We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A small oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mad Hatters Tea Room & Gift Shop

Mad Hatters Tea Room & Gift Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family run tea room offering fresh & homemade food. We serve breakfast from 9-12pm. Lunch is served from 12pm with last orders taken an hour before closing.... including paninis, jacket potatoes and salads along with daily specials. For the sweeter tooth, we offer delicious homemade cakes including Gluten Free options as well as delicious homemade scones. For the Summer, you can cool down with Jude's Icecream! 5 yummy flavours available... We have a selection of gifts for sale and greetings cards too so there really is something for everyone here at the mad place. Hope to see you soon!
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A small oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

What a find, excellent food (particularly the salmon quiche), excellent service, bright & cheery. Good coffee and wifi, just brilliant!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulnet48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    47
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You won't regret visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The food is amazing, freshly cooked and reasonably priced.
The staff are wonderful, welcoming and chatty.
The coffees are well just wow!
The bits and bobs for sale are a nightmare, so many creative pieces you are just tempted to buy them!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JusComms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quirky and quaint, always a pleasure to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Lovely cafe that we visit every time we come onto the island. Lovely food, service and atmosphere. We can't recommend highly enough

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb tea rooms ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Went there on the off chance, not disappointed at all lovely friendly staff shall return, when we are in the area good luck in your New venture.

Helpful?
Thank davemacrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Thank you so much for making Dad's 80th Birthday so special <3”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Where to start... I had been to the Tea Rooms a couple of times for breakfast and tea and cake and was immensely impressed with the cleanliness of the place and the nice atmosphere so when were in a quandary about where to have Dad's Birthday I thought this would be the place. Dad's quite deaf and our family in general dislike load places so the Mad Hatters seemed ideal. I contacted Nicky and asked if they would open for a couple of hours in the afternoon which she agreed to so we arranged to have high tea, and Nicky offered to make Dad's favourite cakes and a lovely Victoria sponge for his Birthday Cake. Nicky allowed my sister in to decorate before we brought Mum and Dad down and all our family were there waiting in secret. The party was fantastic. Nicky and Amy ensured Tea and coffee was on tap and they kept us well stocked with lovely sandwiches, scones and cakes, and everyone was happy chatting and catching up. I really, really can't thank Nicky, Amy and the other lady who helped, enough for such a lovely, thoughtful Party. She really had thought of everything and had accommodated everything we asked for. If you are a thinking of having a tea party in the near future, contact Nicky. I am sure she would be happy to help. If that's not on your agenda then please make sure you don't visit Hayling without having tea and cake here. If you don't, you're missing out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthseaAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Hatters Tea Room & Gift Shop also viewed

Hayling Island, Hampshire
 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 

Been to Mad Hatters Tea Room & Gift Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing