We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value hotel”
Review of Green Man Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Green Man Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Harlow
Billinge, Wigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Value hotel”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The price for the room including breakfast was very good.
The public house attached to the front of the hotel was traditional and old with a good atmosphere and beer garden at the rear for sitting out in the warm night. Just a short walk away from the high street. The room was quiet (as requested) and away from the main road. Breakfast and evening meal were both good, some items quiet expensive. Plenty of car parking spaces available.
We were on the ground floor and as it was very warm we wanted to sleep with the windows open. They could be opened but they were not secure windows so someone could easily gain access during the evening. But the hotel did have a security deterrent (cameras) and was located in a quiet area- so perhaps our concerns were not valid. Wardrobe storage in the room was insufficient for 2 people. Could do with air conditioning in the rooms. Some items in bathroom not working –toilet paper holder broken, knob for shower activation broken. Free Wi-fi did not connect and when a connection was made it was very slow. Rooms quite dark even with lights switched on. Hotel is behind the pub. Overall for the price paid we enjoyed our short stay and would stay again if visiting the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (suggest on ground floor for older or infirm people as no lifts to upper floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolbri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    100
    59
    31
    23
See reviews for
55
93
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed at the Green Man whilst attending a family party in the area. We were given the key and given directions to our room, which was a really good size on the ground floor. It had a flat screen tv and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was ok, but there was an overbath shower which was a little difficult to get in and out of safely due to tiled floor and no bathmat. The hot water tap had a warning above it, and good job the water was absolutely scalding hot and the towel rail was equally dangerous - as I found out when I slipped getting out of the bath and grabbed it !! For the price including breakfast it was good value, but the rooms are a bit tired and it looks like it needs a good freshen up. I was also dubious about the local area, the room looked onto a residential area, with no fencing and due to the hot weather we wanted the window open, however there was nothing to prevent the windows from being opened wider from the outside and we felt a little vulnerable in this respect, being on the ground floor.

Breakfast was good, although we arrived only 30 minutes before it ended, and the coffee jug was empty but replenished by a rather stressed and irritable European woman, who grumbled quite a lot. I enjoyed my English breakfast though and there were cereals available, was well as yoghurts and preserves/toast.

All in all, a reasonable price for the room and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014

For a relatively cheap hotel - I think this place is excellent. I have stayed here on two occasions, the first time I was weary because of all the bad reviews but my partner and I had two very lovely experiences with The Green Man. The food was delicious (slow cooked lamb shoulder, wow!) and the rooms were great especially considering the price - nothing extraordinary but perfectly good. The staff were nothing but friendly and accommodating.

I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: From what I hear, only certain rooms have been renovated in the past few years. We had a renovated r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janevivianwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The food was very average, staff were helpful but run off there feet, if the manager spent more time keeping an eye on things and helping out (we watched him spent most of his time trying to impress the ladies!) it could be a very nice place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rootse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harlow hotels

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I were planning in staying here but we ended up looking for somewhere else and cancelling the room. All looked fine on approach to hotel, however after parking, we noticed the clothes hanging out of the windows, which was where people were obviously living permanently in the rooms. We checked in and were given our key which was on the first floor. As we walked along the corridor we could smell a very strong smell of cannabis which became stronger and stronger as you walked along, so much for the zero tolerance to smoking which was postered all over the hotel. People were hanging about in the corridors drinking cans of beer so the atmosphere wasn't great. It felt like we were staying in a refugee camp. We went to bar and brought a drink but both felt uncomfortable about staying there. We went back to room and collected our things and went to reception, and informed them of our experience and told them we wished to leave. Unfortunately they didn't seem surprised at all, and just apologised.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I was working in the London area for 2 days and this hotel was located within easy reach of my jobs. The pub is set in a quiet rural village and dates back to 1444 and still retains the olde world charm. The rooms are comfortable, spacious, well laid out and in a separate building to the pub Staying midweek the only noise problem was from doors being allowed to slam shut instead of being closed..I found the staff pleasant and helpful and booking in was quick and easy. The food was keenly priced and was of a good quality with a good range to choose from. Breakfast was either full English or Continental, there was a lunch time menu served till 4.00 pm as well as the main menu. One thing to note is that you do need to get a bath mat from reception so i would do this before you get undressed. Price wise this hotel is better than the major chains which advertise low rates till you attempt to book one. Will use this hotel again when i am next in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed here for just one night on business and while it was absolutely fine, I wouldn't rush back.

It's a pub with rooms in a separate annexe, the rooms were fine, although mine was very dark with no enough lighting, and it was very warm with a window that barely opened, a fan would be a good idea. TV was tiny. The room was clean though.

Only used the adjoining pub to have breakfast in, which was OK, nothing more.

On the plus side, the guy that booked me in was very friendly and chatty.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordonrgs37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlow
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Harlow Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harlow
2.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Cock Inn
The Cock Inn
#1 of 1 in Sheering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
3.0 mi away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
3.5 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Man Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Man Hotel

Property: Green Man Hotel
Address: Apartment 2 Mulberry Green House Mulberry Green, Harlow CM17 0ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Harlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Harlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Man Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Green Man Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Man Hotel Harlow
Green Man Harlow
Green Man Hotel Harlow, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing