We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mothers Day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dusty Miller Pub

The Dusty Miller Pub
Ranked #3 of 134 Restaurants in Harlow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Datchworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mothers Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had to write another review for this lovely pub. Took my Mum and dad here on Mothers day as we had such a lovely experience last time we went about 6 weeks ago. It didn't disapoint. The pub was very busy, as you would expect on Mothering Sunday, but even so the staff were attentive and very friendly. There were 4 of us and we all had the Beef which was fantastic followed by the best Crumble we have ever had. It wasn't the usual stodge you get served up in pubs, but light and crumbly, a real treat. We have already booked for their next music night in April as friends of ours say it is a lovely chilled evening with a 3 course meal served with live musicians playing as you eat. Can't wait. We will be a party of 6 next time and we are really looking foward to it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Dizzie1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher c, Manager at The Dusty Miller Pub, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for posting a review, your comments are always welcome. Hope to see you again soon and our next music evening

Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    67
    24
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“mothers day disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

booked the dusty miller for mothers day arrived at the booked time the restaurant was over crowded waited 1 hour 15 mins for starter another 20 mins for main course one of which should have no gravy ,but came with gravy when sent back the same turkey returned on a clean plate still with gravy on the turkey quiet disgraceful .ordered desert one plum crumble .The poorest excuse for a crumble 2 poached plums with the smallest possible amount of crumble you could imagine all in all a poor showing for such an important day for mum.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher c, Owner at The Dusty Miller Pub, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Firstly, we are extremely passionate and serious about what we do here at the Dusty Miller and take every step to ensure that all customers have a great experience whilst dining with us.

We take every criticism seriously and we act upon every comment whether praise or criticism but yours has left me completely dumbfounded. Everyone on Mother’s day was allocated 2.30 minutes per table so there was no rush, everyone could enjoy their meal and not feel hurried. In fact, the feedback received from other diners was that this was one of the reasons they choose to dine with us on Mothers day. I am really sorry the Turkey came out once sent back with gravy on, that should not have happened and unfortunately sent out without Chris, the chef having seen.

The crumble has been served in this form for the last 5 months, constructed separately just changing the fruit and serving with Creme fraiche, in fact we have been told its a refreshing change from the normal stodgy crumble which could be served up and the best crumble ever eaten. All you said was that it wasn’t a traditional crumble, we don’t call it a traditional crumble on our menu. You didn't say anything until the bill was given to you and you refused to pay for it. If you had mentioned this sooner or communicated more with us on the day during the meal as opposed as at the end, we could have taken steps to ensure things were rectified immediately to your satisfaction.

On the day you did seem to want to talk me in fact you seemed to want to raise your voice without trying to reason and in good grace we took off the cost of one whole meal.

Finally, using words like ‘disaster’ and ‘disgrace’ is nothing short of vicious and potentially damaging to a small business like ours. I only hope that any potential new customers reading your comments see through your anonymous and cheap rhetoric and read the more balanced reviews on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWIE
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pork Chops to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The resturant pub is a stone throw away from Harlow and the menue is locally sorced food an cooked to the highest standard. Its definately not fast food IT IS EXCELLENT FOOD. Book your table now!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TowieTips4Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher c, Owner at The Dusty Miller Pub, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. The pork chop has been extremely popular in the last week and is a personal favourite of the chef Chris. Thanks again, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meal for four”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Out with friends tonight and had a very enjoyable meal at "The Dusty Miller" Harlow's hidden secret. Clean plates on all our courses. Food is always of a very high standard and locally sourced where possible. Several visits over the last year and we have not been disappointed yet ;-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher c, Manager at The Dusty Miller Pub, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank for you review Brian. We are proud of what we do at the dusty miller and really pleased that you enjoy coming here.

Regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top quality food. A real gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Visited on a Thursday early evening. Pub was quiet and very unassuming. The food I had was of a very high quality in terms of flavour and presentation. Good portion size as well. The in house made pork terrine was fabulous. The Hake with indian spiced potatoes and pickled fennel was one the very best pieces of fish I have ever eaten. A very clever combination of flavours.

The service was quick and excellent, although it was quiet. I have no reason to believe it would be any less so on a busy night.

For a very reasonable price this is up there with the very best gastro pubs in the country and I will definitely return if given the opportunity.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Osamabinliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dusty Miller Pub also viewed

 
Sawbridgeworth, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Dusty Miller Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing