We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly local with good food”
Review of The Olive Leaf Pub

The Olive Leaf Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The olive leaf has a good selection of home cooked fare with food ranging from tapas at the bar to fresh locally caught fish and pub old favourites with a good range of house wines and more. Come and join us to see or join in with some real local talent, all welcome. We are also dog friendly. On Sunday evening from 5pm. We fire up our wood fired funky Pizza Pod. Please visit our web site for more information and updates. We do not open on Mondays, (even god took a day off)!!
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly local with good food”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My friend and I visited for dinner last night, a decent glass of red and a tasty steak - supplied by the butcher on island (chatting with the landlady after dinner) Welcoming and attentive service, able to order and drink in the bar seated just before meal came out. The Olive appears to be a decent local pub serving decent food. We turned up around 7 without a reservation and were easily slotted in, in between the booked diners, if you want to eat after 8 then advised to book as it's a small kitchen and waiting on team and they need to plan their evening service. We'll be returning for a drink later this evening and we'll certainly return for a meal next time we are in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bxs_opinion_not_fact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    50
    15
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Still good”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Arriving on Hayling Island on a Monday, looking forward to a meal here but it was closed. We ate here the next evening and it was good. The steak was cooked to perfection. Well worth a visit. It is though a busy local pub which welcomes dogs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolyndaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“the cook thinks their a cheif”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

our meal was ok but very expensive for what we had,the beer was good but we never went back,
the bar meal cook things their a cheif which they most deffo are not

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biffothebear69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have just returned home from a wonderful lunch at The Olive Leaf, which consisted of pollock fillets and chips. The salad accompaniment is delightful - finely diced tomato, red onion, spring onion, cucumber and shredded ?Romaine lettuce, all served in a beautifully fresh large lettuce leaf. The pollock fillets were delicious, all three of them, and the landlord assured me that he made the lovely light batter. Far too much for my appetite, and all for £8.95. My husband had the steak and ale pie with chips and a small bowl of sliced carrots, peas and cabbage. By the time he was halfway through his meal he was struggling to eat it all. We finished up with excellent filter coffee. I can thoroughly recommend this pub grub - it never fails to please. A fellow diner had the spaghetti with salmon and prawns off the Specials board, and declared it to be superb. Thank you, Mike and Tonya, for yet another lovely luncheon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't bother.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Met at the door by a member of staff who told us they were fully booked and kept saying there was nothing he could do for us as he ushered us out. There were two of us on a wet midweek evening and the place was not full. No idea what his problem was.
The menu appears to be a selection of the standard stuff the wholesalers do which most pubs sell.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glwcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Leaf Pub also viewed

Hayling Island, Hampshire
 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 

Been to The Olive Leaf Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing