We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well equipped large bedrooms, but not what I call 4 star”
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel appears in a 1970's time warp. The rooms are well equipped with a seating area, bedside reading lamps, fridge, trouser press iron and ironing board and tea and coffee making facilities. But the pillows are lumpy the sheets a bit rough and the towels very rough. The toiletries in the bathroom are at a minimum. The shower curtain barely touches the bath and water ends up over the floor. Saving grace is the outstanding food in the Brasserie. Good spa, but lack of public rooms - just a big bar area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F1roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,495 - 1,501 of 1,850 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

I had a groupon voucher and we were welcomed by Sophie, the reception manageress.She was brilliant,so was the room and the bed so comfy.We even had time to use the swimming pool,nice.The food was excelent thanks to Ricky and the rest of the restaurant staff.Would definately recommend to anyone visiting the pompey area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidHarefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have stayed her a few times and service is good ,however the bathroom was dated . It was a bathroom you could not relax in . The shower hose was very dirty and rusty . I reported this to reception but I suspect is still there .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Where to start? Firstly when my fiancee and I arrived at The Langstone (we booked in via Red Letter Days with vouchers given to us as gifts) we were not so much 'greeted' as glared at by one of the receptionists. Clearly upset at the thought of having to do another days work, she gave us no information concerning the facilities, restaurant timings for breakfast etc, wi fi access, and even neglecting to tell us the direction of our room, however on departure, the other girl was very helpful and polite. Upon discovering our room, we noticed several of the light fittings falling from the ceiling, no Sky Sports (as advertised) on the TV and a lack of internet access. The room pamphlet indicated that no passwords were necessary to obtain wifi and an ethernet cable was provided in the top draw (it wasn't) if needed. The wifi measured 0.117 Mb download speed but a higher speed was available for a fee which you had to enquire about at reception. After returning to reception to ask about the evening meal, we decided to drive elsewhere as the menu was rather limited and expensive for what seemed to be a frosty reception. When we arrived back at the hotel, we decided to have a few drinks in the bar. We were greeted by a troupe of elderly singers 'practising' it seemed (most didn't even know the words) some hits from the bygone era. Clearly a quiet drink on our first night was not going to happen, so after a warm pint of Guinness (at £4.20 I'd have thought it would have at least been cold) and a flat coke with Bacardi we headed to bed. Once everything had quietened down, we tried to get some sleep. The light behind the wardrobe doors was on and shining through onto our bed. Some black tape had been placed on the switch to hold it down (room 133) as obviously the auto shut off bar had broken. The noise coming from the consumer unit was irritating to say the least, and the air conditioning came on and off when it pleased. Not a good first night.
Breakfast the following morning was good (we had to ask a neighbour what time it started and finished) and we went out for the day. After returning late we decided to get some crisps from the vending machine. Having ordered a packet of Walkers crisps (again a con at £1 per pack!) the item did not drop. So in went another pound coin. Again it did not drop. So we told the boy behind reception. Another personality transplant victim, he eventually opened the machine and retrieved the goods, but informed my fiancee they couldn't do anything about the lost pound coin. Now, I know it is only a pound, but when that pound is paying for something that should be half that price, it's the principle. So I simply said 'don't you have a pound in the till you can give us and take this matter up with the vending machine owners after we leave?' Clearly too much for him, he had to go and ask his manager... we got the pound back. What else could go wrong? Nothing fortunately, but then we did leave the following morning. I've included some photos showing the issues, but cannot upload the videos of the sound of the a/c unit and constant hum of the consumer unit in the wardrobe.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Good deal with groupon. Nice room. Good nights sleep. Swimming pool enjoyable and made for a relaxing stay. Restaurant over priced but lovely setting. Can order from bar menu though.

Worth visiting with a voucher. Would go again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bungl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I booked the Langstone Hotel- Northeney, for a party of 24 family and friends to have afternoon tea in the conservatory for my husband's 50th Birthday.
Kat handled the whole request with total professionalism nothing was too much trouble and no questions were left un answered.
The selection of sandwiches, scones and cakes that was available was and so fresh, there was so much food, and more than enough tea and coffee, and jugs of cold water to last the 2 hours that the event was planned for. They also laid on sandwiches for the children and we supplied our own juice and crisps.
We decorated the room with balloons etc, and also had a Candy table for the children to enjoy.
The price per head is very good value for money. A thoughly enjoyable event.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah-Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights using a Groupon we purchased for £55 a night and for this price it was good value for money but don't think it's worth much more.

If you have a baby then ask for a downstairs room as there is no lift and is quite an effort getting the pram up/down the stairs.

The hotel communal areas are nice and clean and quite modern but the bedrooms could certainly do with an overhaul . The room was fairly clean and had everything you needed including a fridge, kettle and iron but the bathroom had quite a bit of rust and mould and the bath had certainly seen better days.

The "spa" is more like a swimming pool with a hot tub on the side and a few sheds for the sauna and steam room. Lots of rust and mould throughout.

The breakfast was your usual buffet with a pretty limited choice and was especially busy on the Sunday and we had to wait s good 15 minutes to be seated.

Would probably stay again if in the area and had a Groupon voucher but wouldn't pay much more than £55 a night. Wifi is also charged per day .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Codeye02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
567 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
291 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn (Langstone/A27)
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range: $68 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing