We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windy day”

Madhatters Tea Room & Gift Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a family run tea room offering fresh & homemade food. We serve breakfast from 9-12pm. Lunch is served from 12pm with last orders taken an hour before closing.... including paninis, jacket potatoes and salads along with daily specials. For the sweeter tooth, we offer delicious homemade cakes including Gluten Free options as well as delicious homemade scones. For the Summer, you can cool down with Jude's Icecream! 5 yummy flavours available... We have a selection of gifts for sale and greetings cards too so there really is something for everyone here at the mad place. Hope to see you soon!
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Windy day”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Beautiful tea room. It was a lovely treat after a miserable windy day. My grandad had a home made quiche which he said was 'beautiful'. I had a chicken mayo baguette served warm-delicious! Served with a lovely fresh side salad with a lovely dressing. I also like the vegi crips, healthy an yummy! It is so nice to have some where on the island where the staff are friendly and welcoming and the food and atmosphere are excellent. Thank you for an enjoyable lunch. I will be passing on the message to friends and family and definitely returning!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    48
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic tearooms”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

this is a great little tearooms, that i visit often. yes the view outside is not the best, but once you step inside its like a little haven. the furniture inside could never be described as ikea/range like, it is all very different hand painted peices. the staff are very very friendly and accomodating, and the food is of a very high standard. Lovely homemade scones (the best around), and great cakes too. First class tea rooms

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scoo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very welcoming staff.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a quaint experience. The menu certainly isn't extensive, but the food is always good quality and well presented. Breakfast is very recommended. Friendly staff always willing to help.

Then there are unusual gifts for sale around the shop that that you can view while waiting for your food order to arrive.

Also great for a much needed coffee after a day out and about on Hayling. Very recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Download_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful quirky tea room”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

A lovely little tea room in a less than obvious location but with so much individual character, great cake and a good range of hot drinks. My wife, daughter and I enjoyed our elevenses!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little lunch time stop or takeaway”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Food and service is great from Mad Hatters, prices are good and its nice and quirky inside. Sometimes nip in for a takeaway lunch during the week as beats tesco lunchfood!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johny9023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madhatters Tea Room & Gift Shop also viewed

Hayling Island, Hampshire
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 

Been to Madhatters Tea Room & Gift Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing