty and plentiful with lots of choice. All in all good value for money.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty-Cristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wem, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

As other reviews state - from the outside the chalets don't look much. The accommodation was warm, clean and comfortable (we had a plus chalet) room serviced daily :) - see pics**
Food was excellent (even with a food allergy) and staff were brilliant. - see menu in pics**
A couple of nice weather days - but in February what do you expect - thankfully no rain :)
Entertainment was good and we didn't move the car all the time we were there!!!!
No kids and just adult conversation (if you wanted it) and no drunks
Activities are good and there is a great calmness about the place and the lake was a bonus (I even hand fed a swan!!!!)
All in all - great value for money - especially if you get a deal:) and have booked to go on a Warner's break in July.
Highly recommended - sad to leave :(

Room Tip: I would always suggest an upgrade if you can get one at a good price - just gives you that extra spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have stayed at Lakeside before as a large family group so decided to stay again but as a smaller group this time. It did not let us down, the food yet again was very nice, there is such a large choice you can always find something to satisfy even the most discerning of the group. Although the rooms from the outside just look like a chalet do not be put off by that, inside they were decorated very nicely, we had an upgraded room and for that we got a nice size living room and separtate bedroom, lovely lots of room, so all the family could get together and have a nice chat. Because we were with mixed age group it was handy because we could stay on site and there was lots to do, bowls, quizes and we had a laugh in the games room. Can I also say that the staff are excellent, from reception to waiting staff. Well done Warners obviously well trained staff as they know how to treat customers, even us old ones.

Room Tip: If you wait for the special offers to come through you can get a really good bargain, but you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilianswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey U.K.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

First Warners visit and will be followed by many more! If you want 5 star £1200 a week holidays then this is not for you. This is simple accommodation with lovely staff and really good fun.
Our room Lakeside 7D was very clean, well decorated, warm and most comfortable. The towels and bedding were very good. The daily room service was good and one or two minor things reported were dealt with immediately. The accommodation was better than any holiday camp we have used and better than many hotels.

The entire site was litter free, attractive and well cared for – most impressive!

We were delighted with the food and in particular the varied salad bar provided a welcome alternative to the carvery vegetables on offer. The meats were of a fine quality and some of the best flavoured we have had in recent times. The breakfast choice was incredible. All in all the dining experience was very good and Natalie was an excellent waitress really looking after us!

Most of all we were impressed by the staff. Their in-service-training must be excellent. Everyone we spoke to cleaners, grounds men, cafe and shop staff, catering and leisure staff, receptionists, everyone, smiled, looked and sounded cheerful, were polite and helpful and appeared to enjoy their job. Often we were asked if we wanted anything or help just by standing still a few minutes. They were also very honest when asked for recommendations or their opinions. Altogether we felt very welcome, respected and cared for and at no time did we feel embarrassed, silly or a pain-in the *** It was really good watching the staff relate to customers and seeing everyone getting the same respect and attention.

We concentrated on bowls and snooker both of which have good facilities. There are many more activities available.

The whole experience was wonderful and we will go again.

The evening shows were fantastic and of a standard far above our expectations. We were told by some Warner’s “regulars” that the productions last week were by far the best they had seen at any Warner’s anywhere in the country. The singing and dancing was outstanding. The costumes colourful, extravagant, cared for and clean. The pace of the shows was good and the flow between items good. A very professional and slick series of shows. We thought the performances were energetic until one morning we saw the rehearsal/fitness training – wow, totally exhausting! Clearly the team work very hard and enjoy their work.

Most of all we were impressed by the cheerfulness, the smiles and greetings and the friendliness shown to the customers. It was good to see elderly people being given the respect their age and experience deserves. The teams off stage interaction from the greetings at the door, dancing with customers and moving around the tables all helped in making it a most enjoyable visit. We have already made another booking and are planning a group visit with friends.

Room Tip: Phone them and discuss as the rooms are very different
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had a four night midweek break at the end of January, still quite cold and windy, but some good deals are about from Warners. This one was well worth the price, upgraded to get a Standard Premier Lodge for another £20 each, which was worth it, as it was more secluded, and had an allocated parking space, which was a bonus, as the Village was nearly full. The meals were superb, could'nt have got better in a five star restaurant. Plenty of choice at Breakfast and Dinner, with a pleasant and helpful waiting staff.If you don't fancy driving about while you're there, just a ten minute walk away is an excellent bus service ( number 30) into Havant, with connections to Portsmouth, Brighton, and quite a few other places. Make sure you get number 31 on the way back, as the 30 will take you back round the longer way. In the evening there is Bingo and Cabaret entertainment. We found that being out all day, and then having dinner wore us old un's out, so we skipped the Bingo etc. The lodge was clean and comfortable, Flatscreen Telly, toiletries, tea, coffee , biscuits every day. Just one small quibble, drinks were very expensive, would certainly sell more methinks, if they were more reasonable. Still, I suppose thats why we got such a good deal in the first place!

Room Tip: I would certainly upgrade from Standard if the charge is fair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnyno3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
3.3 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
1.5 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
5.3 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Lakeside Coastal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Lakeside Coastal Village

Property: Warner Lakeside Coastal Village
Address: Fishery Lane, PO11 9NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Lakeside Coastal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Resort. You'll love the lake that gives this Classic Resort its name but Lakeside is about the seaside too. Sea air and great views are all part of the magic here. There's plenty to keep you busy at traditional Lakeside, including an indoor bowls complex. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warner Lakeside Coastal Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warner Lakeside Coastal Village Hotel Hayling Island
Warner Lakeside Classic Hotel
Warner Lakeside Coastal Village Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing