We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.”
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Langstone.First class stay,we had a lovely room.Very comfortable with a wet room type shower and our own bath robes and slippers(we paid an extra £20 for the upgrade)Th.e room and was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed.We only had breakfast in the hotel which was one of the best I have had in any hotel.There are two very nice pubs over the bridge which you can see from the hotel which are well worth the 10 min walk.The hotel is a 15 min drive from portsmouth and the shops at Gunwarth Q are well worth a visit.We would love to go back again.If you are into fitness they also have a decent pool and gym.(groupon voucher)We stayed in room 226.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom8667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,660 - 1,666 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed Jan 2012. Paid £150 for 2 nights inc breakfast for luxury room.

Spacious room with one double and one single bed (only asked for a double but extra was fine). Included is a 32 inch tv but there are only a few free channels. There was no mini bar or fridge in the room which we were surprised at. There is free Internet via cable, no wifi in the rooms (just lobby). Good view of the water and in a quiet part of the hotel (room 263).

A benefit of the luxury room is that you get a walk in shower. Absolutely loved the shower, no idea how they get so much pressure, but it absolutely soaks the bathroom!! We had no idea how to make it stop, the water actually moves uphill towards the door, soaking the tiles around the toilet and sink area. If this was sorted it would be an awesome addition worth paying for.

Breakfast was nice, sausages were good, but though the scrambled eggs could be a lot better. TIP: you can order eggs in your style from the waiters to get them delivered to your table.

We used the pool, steam room and jacuzzi - all were good and as expected. Its not exclusive to the hotel as it is also a fitness centre for members.

Staff were great, can't fault them.

You can get late checkout for free till 12 or till 6pm for £25.

It is a 15 minute, 10 mile, drive to Gunwarf area. We didn't see any public transport from the hotel so be aware of this. If you're not coming by car it may be better to chose a hotel in town

Overall an enjoyable experience. We would stay here again because it is close enough to town but in a quiet location with ample free parking.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magnetcollectors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I booked 2 rooms for 4 of us through Laterooms.com for Friday 20th and Sat 21st Jan for just £55 per room per night and declined breakfast at £10 each per day. Later that day, I found that a booking could be made direct with the hotel, including breakfast at £59/night and when I called the Reception they couldnt be more helpful and changed the booking for us.
We had a lovely room which was warm and well equipped with a small fridge, iron/board, brewing facilities, TV, daily papers on request and lots of hot water. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom spacious and car parking was freely available.
We had breakfast at around 9am each day and it was both hot and excellent - with eggs fried on request. Unlike another guest who commented on the noise from the wedding party -we were not disturbed at all
Unfortunately, we were so busy that we never made use of the spa facilities. We did spend some time in the bar and found it rather expensive so we walked over the bridge to The Ship where we found excellent meals available and the drinks not so pricey.
One of our party managed to leave their washbag which was hanging behind the bathroom door - complete with electric shaver. We really never expected to find it again but thanks to a member of staff, it was waiting for us when we returned 24 hours later.
We still cant believe what great value this hotel was - and have booked a room for the end of March at the same price!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend have recently returned from a one night stay last Saturday evening (21st to 22nd Jan 2012).

Upon arrival we found the hotel to be in a very peaceful setting and is a great escape from central London. We drove to the hotel from the nearby shopping and entertainment outlet 'gunwharf keys' which is only around the eight miles from the hotel. The hotel is not well located if you do not have a car, nor if you want to be able to walk into town during your stay.

Upon check in we were disappointed to learn that we were unable to have the luxury room as booked (first time we could afford to as well). Hotel were polite and apologised claiming the cause was a leaky room affecting three rooms so they had to downgrade three lots of people.. I couldn't help but think that it was more likely due to over booking due to Groupon vouchers or a booking slip up by staff since when we checked out the next day the reception asked a woman infront of us to pay for her room upgrade... So I'm still not happy with that.

They did however offer us a complimentary drink.

Room nice, clean and comfortable. Very peaceful that is after the wedding party had finished as even in a room right near the end of the hotel we could still hear the music slightly. Used the spa facilities with no problem. Clean and the guy in the spa reception very friendly.

Breakfast the next morning had a good selection, but took a while to get seated and food was not hot, however we did arrive later than most.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keeley05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed with my wife, a 6 year old and a 2 year old in a family room for a one night with breakfast. I stay in hotels often for business and this would suffice both types of visit. Lovely location with sea on both sides. Would be great in a storm and in the sun. Rooms very clean and great towels etc. TV channels were limited but TV itself was good quality. Great bed and bedding. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alistair_yates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The hotel looks impressive from the outside - unfortunately when I turned up there was a drain clearing company parked right outside the front entrance and the men were working on the drains-not the way to impress new guests, guys.

Reception staff were polite and efficient. The room was unusual, with a huge window virtually from one end to the other. This made the room cold, and no matter how much I twiddled the air-conditioning control it made no difference. I suspect the air-con is set to one temperature and the control is just for show. I was only there for one night, and I simply couldn't be bothered to go through the hassle of asking for another room. I don't need hassle, and after all, the problem shouldn't have been there in the first place, so why should I have to do something about it?

Next - the internet. Went through the rigmarole of trying to connect via cable-no joy. Wi-fi?Ditto. Again, could I be bothered to complain? No.

Used the room service for my evening meal. This was fine.

So, to conclude - usual british hotel gripes - more attention given to how the hotel looks than to how it performs. The devil's in the detail.

Room Tip: If you go in cold weather, pack a small fan heater in your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank digitalphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

On arriving at the hotel on a sunny January day, I couldn't help thinking what a beautiful location for a hotel. The reception staff were pleasent and I was quickly on my way to my room. ( worth checking their website for special rates / promotions , as this was cheaper than Hotel finder websites ).
The room was spacious with a nice comfy bed and all the other trimmings . There is a onsite gym and pool which your free to use.
The breakfast was good and the staff as everywhere in the hotel were helpful and attentive .

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broadsword02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
567 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
292 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range: $67 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing