We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value, excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harlow
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Harlow
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good value, excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a new hotel and they have done a really good job on it, the rooms are spacious and furnished to a high standard for this type of hotel and the bathroom has a massive shower, the micron let's it down a bit but it fiddling work to a degree.
The breakfast was also excellent with lost to choose from and all good quality items.
The reception staff were all very efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_gardening_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXHARLOW, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harlow, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
At Holiday inn Express our aim is to ensure that the guests have a relaxing, care free stay.
Our staff are trained to the highest of standards and Im pleased to see we are implementing that to our guests.
we are proud to offer a wide selection of items to cater for every guest at breakfast times.
we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards

Nick Billington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    136
    78
    28
    20
See reviews for
64
84
16
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here to for one night to enable an early morning business meeting. The hotel looked brand new and my room was modern, clean and totally different to other Holiday Inn's that I have stayed in. The staff seemed eager to please and even posted my sunglasses, which I left in my room, back to me. I ate out so can't comment on the evening meals but the breakfast was what you would expect for a 'freebie'.
The hotel is right next to all local amenities. All in all was just the job for me and I would defiantly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarvisandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXHARLOW, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harlow, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the hotel.
We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy the hotel and its modern features.
At Holiday Inn Express we aim to please and go that exta mile for guest satisfaction.
Im pleased we were able to assist you in getting your glasses back.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards

Nick Billington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I looked around on various websites looking for a clean, and reasonable priced hotel.
Having stayed in some dives in Harlow i was pleased to see that Harlow now had a brand new hotel. On arrival I was impressed with the lightness and the overall inside of reception!
Check in was a breeze and the staff seemed well prepared for the arrival of myself and partner.
We were allocated to the second floor and went up to our room to discover a VERY clean modern room it was spectacular for the price we were paying. It was spacious and had everything you would require. The shower was enormous and it was the right tempreture and pressure! The whole hotel was sparkling!!
We went out and got back to the hotel at about 00:00 we decided to have a night cap.
The next morning we went down to breakfast at about 09:45 it was very busy and we thought that there would be no food left!!! After feeling a bit delicate fromthe previous night i was hoping this wasnt the case! Very far from there was such a selection of items, sausages, beans, eggs, bread, cheeses it was well catered for and freshly topped up! I really enjoyed it.
The Staff were helpful and we were really impressed with Nick who seemed to deal with things in his stride when a guest was being over the top rude, his professionalism was second to none! we will definitley be returning to this hotel, everything was just wonderful!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXHARLOW, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harlow, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to hear that you had such an amazing stay!
We aim to please and im glad that you were well rested and treated well by the staff here at Holiday Inn Express.

we look forward to seeing you again in the future

Regards

Nick Billington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here to visit my relatives. The hotel is very new. Clean and smells great. Staff very friendly, room large and comfortable, everything you need. Not too noisy. Parking available too (not that I needed it), easy reach of London. Shops on doorstep. Breakfast good. Book in advance. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kosconli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXHARLOW, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harlow, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Nick Billington
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel this weekend, getting a special price of £39.00 with breakfast included. We arrived in the afternoon and took the last spot in the very very small car park and in we went. reception is clean, bright and airy, the staff were polite and helpful and check in took less than 5 minutes. Our room was on the first floor, it was immaculate with a comfy large bed, big shower and digital TV. Only drawback is the wireless internet is exorbitantly priced at £8.95 for 24 hours access. This is a complete rip off!

Breakfast in the morning was plentiful with sausage, eggs and beans along with toast, muffins, croissants, rolls, cereals and fruit. I had no complaints and again it was all kept topped up and fresh.

All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, especially if they make the wireless internet freefree.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tawny75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXHARLOW, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harlow, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Dear Guest,

we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for writing a review.

The wifi is chargeable at £7 for 24 hours unlimited access however priority club members do get free wifi if they are gold or platinum members.
To become a member it is a free service and the more you stay the more priority club points you earn. As of July 2013 we are excited to announce that wifi is free for all our elite members and then in 2014 all membership holders will recieve free wifi in all 4,600 of our hotels.

We hope to see you again in the near future and thank you for staying with us.

Regards

Nick Billington
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here with the family as a planned stop-over whilst heading north. It is situated in a handy position not far from the M11 (5 minutes).

We managed to get a space in the small car-park, and were checked in at the smart new reception desk - apparently this HI Express has only been open 5 months and it is really well presented inside.

I guess this was the only negative point of our visit - we were given our room card and went upstairs. Upon opening the door we were met by a screaming lady who was already in the room - luckily she had the security catch on so the door did not open all the way. When we went back to reception they had no idea why she was in that room, but found us another. That was okay but we then had to wait while they made the children's beds up - a bit of a hassle in the late evening with two tired children - maybe a small gesture of a some drinks to wait with (coffee / juice etc.) would have been nice.

Back to the good points; the room was really comfortable and modern with a nicely done bathroom - no bath, just a big shower but this suits us. There is also a flat screen TV with the full range of freeview channels and easy to use temperature controls to keep the room comfortable. We all had a good nights' sleep.

The inclusive breakfast was just what we needed to start off the next day, a couple of hot items and the usual cereal, toast, fruit etc. Nothing to complain about here. In fact the entire stay was definitely good value for money and we will stop here again. I hope they keep it as smart and clean as it is now.

One more thing to mention is that although we did not use it (we had already eaten), there was a menu for evening meals that appeared to offer a reasonable variety at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXHARLOW, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harlow, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel.
Firstly id like to say a heartfelt apology to you on behalve of your mis- hap upon check in.
This shouldnt have happened and there are measures put in place to ensure this does not happen again. our brand offers a breakfast that suits everyone and im glad you were set up for your journey home.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards

Nick Billington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you are looking for a central Hotel for a night out in Harlow this is perfect. It is clean and situated close to the town centre.Parking could be a problem if you bring your car as Parking slots are limited but we had 2 cars and managed to get them both in so it can not be that bad.We When booking I made the mistake of booking an accesible room a fact I did not notice until I checked the booking a week before our stay. I called the Hotel direct and requested a swap to another room if possible a high floor which the receptionist assured me they would do.On finding our room we discovered it was an accesible room but after all it was my error in the first place so we accepted the fact the request had been missed. The roon had a Wet room instead of a shower and was located close to the lifts so I would advise anyone booking to be careful. Only real complaint I have was the fact the water for the shower was cold. All in all would stay again but be more careful with my room choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brighty1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXHARLOW, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harlow, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Im sorry to hear that your request for a double room on your visit was wasnt changed from the accessible room .
However we have now implemented a new booking system and can assure you that upon your next visit we will do everything we can to exceed your expectations.
The car park situated at the back of the hotel cannot accomodate all guests but we do have a partnership with the U park situated less than a minute from the hotel.

Regards

Nicky Billington
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlow
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Harlow Hotel
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
2.1 mi away
Green Man Hotel
Green Man Hotel
#4 of 8 in Harlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,105 reviews
8.3 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harlow

Property: Holiday Inn Express Harlow
Address: Beaufort House Crown Gate, Harlow CM20 1NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Harlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Harlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Harlow 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harlow Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing