We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 night stay at weekend”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“2 night stay at weekend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Check in was quick but when I went to check out they had no record of me which was a little worrying.Room decor a little tired in places. Not worthy of 4 stars. More like a good 3 stars. Didn't sleep too well due to noise from bar area and noisy guests in rooms close by although bed was comfortable.
Take your own hairdryer as one provided is poor as is in room iron and ironing board.
Room rate paid was very reasonable for this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be located away from bar area as it can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMSScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

These comments have been highlighted to the management team and will be addressed to ensure it does not reoccur in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    534
    400
    170
    84
See reviews for
274
716
28
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just booked for an overnight stay at the Langstone Hotel. All services were spot on and the rooms are clean and tidy. The one thing that I have a problem with is the lack of housekeeping in the bathrooms with the grouting looking well beyond it's replacement date and the shower curtain. Otherwise lovely room with a great view over the water.
Hotel overall was fine and would recommend a stay if over in Hayling Island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhulke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, but have noted your comments regarding housekeeping and have passed these onto the team.

I do hope you will return in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went for a Birthday Luncheon. Hotel rather quiet, but there were other diners in the Restaurant. I had selected the Restaurant from previous recommendations, but it was still a surprise. The Menu was very good, and the food a surprise and a real joy, and such an unexpected find in an area that might be considered gastronomically uninspiring. The Staff were charming and excellent. Go there, arrange a party. I doubt that you will be disappointed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 20H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of the Langstone Hotel.

Comments such as yours are very much appreciated as the team and myself are committed to a high standard of customer service and it is pleasing to receive such positive feedback.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambrdge
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Recently Stayed in the Langstone Hotel on Hayling Island, I have stayed there many times in the past but hadn't been there for a couple of years

The Staff are attentative, professional and extremely friendly, the rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable, but the Luxury rooms now lag behind many hotels. Where there used to be modern lighting track in the rooms this has no gone and this makes the rooms dark, difficult to read unless you sit on the bed. The wet room was looking tiered and the WIFI kept logging you off.

Don't get me wrong this is still a nice hotel, just needs a bit of a shake-up as there is better out there for the money. I could still recommend this hotel to anyone on a business trip looking for somewhere to stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheConsultant03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

Please could you let me know which room number you stayed in? We have a continues bedroom refurbishment scheme in place, and this room can be moved to the front of the list if required. My email address is gm@langstonehotel.co.uk.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for one night at the end of half term with our daughter and spent most of the time in the swimming pool/spa/gym all of which were very good - sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, good size pool and better than average hotel gym. We had breakfast and dinner in the brasserie which has chef signature dishes that are well worth trying but also the regular steaks and sausages. This is a lovely location and just going to the waterfront for a walk to blow away the cobwebs and look at the various marinas, seabirds and general maritime views - very pleasant.

Room Tip: Worth going for the luxury room for the multi-spray shower and bathrobes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and do hope you will return in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Good - Views, restaurant and Spinnaker Room
Bad - Room was badly lit. A/C noisy. Shower unusable with rust and in need of a thorough clean. Charge to watch television = £10. No radio.
Patio door from corridor to outside car park locked with 'Use other door' notice. 'Other door' was an emergency door with 'Break glass' instructions. Staff helpfully advised that the door was now an exit door and to 'just push it open'.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed there for romantic getaway for two nights in February. Very clean. Sunday morning was a good time for a swim as not many people at the pool. Restaurant and breakfast very good range of English breakfast, though we tended to arrive towards the breakfast time and there can be a 10min queue to get in as the large dining area was full. Dinner was very pricey, small portioned I thought, though very nice. We paid over £60 for our meal. The city centre was around 15min drive away, I'm not sure how good public transport is as we drove. It was well worth going to as there are many brand name retail outlets like Ted Baker there. I would recommend this hotel especially if you drive as it has adequate free parking. Would definitely love to return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yemi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Langstone Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
2.7 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
5.5 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Property: Langstone Hotel
Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing