We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good staple standby when you dont know where to eat”

Toby Carvery Harlow
Ranked #10 of 145 Restaurants in Harlow
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Harlow. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Essex’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

As with all Toby's this has the same set up, Cavery and lots of veg. They have a good selection of beers. They get very busy and on a Sunday we arrive about 8pm then we have always got a seat. More recently have been there for Breakfast and was very pleased with the offerings and the price, if you want a change from a Cafe Breakfast drop into the Toby. There is some outdoor seating and smoking area and loads of parking.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlanWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Toby Carvery Harlow, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to see that you rate us so highly. We hope to welcome you soon.

Regards,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
There are newer reviews for Toby Carvery Harlow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 571 of 671 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

this carvery was excellent went for breakfast paid £3.99 go up as much as you want the place was clean, food hot, and people friendly, was nice place close to hotel and train station, and Harlow town. if staying at Travelodge best place for food and a drink

Thank 40lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Toby Carvery Harlow, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to see that you rate us so highly. We hope to welcome you soon.

Regards,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was in a family group of four on a Friday lunchtime. The Carvery was only about half full. We sat down, ordered our drinks, then went to get our lunch. We are not fast eaters and even waited whilst we ate, but two of our group had finished their meal by the time drinks arrived. This was despite a couple more requests to the waiter staff.

It was their loss as much as ours as we daren't order dessert or coffee given the terrible level of service.

At least two other tables didn't get their drinks until they had finished eating. There are plenty of alternatives in Harlow so won't be going back. It is a shame as the Chefs clearly took pride in their work.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Toby Carvery Harlow, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you left so disappointed. We are now under new management and feel that we have improved since your last visit. Please give us a try soon.

Regards,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Myself my daughter and son in law went for bank holiday carvery staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was amazing. Just what we needed to set us up for the day. xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Toby Carvery Harlow, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to see that you rate us so highly. We hope to welcome you soon.

Regards,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I come to this restaurant quite regulary as my boyfriend races in Hoddesdon therefore we stay over at the travelodge next door once a month. We tend to come here for dinner on Saturday evening and breakfast Sunday morning. The carvery is normally pretty busy though this is nobody's fault as it is expected. I think the food is great for the price you are paying, a full on roast dinner for about £6? Can't be beaten! Haven't had any puddings from here as we are always full up on dinner though they do offer a resonable list of treats. Breakfast is just as good, being the same as the dinner, it is a buffet style breakfast, help yourself and go up as many times as you like, super! Again very good food for the price you pay as it costs about £11 for 2 breakfasts and 2 tea's. Great restaurant and love coming here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Toby Carvery Harlow, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to see that you rate us so highly. We hope to welcome you soon.

Regards,

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Harlow also viewed

 

Been to Toby Carvery Harlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing