We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“loved this little house, Cannot wait to go back...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Whitecaps

The roof terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The roof terrace
First Floor Balcony A room with a view!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
40 reviews
The roof terrace
First Floor Balcony
A room with a view!
Lounge / Kitchen / Diner
Master bedroom
Kitchen
Dining Area
Bathroom
Laser Fleet coming back to Chichester harbour.
A visitor to the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hayling Island, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
claire b
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
“loved this little house, Cannot wait to go back in the summer”
Reviewed November 26, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Really lovely, clean spacious property. Everything you could need was provided from toilet rolls to dishwasher tablets and even tea and coffee.

Good sized rooms, clean freshly made beds. The house had just been redecorated.

The bed in the master bedroom could have been a bit more comfortable and was a bit creaky but we got used to it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and the space
Liked least: going home!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B
Modbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great place to stay, in a lovely location!”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Had a wonderful three day break at Whitecaps. The house is clean and well equipped for a short break, with comfortable beds, a large bathroom and all important wifi available! It has superb open views from the balcony and roof terrace. Very quiet, peaceful location and a good base for touring or just enjoying Hayling and it's lovely beaches. Booking was easy, very well organised, with clear helpful instructions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: No washing machine! - would be useful!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Char2790
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely house & Location”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed here at the end of September for a long weekend away with family. Lovely property overlooking a lovely location. Very close the beach for nice walk by the sea. The house was very clean, tidy and modern. The layout of the property is quite odd with the only access to the gardens being via one of the bedrooms but that is something that the owners cannot do anything about!! Would definitely recommend.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessdyer2...
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great views and location”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We enjoyed staying at Whitecaps with my mother-in-law and our two small children. Excellent accommodations with fantastic views of the nature preserve. We really appreciated the amenities for our infant daughter - travel cot, highchair, and a baby gate for the stairs were all perfect! Within walking distance to the beach where we loved watching the sailboats head out to sea every morning. Was a great home base for our trip to the South.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great views and more than enough room for our family.
Liked least: The highchair was not clean when we arrived and some of the kitchen utensils were in poor condition.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
car0l2009
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely accommodation”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

we had a lovely weekend staying in this accommodation with the roof terrace in a quiet location. Clare couldn't have been more helpful when booking it.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb F
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely accommodation with fabulous views, the best family holiday we have had.”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful week at Whitecaps, the views were amazing. The accommodation was well equipped and beds really comfy. We had great weather and spent most days on the beach with the whole family, including the dog, in the sea everyday! The beaches and car parks were never busy.The local shop keepers were all very friendly and the food at the cafe by the ferry was delicious as were the fish and chips from Dolphins Chip Shop. We rode the train to the funfair and had a great afternoon spending tokens on the rides. We only left Hayling for one trip to go up the Spinnaker Tower and shop at Gunwharf Key and for the rest of the week found lots to do on on the island and we all fell in love with Whitecaps and Hayling Island. I would definitely recommend it and we will visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open plan living accommodation and fantastic views.
Liked least: Having to go home!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E D
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very relaxing break”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Lovely bright and spacious accommodation with lovely views of the nature reserve from the lounge and coastline from the roof terrace. Very relaxing and enjoyable stay within a few minutes walk of the beach and within easy reach of Portsmouth and Chichester for shopaholics!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing