We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean But Could Do Better”
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Clean But Could Do Better”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here using a Groupon we had added an extra night and upgraded to a luxury room.
so first off had trouble parking everytime we came back to the hotel from being somewhere just isnt enough spaces for the amount of rooms.
We checked in and wasn't shown to our room or told how to get there just pointed in the direction we found we had been put right at the back of the hotel the room was very clean but just looked the same as any chain hotel in our package we should have recieved chocolates and a bottle of water in our room we did but it was a small plastic bottle of water and a terry's chocolate orange bar (not exactly luxury).
Breakfast was ok but the eggs could be improved we think they might have been powdered eggs but everything else was lovely apart from the ten minute wait to get a table both mornings.
the wet room basically a shower without a bottom was lovely but be careful turning it on as it can soak the whole bathroom.
the wifi is not free you have to pay after the first half an hour.
Our room faced the car park of the hotel which made for a noisey sleep someone who works at the hotel must have a mopped and its very noisey and woke me up both nights.
my biggest bug bare is that we had put the do not disturb sign on the door when we popped out and came back to our room to find it had been cleaned not a problem normally but our stuff had been moved the clothes i had left out for that night had been moved i had also left my ipad on charge this had been unplugged and moved i was not very happy as i had left the sign on the door for a reason we had only been there one night and the room really didnt need cleaning also the glasses looked as though they had been washed in the sink in the bathroom so wouldnt advice using them.

overall its a nice hotel its just the little things that let it down it would have been a 4* from me if it hadnt been for the do not disturb sign being ignored.

Room Tip: Wouldnt recomend 284 ask for a room not facing car park and dont waste your money upgrading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katylouise90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    553
    417
    172
    86
See reviews for
283
749
28
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two evenings from Saturday 16th March, and after booking into our room we had to trek a mile to the room! The room itself was very dated and the shower was, in my opinion very inadequate.

We ate at the restaurant on the Saturday night and had the 12oz Sirloin on the bone which was very poor at £20 each without sides or sauces! The meal came to £65 with drinks! Very disappointed.

On two occasions we had room service that was better than the restaurant food! The only thing to comment was the £3 service charge that we were not made aware of for each time room service was delivered!

All in i'm afraid we would not recommend and will not return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crete
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here a lot excellent in all respects Saturday night food outstanding as usual but I noticed evidence of the credit crunch whilst hotels have to survive it was evident langstone is also going through what all hotels are food was as always was outstanding but it was evident cleanliness of rooms lacking also Amarked downturn in leisure facility's it was evident at breakfast on Sunday morning that long standing staff did there utmost to deliver at breakfast by the time I got my breakfast it was not help your self the place was heaving with groupon customers wastage of food by these customers was evident as staff worked realy hard to clear tables so I could understand why they then took to serving I was miffed as I had paid more which I am happy to do I was saddened that the fantastic chef and staff at langstone because of economic downturn have to go this route after gaining the reputation they have earned leisure facility's and restaurant ambience brilliant staff is what makes me go here and I hope that management take this on board but am understanding the reasons as to go on this path will leave it questionable wether I wish to join the something for nothing voucher holders again I wish langstone the very best for the future but please don't go this route it would be a sad loss

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chloe30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Came for a one night stay for our wedding anniversary. The hotel room was a really good size, had upgraded to a superior room and had all the amenities you would need, however it was cold! The rooms have key cards for the heating therefore only on when you are in the room. This may work in the summer but when it's freezing outside to arrive to a warm room is a must. Lots of hot water although a soaking wet rest of the room, inadequate shower screen. The service in the bar on the Saturday evening was very poor but the breakfast was hot and plentiful. I think we would choose a less corporate smaller hotel next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here for a week recently as had to work in nearby Southwick. The hotel is very good, room was modern, comfortable with nice climate control. It was also quiet in the room which is great, have stayed in too many hotels where you can hear the nocturnal habits of the occupants of the next room! There is a decent gym and pool that you can use as a guest if you are so inclined. The only negative is the internet, you have a free tariff which is unusable as it's so slow. To upgrade to the full speed is £8.99 per day which is a rip off in this day in age. However for the price paid per night here i cant complain too much. All in all would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Friday night as a little get away and chance to eat out with the kids and use the leisure facilities. The Family Room was adequate for 4, the main bed very comfortable. Bathroom very basic. faciities with kettle and iron useful, although no extra bedding and the room didn't warm well.
Our evening meal was from the a la carte, no option to eat otherwise in restaurant. Food was good but a little fancy so not good portions if you like a filling meal rather than a tasting experience. The Kids food was excellent in size though. Drinks and food prices, high, but typical hotel prices £100 for 2 course meal and glass of wine, few soft drinks for kids and 2 g&T's. Service friendly, but some seemed rather timid. Breakfast was good although they were running out of things by 9.30 (fresh fruit) and I did ask.
we use the pool twice and both occasions there were private lessons taking up half the pool area we would want to use with 2 small children.
A good location and Ok for an overnight stay. If I would go again i'd go to Emsworth to eat. Spend the same money for a better food experience.
No lifts for 1st floor on half of the complex.

Room Tip: WE had room 159 it was good for a family as at end of the corridor so no noise at night. although a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherinerossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed one night with voucher in a luxury room. All the staff were so welcoming from reception,bar and restaurant. Had a lovely message and facial in the spa.Booked a twin room, room had one double and two single beds. Food excellent. The shower head was very dirty didnt notice this until very late and reported this next morning and was told this would be sorted but this didnt help us.Would stay again but would check shower.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
2.7 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
268 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
497 reviews
5.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
5.5 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
643 reviews
4.9 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Property: Langstone Hotel
Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing