We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last night”
Review of Il Giardino

Il Giardino
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Last night”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

What a wonderful evening we had last night at Il Giardino. The food was amazing and we are all still raving about it this morning. Lovely friendly staff, fantastic atmosphere and a beautiful venue. It's about time that Haying Island had a good restaurant, you really have raised the bar and we can't wait to come back to try the rest of the menu.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie J, Manager at Il Giardino, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
How lovely your comments are and we are so pleased that you really enjoyed your evening. We hope you will come back soon and try other dishes on the menu. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    14
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

What a wonderful restaurant Il Giardino is....at last such class and on Hayling Island! I have dined three times now and each time the whole experience has been one of pleasure, from the welcome one receives on arrival to the tempting delicious menu (the new one being introduced this week...superb!), the varied wine list, the very good and pleasant service and the whole ambience being one of relaxation and not feeling rushed at all..... I have already booked my birthday dinner here and can't wait.....! A very big thank you to all involved in organising and producing such a fantastic restaurant and as I said before, here on Hayling!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie J, Manager at Il Giardino, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
How kind of you to write such a lovely review about every aspect of our little restaurant. It is great for the team to know how much you and your party have enjoyed your visits. We hope your birthday party/dinner will help to make your special night.... special! Thank you again and we do look forward to seeing you next weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great food lovely atmosphere and wonderful service!

Would highly recommend to anyone - in fact have already booked for a large conference dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie J, Manager at Il Giardino, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
HI Ashley, thank you for your lovely comments and we are so looking forward to welcoming the "Twinning" town of Gorrone committees to our lovely restaurant in January.....especially as our gates came from there and can be seen in situ! so looking forward to the evening.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This new restaurant has been well thought out and well worth a visit”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Had the pleasure of trying the new menu last night I would recommend the sea bass it was awesome. If your tipple is white wine I would suggest the white Rioca it is crisp and goes down very easily. Anyway hats off to the designer of this new venu will be there a lot through the winter! Book a table now delicious!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clairewarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie J, Manager at Il Giardino, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments they are so very much appreciated.... we see you are dining with us again this evening, so hope you have another lovely dining experience with us. Thank you for your time and look forward to welcoming you back tonight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just what Hayling needs.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We ate here last night, table of 4 on a busy Saturday night. The old room is totally unrecognizable, they have done a brilliant makeover on the place, We were made to feel very welcome by the staff, particularly Tanya who waited on us for the evening.The menu is very tempting and varied, although we were a little disappointed they had ran out of lamb, as it was only 8 o'clock, but our second choice of sea bass served with crispy veggies, tiger prawns and a lovely creamy sauce, did not disappoint. The macaroni cheese and steak dishes were also enjoyed. Overall a lovely evening, enjoyable surroundings, and only 10 mins away! We will be back.... hopefully to taste the lamb.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy-Hayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie J, Manager at Il Giardino, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for visiting us last Saturday and for your lovely comments. The 7 hour roasted lamb was part of our new menu which we put up on Thursday... we had no idea it would be such a "hit" and because it takes so long to get just right, we couldn't rush it or pretend with "30" minute lamb....! so sorry you were disappointed. We hope you will come back soon ... we would even be happy for you to pre-order...!. Anyway once again, we are glad you enjoyed your first experience and thank you again for your constructive and wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Giardino also viewed

Hayling Island, Hampshire
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 

Been to Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing