We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good one night hotel”
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Reviewed May 14, 2013

this is a good one night hotel, not sure I'd like to stay longer
did not eat here so cannot comment on the food but breakfast was not worth the tenner they charge. we were told at 9.30 ( they close at 10) That we could not get fried or poached eggs as the chef was not around, with half an hour of service left !

the WiFi was a bit iffy and the TV has the most difficult menu system i have ever come across !
the rooms have areal 1970s feel about them

to be fair the staff were all very nice and helpful

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,362 - 1,368 of 1,797 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Have stayed about 10 times now in the last 2 years. Rooms are smallish unless you get a luxury room but very clean and has all you need for a night or 2 stay. Breakfast if you have it included is good value. Try not to stay when there is a wedding party, ( most Saturdays ). If you can get a deal ie £60 plus with breakfast then it is a real bargain.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed for the bank holiday weekend a few days back and thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

The hotel is kid friendly and has plenty going on to keep them occupied. The food though tad pricey was sumptuous.

All and all a good place to park en-family.The hotel offers great value for money and is worth a trip again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrabBedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is great. Staff were friendly and the food was very good (if very overpriced - £20 for 8oz steak). Rooms were quiet and area is lovely, though the TV channels were a mess. Dont book too early though. We booked a 'guaranteed low price' in Jan for 4th May, only to find the rooms were £50 cheaper two weeks before we left. Not suprisingly, they had a 'non tranferable, non refundable' policy when we enquired why our guaranteed lowest price was not the lowest. Quite annoyed, but otherwise a great stay

Room Tip: Stay on the west side as this is away from the venue halls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have been here a couple of times now and would return as it is a very nice clean hotel with spacious family rooms and a good buffet breakfast with everything you could want and we love going to Southsea from here to walk along the sea front watching the boats and finishing in Gun Wharf Quays with its great shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: We look for the special offers on a triple executive room with breakfast included, they are the bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minihexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed there for one night with family. The hotel was nice enough to give us a complimentary connected room as wife and two kids were not fitting in one room. The rooms are nice and clean but it was a hot day and the heating was still on and they could not get the air conditioning working properly which made the rooms very hot and stuffy. Service was average. The room service food comes late. We ordered breakfast which took 20 min and they did not send butter or jam with the toasts. Decent parking lot. Wifi is terrible. Apparently you can pay and get upgraded to faster speed. Worst is empty food trays which line up the hallways. Why dont they pick them up regularly?

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wasif77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Langstone as an Under 11 Rugby tour, so it was a fair bit more upmarket than we would usually use for such a thing - however, it was pretty much spot on. Our twin room was of a very decent size, with a double bed and a single bed. The room had clearly been renovated fairly recently - no plastic shower curtains, but a glass partition. Yes, just one set of towels in the bathroom, but additional sets on each bed. The mattress was much softer than I'm used to, but very comfortable. Couldn't really fault the room.
We had use of a couple of conference rooms, which were ideal for our needs, and a reasonable buffet - fairly basic but quite tasty food, ideal fort our needs. Only gripe - no dessert.
Breakfast was quite good - sausages not the best, and the waitress-based coffee system didn't get me enough coffee - better to leave facilities for the guests with the rest of the buffet, I think.
Aside from that, only two gripes - in this day and age, it's unacceptable to charge for internet access in my opinion. It comes over as penny-pinching and mean. Free WiFi is provided even by many cheaper establishments, it needs to be done here. Secondly, this sort of hotel really should provide at least one local real ale in the bar. The choice of bottled beers is OK, but it's not that hard to keep one traditional, and preferably local, beer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickorando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
552 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
287 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn (Langstone/A27)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
5.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range: $69 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing