We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe choice of venue for Terrific Sunday Lunch”

The Brasserie at The Langstone Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A safe choice of venue for Terrific Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We regularly visit this Brasserie with our elderly parents; a long drive from home in the New Forest but always happy with the result. I'm not sure if the Chef has changed over the last few years but there was a noticeable improvement with the food this visit.
As mentioned before the location is marvellous, a short drive from from the M27 situated with superb River views and despite the actual building not being the most attractive architecturally (70's?) speaking it does have its charm because of the above.
Considering this was August Bank holiday Sunday and there was a wedding party in full flow we were treated extremely well, no signs of stress from the staff and only smiles and courtesy were afforded to us. I was truly impressed. An amuse bouche followed by traditional fayre of 3 courses each.. the starters imaginative, beef cooked to perfection, the chicken equally tasty with plenty of fresh vegetables. this is not gourmet food but it is well thought out, beautifully cooked and presented well. The staff attentive and courteous at all times despite my change of mind and mistake on the wine order..they always conducted themselves with a smile! If only all places were run in a such a pleasant manner. Will we return? without doubt! ;-D

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    61
    30
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

To celebrate my daughters birthday we booked a table for 4 at the brasserie, langstone hotel , hayling island for sunday lunch. The food was perfectly cooked with a choice of roast beef, chicken or pork. vegetables are served seperately and there was plenty to go round. A selection of desserts or cheese and biscuits are also included in the price. The staff are very polite and attentive. The total cost was £74 for 4 adults with a round of drinks which I consider extremely good value for money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon
Level Contributor
511 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Beautifully Presented Excellent Gourmet Dinner!!!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were staying at The Langstone Hotel under the "dinner-bed-and-breakfast" deal, which turned out to be unbeatable.
We loved the hotel (Covered separately) and dinner at the Brasserien was outstanding.
The restaurant is beautifully located, with views to the water and boats and is very nicely decorated and furnished.
The menu was very attractive with very tempting dishes to choose from.
We started with the mussels chowder and the seared mackerel salad, both great.
We followed with the lamb and the green pea and bean risotto, both excellent.
For dessert we took an orange-chocolate fondant and a lemon-lime parfait which were both (we did some cross-tasting, of course) a fantastic way to end this wonderful meal.
We finished a bottle of good merlot between us and went for a walk across the bridge with very wide smiles on our faces.
Very highly recommended!!!! We loved it!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaked007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing blend”
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

The service in the restaurant was impeccable nothing was too much and the staff were very attentive especially Hannah is an asset to the team. Food was lovely, cooked just way it should holding good to the 2 rosettes that it has earned. The lighting could be a bit more dim to infuse some atmosphere but all in all an amazing blend that made the night worthwhile

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douggy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice but rude!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We arrived for our stay at the Langstone at 11.30 and presented ourselves to reception who asked if we were here to book in. We responded with a smile and a yes to then be barked back check in was at 2pm! We then explained that we were part of the wedding party and had pre-called to make sure we could check in early as the wedding was at 1pm and we had traveled from London and she barked back name? She then checked us in and gave us our key but her whole attitude was off. She was talking like a robot and i almost expected her to say "computer says no" we both came away rather stunned. The rest of our stay was lovely and the rest of the staff were indeed lovely. Our room was clean and functional and had everything we needed from fridge to iron.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonHelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brasserie at The Langstone Hotel also viewed

Hayling Island, Hampshire
 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
Havant, Hampshire
 

Been to The Brasserie at The Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing